• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2005
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 49
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 49
  3. Negative: 6 out of 49

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JulieS
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Excellent Show
  2. CaraR
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    I loved this show! I am so dissapointed to hear its been cancelled!
  3. sharrona
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    would hate to see this show go.....believe given time it will take off as it is one of the only good programs on a friday nite for a change
  4. LindaP
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    About 3 weeks ago, my husband and I stumbled across Inconceivable. We do not watch much TV and were pleasantly surprised to find a program that was able to show a real human aspect to this subject. I think it is a program that has much potential to help persons who have or are experiencing conception problems and decisions. I was very disappointed to find that it had been cancelled - and About 3 weeks ago, my husband and I stumbled across Inconceivable. We do not watch much TV and were pleasantly surprised to find a program that was able to show a real human aspect to this subject. I think it is a program that has much potential to help persons who have or are experiencing conception problems and decisions. I was very disappointed to find that it had been cancelled - and even more disappointed to see it replaced by another crime program, or rather reruns of a crime program. I guess it is time to keep the TV off and read instead. Expand
  5. ElizabethW
    Oct 16, 2005
    9
    I view this series as fascinatingly pro-life so far--something I was very surprised to find on TV. The series concept flies in the face of the notion that a fertilized egg is not a unique human life. The clinic doctors and their clients act on the unspoken assumption that fertilized eggs are the human potential they both struggle to actualize, rather than destroy (in the context of I view this series as fascinatingly pro-life so far--something I was very surprised to find on TV. The series concept flies in the face of the notion that a fertilized egg is not a unique human life. The clinic doctors and their clients act on the unspoken assumption that fertilized eggs are the human potential they both struggle to actualize, rather than destroy (in the context of infertile couples, this legal option seems by comparison heinous). But the show, so far, is not political--thank goodness. I saw the first two episodes and have been eagerly awaiting more. I was surprised that the show is as good as it is--the writing is solid and the characters' relationships with one another kept me wanting to see what would happen. I had seen Jonathan Cake as Tyrannus in the awful ABC miniseries 'Empire' th past summer and am impressed with his screen presence and acting ability in this series (it doesn't hurt that he's extremely handsome as well). Alfre Woodard was wonderful as the counselor--and I'm now wondering what has happened to her character: last I saw she was run over by a despondent client! Bring "Inconceivable" back, NBC!!! Expand
  6. SheaB
    Oct 18, 2005
    9
    This was one of my favorite new shows of the season. I cannot believe it has been cancelled. Why don't you give something a chance. Friday night is a terrible air time anyway.
  7. graceb
    Oct 18, 2005
    9
    Please do not cancel , how many law and orders can there be???????????????
  8. NicoleM
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    I'm upset because the show was cancelled
  9. NikkiL
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    My husband and I loved this show. We live in a small town in Canada, where we are one of these couples. We had me eggs and husbands sperm extracted, and inserted into a family member, where we have a set of twins. This does work in small towns. It's real!! This show does not give false hope!! It works!!! Now play the TV series for real people like US!!!!
  10. Amanda
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    I completely agree with Heather H. I am SO SICK of all the crime shows. It was nice to watch a drama that involved bringing life into the world, as opposed to taking it away. (Think Law and Order, CSI, etc.) No wonder we have such a high crime rate when the only thing you see on TV is murder. What ticks me off the most is that it had only aired 3 times. I don't think that's I completely agree with Heather H. I am SO SICK of all the crime shows. It was nice to watch a drama that involved bringing life into the world, as opposed to taking it away. (Think Law and Order, CSI, etc.) No wonder we have such a high crime rate when the only thing you see on TV is murder. What ticks me off the most is that it had only aired 3 times. I don't think that's adequate enough time for people to decide whether they like it or not. This show wasn't even given a chance and was cancelled. It's disheartning to see all the new sucky shows out there who HAVEN'T been cancelled! I really wish they'd bring it back! Expand
  11. CathyK
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    Hands down, this was one of the best new shows this season. I can't believe it was cancelled.
