• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1
How to Live with Your Parents (For the Rest of Your Life) Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After her divorce, Polly (Sarah Chalke) and her daughter, Natalie (Rachel Eggleston), move in with her parents (Elizabeth Perkins and Brad Garrett).
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 2, 2013
    83
    Initial impression: It fits. Fans of Chalke will remain fans, and everyone who long ago realized that Elizabeth Perkins was the best thing about "Weeds" will as well.
  2. Reviewed by: Carina Adly MacKenzie
    Apr 3, 2013
    70
    It feels like a happy medium between "The New Normal" and "Everybody Loves Raymond," but it manages to feel comfortably familiar as opposed to stale and overdone, largely due to the extremely talented, relatable cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 28, 2013
    63
    Chalke and company are all expert comic actors, but the pilot is leapingly frantic, a puppy wanting love. [8 Apr 2013, p.45]
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 3, 2013
    50
    ABC’s midseason replacement How to Live With Your Parents (For the Rest of Your Life) is dumb and crass. That would be fine if it were at all funny.
  5. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Mar 29, 2013
    42
    A faint facsimile of funny starring poor Sarah Chalke, who really deserves better. [5 Apr 2013, p.62]
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 3, 2013
    40
    Between the cutesy on-screen captions and an anything-goes sensibility that flirts with child endangerment (just kidding, kind of), Parents ultimately just feels like it's trying too hard.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 2, 2013
    0
    [A] dreadful new sitcom.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    how to live with your parents for the rest of the your life . is the most hilarious and epic . grade A+ ................................................................................................ Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    My whole family and I love this show. It is laugh out loud funny! Brad Garrett and Elizabeth Perkins are hilarious as the grandparents and Sarah Chalke holds her own as well. Collapse
  3. May 30, 2013
    8
    A cast with phenomenal stage presence and comic talent carry this show farther than the premise deserves. This was never going to be a Seinfeld or 30 Rock but I think it has been underappreciated. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    6
    Even though i didn't enjoy the pilot, i really think HTLWYP has great potential to be a wonderful family comedy. The show seems to have an interesting cast, and lovely characters to work on through (especially the great parents), and the like Modern Family, the show seems to be slightly edgier than a normal family sitcom-which is great. The pilot was rushed and weird and not consistent, but i firmly believe this show will manage to be fan-favorite show unless it fails rating wise. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    1
    The trailer was inviting. But, I only watched the first show. I didn't care for the sexual in do when does. It was a complete turnoff. The language and the way the carried themselves was not inviting. Expand