• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 173

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2013
    2
    I Just want to ask a simple question WHAT THE HECK IS SO FUNNY ABOUT THIS SERIES ?
    This is the most overrated tv programme ever. CBS should not have named this series how i met your mother but the should have named it Barney and friends as Barney is the only funny character in the whole series who also has started to become boring. how i met your mother is the most boring sitcom. I would
    I Just want to ask a simple question WHAT THE HECK IS SO FUNNY ABOUT THIS SERIES ?
    This is the most overrated tv programme ever. CBS should not have named this series how i met your mother but the should have named it Barney and friends as Barney is the only funny character in the whole series who also has started to become boring. how i met your mother is the most boring sitcom. I would like to comment on the previous review posted by stinson leave alone Friends & Simpsons'' How i met your mother will never be as funny as some random shi tty sitcom also''
    Expand
  2. May 12, 2013
    4
    The writers seem to have been trying too hard to make this show funny, and they are failing to do so as the script is not as funny as it was in the earlier seasons of the show. All of them are bad actors & the series is only successful because of Barney. HIMYM should have ended in this season.
    ''HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER will never be as funny as FRIENDS''
  3. May 24, 2011
    5
    The main problem with a conceit like this is that once the writers become more concerned with capturing another season than with the integrity of the plot, the whole edifice starts to look a little shaky. Another issue is that we've heard half of these jokes before ad initum and they are quickly losing their amusement value. Even Neil Patrick Harris and Jason Segel are starting to soundThe main problem with a conceit like this is that once the writers become more concerned with capturing another season than with the integrity of the plot, the whole edifice starts to look a little shaky. Another issue is that we've heard half of these jokes before ad initum and they are quickly losing their amusement value. Even Neil Patrick Harris and Jason Segel are starting to sound predictable. Having started well with that tantalising clip of a "future wedding", the writers almost singularly fail to follow up on the promise of developing the core storyline, meaning that far too many of these episodes feel like filler, and not especially distracting at that... Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    As with all CBS shows, mediocre is the only way to describe it. Sub-par writing and sub-par acting make How I Met Your Mother like all other CBS sitcoms, lazy, unoriginal, and unfunny. Neil Patrick Harris is very overrated, as are all other leads. Stay away if you can. It won't be detrimental to your intelligence, but it will be to your sense of humor.
  5. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    I never knew about this show until very recently and I accidentally watched an episode and after that I was hooked, since then i have watched every single episode ever made of the TV Show and it is absolutely amazing
  6. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    It's very sad to see how poor the writing has gotten this season. The characters are going nowhere and the comedy is weak. The only interesting plot is explored with Barney and Nora, and that was only two episodes.
  7. Feb 17, 2011
    0
    This show sucks big time if you haven't noticed CBS shoves it in your face every chance they get and always puts it before their better shows which everyone honestly thinks are better at least anyone who's not a poof and has a decent sense of humor.But commercial reviewers won't say that because it's entire purpose is to promote comedy disguised dramatic crap and push the gay agenda byThis show sucks big time if you haven't noticed CBS shoves it in your face every chance they get and always puts it before their better shows which everyone honestly thinks are better at least anyone who's not a poof and has a decent sense of humor.But commercial reviewers won't say that because it's entire purpose is to promote comedy disguised dramatic crap and push the gay agenda by making you feel associated with it they try to hide it because they know it's wrong not because of any religous reasons because gay people love that arguement just because biologically your not supposed to poke some other dude in the bung hole simple and gay people like neil patrick harris don't like the stigma of just being disturbed in the brain.Crazy people do weird gay-ish stuff all the time.neil says he did a great job pretending his character wasn't gay.I could tell he was a fairy the first first time I saw/heard him.That flamer could have set off the smoke alarms. Expand
  8. Mar 23, 2011
    0
    Season 6 of How I met Your Mother is potentially the worst thing I've ever watched.
    Bob Saget is no longer the only thing the show has in common with Full House.
  9. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This is nothing like friends, just people do not want to move on.....and they don't have to, but they also don't have to bring down every other show because this is a refreshing new show and is really funny! It has a great cast and once you start watching it.....you have to go buying every other series, it is just this AWESOME fire deep within you, a LEGENDARY watch!
  10. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    This show is back to its roots,its clever comedy combined, hilarious storylines and heartwarming moments have all seemingly returned. You can't ask for much more.
  11. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    Best show, ever. Still original,still awesome as they say, i love the show and even though they haven't told us who ted married yet i still love it.