  12. MarilynC
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    I saw the first couple of episodes of Inconceivable and loved it. I want to know what happened to this program. It was GREAT! It's was true reality on what problems do arise in these type of situations.
  13. JaimeB
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    I love this show I am going through this write now in my life Please bring back inconceivable
  14. SaraH
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    I loved this show. My husband and I were so excited the entire pre-season. We just kept waiting for it to air. We are currently pregnant, so everything Babies is great. I really want this to come back, so maybe another network should try and pick this up. Or at least a similar concept. Hell, I'd get extended cable just to see it if a bigger and not so scared network took this up. I loved this show. My husband and I were so excited the entire pre-season. We just kept waiting for it to air. We are currently pregnant, so everything Babies is great. I really want this to come back, so maybe another network should try and pick this up. Or at least a similar concept. Hell, I'd get extended cable just to see it if a bigger and not so scared network took this up. This was one or the best shows I've seen in a long time. Expand
  15. TessaW
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Cancelled! How terribly disapointing! I hadn't watched TV on a Friday night since Full House aired it's final episode years ago. NBC - Nothing But Crap ! I might as well remove this station from all of my TV's seeing as how I can see all of the Law and Order I want on the 6 o'clock evening news.
  16. TarayaW
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed this show. Only 2 episodes aired. How could it be cancelled already? It wasn't even given a chance!!! I'm so disappointed in NBC for letting this show go. There are plenty of other shows on their network that needed to be cancelled before this one. This is one of the reasons that I am done with watching NBC shows. Weren't they the ones that passed on I really enjoyed this show. Only 2 episodes aired. How could it be cancelled already? It wasn't even given a chance!!! I'm so disappointed in NBC for letting this show go. There are plenty of other shows on their network that needed to be cancelled before this one. This is one of the reasons that I am done with watching NBC shows. Weren't they the ones that passed on "Desperate Housewives?" and now look at how successful that show is on ABC. Expand
  17. valentinad
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    After learing that my husband and I cannot have children naturally, along comes this new show "Inconceivable". I was glued and couldn't wait until the following Friday to watch more. But they pulled the show off!!!
  18. CourtneyF
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    I have been through invitro 6 times and it worked on the 6th try. I could totally relate with the show and it was real and gives most people out in this world a glimpse into the world infertile couples/people live in. Bring the show back!
  19. Caitlin
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    The best show on TV
  20. CeceM
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    How do we actually get this across to NBC? I'm pissed; all the critics can stuff it. If those losers have something better to do than watch Inconceivable, than don't watch it. But, many people loved it and it promised to be a great show. Well, NBC broke that promise and now they can stuff it too; and you know where!!!
  21. DawnJ
    Oct 21, 2005
    8
    Bring Inconceivable back!!
  22. Tim
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Loved The Show.... Upset Its Gone
  23. HeatherH
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    I loved this show. It was different than the other shows. How many more Law and Orders can there be out there? I am tired of watching L&O CI in this place. I don't think the people commenting from the papers and mags even stay home and watch TV like I do so who cares what they say. I have been home every Friday night for 3 weeks and still no Inconceivable is on TV. I normally I loved this show. It was different than the other shows. How many more Law and Orders can there be out there? I am tired of watching L&O CI in this place. I don't think the people commenting from the papers and mags even stay home and watch TV like I do so who cares what they say. I have been home every Friday night for 3 weeks and still no Inconceivable is on TV. I normally don't watch TV on Friday nights but once I saw Inconceivable once I was hooked. It would do better on Tuesday nights. I can't believe something as stupid as Medium or the Lady President show are making it and this show isn't. They should give it more than two weeks to see how it is going to go and change the night before cancelling a show all together. Expand
  24. MikeJ
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    "Inconceivable" is one of the best shows this fall. Watching something with more than a 9 year old mentality is rare these days. This was one good show.
