• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 28, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 8
In Treatment Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New patients of Dr. Paul Weston (Gabriel Byrne) include Sunil (Irrfan Khan), a professor who moved from India to live with his son after his wife's death; Frances (Debra Winger), an actress who has problems remembering her lines; and Jesse (Dane DeHaan), a gay 16-year-old boy dealing with his identity and his parents. Amy Ryan also joins the show as Paul's new psychotherapist. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    Unlike a few characters in seasons one and two whose lives I just wasn't interested in, I won't be skipping any therapy sessions this season. They are all fascinating.
  2. Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    The power of the writing and performances are such that after just 30 minutes, you feel as if you know each of these characters intimately--and you find yourself already caring about them. And you wonder what role they will play in the troubled life and journey of Dr. Paul Weston.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Oct 28, 2010
    90
    I've seen two weeks of the season, and so far I'm rapt. In Treatment may be in uncharted ground with its new, original stories, but it remains a show that rewards patience, and patients.
  4. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Season three's In Treatment [scripts are] entirely original. That may partly account for the so-far stagey quality of the episodes involving Jesse (Dane DeHaan), a 16-year-old gay male adoptee confronting a birth-mother problem....There is, otherwise, little that can detract from this series now roaring back with its old miraculous suspense and flinty intelligence.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 25, 2010
    80
    While In Treatment isn't perfect by any means, given its uneven start and improbable origins, it's as good as anything with two characters yammering probably has a right to be.
  6. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Oct 24, 2010
    75
    The acting is brilliant, the problems are relatable, and the truths Dr. Weston is chasing are profound. On the other hand, In Treatment is the epitome of American self-indulgence, both for the actors and the characters they're playing.
  7. Reviewed by: Heather Havrilesky
    Oct 25, 2010
    60
    As entertaining as In Treatment can be at times, the third season may be the most grueling of them all. It's tough to see how any of these characters will find anything remotely resembling a sense of happiness before the season is over. Unfortunately, this season may also be the most simplistic so far.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    This season has managed to make me angry and anxious. Not in a bad way but in a good way because the way they present and act makes me feel like I am the one in the couch and no matter what side I see myself in I can just taste tension. This kind of immersion I have never felt before with any show. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    I'm a huge fan of this show and Gabriel Byrne. However, I wish the writers would stop having Paul Weston coming to the U.S. when he was twelve years old. Anyone knows that an Irish kid of that age would have long since lost his thick brogue, living in America.
    Byrne actually left Dublin when he was 37, and is now 61 years old. The brogue was well-established and present today as it should be obviously in Paul Weston. He is so Irish. Even Sunil had to notice that. Writers: Fix that logistics problem; it's a huge flaw.
    Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Wow. They've done it again! This time without scripts from Israel. Every episode is fascinating. The acting is amazing, though it's a little hard to tell with Debra Winger as her role is that of a person who's largely fake. We were a little confused by the first episode with the young adopted man, as it seemed that we were entering in the middle, but that turned out to be smart and effective. My main question is whether Paul, the psychotherapist will survive until the end of the season. All in all, clearly one of the best shows on TV. Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    Out of psychic steam. This domestic third series is a real let down - a crash and burn version that will not make it to a fourth series. Though the acting is still top-notch, Paul Weston has run out of road - he is too depressed and is repeating himself. The patients are interesting but not that credible - the intellectual Sunil would not put up with the **** he is being forced to suffer. Jesse flip flops five times an episode. Frances is a narcissist - the best performer this year IS Debra Winger. And the flirtation with the new therapist is just terrible - a bum note in a series that had, until this one, not sounded a single one.

    Still, this is unmissable - intelligent, superbly acted, sometimes moving, always different.
    Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2010
    5
    Let me preface this by saying I was an In Treatment addict for Seasons I and II. Season III demonstrates an extraordinary lack of creativity in writing and bad acting that is so painful at times that I wonder why I continue to see the series through to the end. Of course, Gabriel Byrne continues to play Paul with his usual intensity and level of mastery. The character of Sunil is likewise portrayed with subtlety by Irrfan Khan. However, even Debra Winger cannot save the stale writing for the character of Frances and lack of imagination for a compelling story behind that character. Most egregious is the horribly stereotyped character of Jessie, that is an affront to gay folks everywhere. His dialogue basically consists of a litany of overacted profanity describing his sexual exploits--ham ham ham, and annoying ham at that. The replacement of Gina Tolle with Paul's new Therapist is equally as soporific, as the character has nothing compelling about her, and the actress fits the part perfectly. Such a disappointment. Collapse