  12. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Best comedy series, that's it. it should be rewarded with multiple golden globes and many other rewards, i mean, its the best comedy show i have ever seen, it is very unpredictable, very funny, very varied, and most of the things that happen int that show has happen to me and many other people, it is very highly well structured every episode and it just doesn't bore u at all unlike two andBest comedy series, that's it. it should be rewarded with multiple golden globes and many other rewards, i mean, its the best comedy show i have ever seen, it is very unpredictable, very funny, very varied, and most of the things that happen int that show has happen to me and many other people, it is very highly well structured every episode and it just doesn't bore u at all unlike two and a half men which i also like but its very repetitive same jokes same people, same house. i could see 10 episodes of how i met your mother in a row and not get bored at all... its always different and very well structured with unpredictable endings but at the same time they are all connected, its just beautiful. Expand
  13. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    Season 6 has come back strong after season 5,which I believe was its weakest.Six seasons in and this show is still fresh,still funny and can still pull on some heart strings.I cant stand CBS,but this is the only show on that I like.
  14. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    For me a good sitcom requires two things, first and foremost it obviously needs to make viewers laugh but we also need to grow to care about the characters involved and How I Met Your Mother has always delivered on both counts, never more so than in this sixth season. One week we have episodes like ‘Glitter’ or ‘False Positive’ that demonstrate the shows intelligent and funny brand ofFor me a good sitcom requires two things, first and foremost it obviously needs to make viewers laugh but we also need to grow to care about the characters involved and How I Met Your Mother has always delivered on both counts, never more so than in this sixth season. One week we have episodes like ‘Glitter’ or ‘False Positive’ that demonstrate the shows intelligent and funny brand of storytelling and the next we have the back to back episodes entitled ‘Bad News’ and ‘Last Words’ that will have many long term fans tearing up.

    I know this is far from a universal opinion but after and up and down fifth season I personally think this is my favourite year so far.
    Expand
  15. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This show has a great cast , brilliant story lines , funny one-liners , believable plot and a huge amount of suspense as America , Europe and the rest of the world wait to find out who is the mother of , what has seem to become, our own.
  16. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    An amazing show, NPH is outstanding and the others are irresistible! It is a knock-out, as NPH would say, it's LEGEN.....wait for it.......DARY! So funny and has it's deep moments! Incredible, beware though, you might get hooked on fun!
  17. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing series! I love it an I am totally hooked on it! I am one of the thousands upon thousands of people that really want to know who is the mother and how we meet her! I love it, it is funny, and has a lot of suspense!
  18. May 31, 2011
    8
    This series overall isn't the best. However, it contains possibly the best twist and turns I've ever seen in a sitcom, and in episodes "Bad News" and "Last Words", the writers manage to intertwine comedy with serious, almost sad television. There is also a fantastic twist in the series finale, which leaves you hanging and waiting for the next season.
  19. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This series is H....O.....T !

    And the madness continues! This series is amazing! This show is so exciting, refreshing and laugh-out-loud funny! SO MUCH BETTER THAN F.R.I.E.N.D.S. ! !
  20. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Being a long-term, big-time HIMYM fan, I can honestly say that Season 7 was quite mediocre. The season had its amazing episodes which retained the charm exerted in previous seasons, but there were too many episodes with boring script and dialogue, too less of the central gang 'hanging out' at the signature McLarens Bar, the painful and gradual downfall of Marshall as an exciting characterBeing a long-term, big-time HIMYM fan, I can honestly say that Season 7 was quite mediocre. The season had its amazing episodes which retained the charm exerted in previous seasons, but there were too many episodes with boring script and dialogue, too less of the central gang 'hanging out' at the signature McLarens Bar, the painful and gradual downfall of Marshall as an exciting character and SO much more. The lowest point in the series was definitely "The Burning Beekeeper" - featuring terrible, unfunny script, lack of the HIMYM charm and the annoying characters of Marshall's boss and Lily's father appearing more and more. "46 Minutes" was disastrous as well when the writers tried to move us by showing the evolution of the group, but only annoyed people that they were going to see less of McLarens Bar. Also, the creators tried to take a break from Ted, which I think is the main reason why everything fell apart in this season. It went from Ted to Barney to Robin to Barney again and then Lily and Marshall, giving the show's first few episodes amazing depth to the script, while some episodes were fillers and extremely annoying to watch. The most disappointing, however, was the finale. Not only did it lack the drama that was present in previous finales, it also lacked the core group's chemistry and showed Marshall as a plain lame character who apparently doesn't have a sense of humour. Lily used to be amazing - her sluttiness, loyalty, kindness and pure fun was all loved. These features of her came on-and-off the show in this season - and especially shows how the writers are kind of forcing the characters to grow up. For example, her biggest sexual moment in that season was when she 'sleep cheated' on Marshall. Now that, I find, is pathetic. So, I prove my point that Lily and Marshall have become boring, dull and lame characters.