  25. isabell
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    i loved this show and was sad to see that it had been cancelled
  26. Regina
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    Nancy DeWolf Smith from the New York Times criticizes it's lack of realism. What part of Desperate Housewives is real?! Like a whole neighborhood would have beautiful, 0% fat, 30 & 40 somethings that have so many mishaps and mystery in their lives. I really enjoyed Inconceivable and think conservatives just can't handle controversial issues. Oh no, you mean a show that Nancy DeWolf Smith from the New York Times criticizes it's lack of realism. What part of Desperate Housewives is real?! Like a whole neighborhood would have beautiful, 0% fat, 30 & 40 somethings that have so many mishaps and mystery in their lives. I really enjoyed Inconceivable and think conservatives just can't handle controversial issues. Oh no, you mean a show that isn't surrounding aliens or murders?! Expand
  27. LaurenO.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    I liked to show because it touched people like me, who will one day have trouble getting pregnant later in life. I also think that it had a nice enviornment, like anyone esle would want if they were going to go through that type of situation. I really think that it was a real show. They just knew what would catch and so they put it out there. I was heart-borcken. I really want to know I liked to show because it touched people like me, who will one day have trouble getting pregnant later in life. I also think that it had a nice enviornment, like anyone esle would want if they were going to go through that type of situation. I really think that it was a real show. They just knew what would catch and so they put it out there. I was heart-borcken. I really want to know what shows are real at this point in time on t.v.? Everything you see is bull. You can not get anything close to real life on t.v. I think they need to bring the show back. At leaset give it a little bit more time to air. Then people may start to catch. But, people that judge the t.v. shows are the ones who know nothing about the topic, and where people ar ecommming from. I thikn that was a bad thing to do, because, what about all the people who did really like the show? Are they just going to let us down? I think that is really awful, on their aprt. Sence I found out it was canceled, I hate that channle. So they can get their reviews from somewhare else. Thanks for eading!!!!! Bye!!!! Expand
  28. [Anonymous]
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    I enjoyed it and looked forward to this week but found it was cancelled
  29. Stephanie
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    I loved this show! Figures they would cancel it. It's not like they even gave it a chance! Good grief! And they put Law and Order in it's place....that's insult to injury!!
  30. Mary
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    I thought the show was great, I had been looking for over the past few weeks on Friday nights, then to find out it had been cancelled. I was so disappointed. My husband and I have had to face alot of the issues of infertility, the show showed what infertile couples have to face every month, yes some of the storie lines were alittle silly, but it can educate people that don't have I thought the show was great, I had been looking for over the past few weeks on Friday nights, then to find out it had been cancelled. I was so disappointed. My husband and I have had to face alot of the issues of infertility, the show showed what infertile couples have to face every month, yes some of the storie lines were alittle silly, but it can educate people that don't have fertility problems what the rest us have to go through to try to get pregnant. Please bring the show back on, like maybe on a Monday night, friday night is not such a good night to air a new show! Very disappointed with NBC!!! Collapse
  31. katie
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    bring it back it an awsome sho mabe ever better then ER
  32. MaryR
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    I loved this show! Why did NBC cancel it?!
  33. debi
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    i really like the show alot i think the only thing wrong was the brit doctor i dont think he was right for that part you need to give it a second chance !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  34. jenniferf
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    I loved this show. I was so disappointed it was canceled. I looked forward to it every friday night. i delt with infirtility for about 2 years and then got pregnant. NBC you were verrrrrry DUMB for taking it off the air. Why don't you cancel some of these crime shows. Every time i turn around i see a darn crime show. Please bring it back!!!!!!
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. 0
    [An] intolerable piece of attention-getting TV.
  2. 38
    Has a lot of forced backstory writing.
  3. 40
    Too much of the setup is a sad, cheesy cross between "Grey's Anatomy" and "Nip/Tuck."