    Now onto Barney. For many years, Barney has been the point-blanc source of comedy from the show, with his memorable quotes, strong personality and pure hilarity. He has also faded away - he has 'matured' into someone better, but this new Barney is simply not funny. His jokes are less funny and it really is awkward when he acts like the stereotypical adult. The writers might as well remove his signature suit - they've already removed his womanising skill! Also, throughout the season, Robin as a character faltered - she was either depressed, cut-down or split from the gang (from Ted Mosby at least).
    So as you can see, in this season the characters all went downhill, BIG time. All because they tried to focus on different characters instead of only Ted, forced the characters to mature, attempted to force a touching 'evolution' of the group, removed the hilarity of Robin's pathetic career and removed Barney's womanising traits. There were many things that went wrong in this season.
    Though there weren't only bad things about the season. When Robin found out that she couldn't have babies, the series hit a new high-note in terms of emotional depth, beating Marshall's dad's death in the previous season. This led the surrounding episodes to be depressing as well, burning out any elements of comedy - there were some consequences to this happening. Also, the season premiere was fantastic, as well as "Trilogy Time", "Karma", "The Drunk Train" and "Ducky Tie" bringing back the hilarity and charm of HIMYM. Overall, I hope that the writers focus on Ted and in general improve the comedy and laughs produced, while maintaining the emotional depth that HIMYM is capable of as well as letting characters grow naturally instead of awkwardly maturing into lame characters. And with that, I pray that Season 8 of HIMYM is a jaw-dropping season that stuns fans and brings back the same feeling you get with classic HIMYM episodes!
    Amen.
    Expand
  21. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    HIMYM Season 6 was another great season. Some of my favorite episodes are Cleaning House, Unfinished, Subway Wars, Architect of Destruction, Natural History, Glitter, Blitzgiving, The Memaid Theory, Bad News, Last Words, Oh Honey, Legendaddy, The Exploding Meatball Sub, The Perfect Landmarks, and Challenge Accepted. Overall Score= 88/100
  22. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Seeing that none of these comments are from 2014, let me take the liberty to rant about how the final season has gone so far. I am extremely disappointed at what has become of this amazing show.. Personally I feel Seasons 1-4 were the best of the entire series! Example the Pineapple episode, the Liberty bell, the goat, the airport and beer episode and Ranjeet of course is just awesome!!Seeing that none of these comments are from 2014, let me take the liberty to rant about how the final season has gone so far. I am extremely disappointed at what has become of this amazing show.. Personally I feel Seasons 1-4 were the best of the entire series! Example the Pineapple episode, the Liberty bell, the goat, the airport and beer episode and Ranjeet of course is just awesome!! The characters were FRESH, the jokes were hilarious and the catchphrases were downright LEGENDARY. This show didn't become a pop culture phenomenon just like that. And in contrast to the present, Barney wasn't the only funny character on the show. There's no chemistry between Robin and Barney ANYMORE and the whole Ted hung up on Robin thing just doesn't make sense to me if you put her character into context this season. I feel the biggest let down has been Jason Seagel.. They ruined Marshall for me in the later seasons when they turned him into this mature figure , It's weird to say but the truth is the reason I liked Marshall was because of how cool and spontaneous he was.. Now I feel he's just forcing his character too much.. Lily no longer is that evil awesome puppet master but simply a decoration piece. Overall It feels as if all the quirky things that I loved about this show have gone stale, The characters have gotten old and the writers have struggled to keep the show funny. I Can't even call it a real comedy anymore because suddenly every episode needs to end with a moral of the story happy ending sort of thing and don't even get me started on the annoying laughing track. This show should have really ended 2 seasons ago, they could've totally squeezed together seasons 8 and 9 , and season 7 just had no purpose to begin with (except for the season's opening and closing scenes). The biggest flaw is that we will only actually get to see Ted meet the mother in the final episode which means a proper foundation on which their relationship is built really isn't there, that's why all the scenes with them this season look so forced. I truly love this show and will watch it right to the end but I really feel they could've done it all much better towards the end.. Especially considering how amazing the show has been. I can’t complain about CBS's mediocre standards because the network's also home to great sitcoms like The big Bang theory and Two and a Half men. ] would give this series an overall score of 85/100 Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.