• Network: TV LAND
  • Series Premiere Date:
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    By the end of a few episodes everything meshes nicely, and the prospect of watching more has become enticing.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 27, 2013
    63
    Every so often, Alley extracts a solid laugh from an unexceptional joke. [9 Dec 2013, p.45]
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 4, 2013
    60
    Kirstie breaks no new ground, and it doesn’t try to. It walks a path we have enjoyed before.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 3, 2013
    60
    Kirstie, with Ms. Alley mugging through her role as a kindhearted narcissist, is more like the Ford Focus. If it’s late and it’s all the rental company has left, you might as well take it.... Rhea Perlman is funny as Thelma, but the real revelation of Kirstie is Michael Richards as the shady chauffeur, Frank.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Dec 3, 2013
    58
    Alley, Perlman and Richards were far more gainfully employed on their previous classic comedy series. Now they’re in a sense doing dinner theater in Yuma but seemingly having a good time together nonetheless.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Nov 27, 2013
    58
    The expected jokes about Botox, nose jobs, and Alley's weight abound and are executed with old-school shticky competence, like a middling '90s sitcom that never was. [6 Dec 2013, p.74]
  7. 50
    [The cast] throw themselves into Kirstie wholeheartedly, but it's hard not to feel that they're slumming.
  8. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 4, 2013
    50
    It’s difficult to escape the show’s plasticky veneer and misplaced exuberance.
  9. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Dec 2, 2013
    50
    The comedy is predictable on every level, which is part of the TV Land formula.
  10. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 2, 2013
    42
    The pilot has some funny moments, but after that, Kirstie starts to flatline.
  11. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 4, 2013
    40
    The jokes, while occasionally funny, almost all feel reheated.
  12. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Dec 3, 2013
    40
    If viewers are drawn to the familiar faces of the cast members individually (Alley has a number of celebrity friends set to appear this year) and are happy to see them back on TV, then the show is a late-evening diversion at best. At worst--and more likely--it might end up as another genre struck off from Alley's valiant list of big efforts to return to the small screen.
  13. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 4, 2013
    30
    Kirstie goes for the worst of both worlds, arraying itself in the worn-thin comfort of predictable humor and sloppy sentiment in the vain hope that it comes off as retro, or quaint or something.
  14. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Dec 4, 2013
    30
    A comedy so broad it might as well wander off the sides of the screen.
  15. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Dec 4, 2013
    30
    Sadly, Kirstie is all about cheese, including the moldy hook of the show's gimmicky premise.
  16. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 26, 2013
    30
    Basically, think “All About Eve,” if it were remade as a woefully broad TV Land sitcom, rife with jokes about promiscuity, ego and of course, weight.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    4
    Mediocre and predicable, with a terribly cliché plot, yet a few good laughs here and there. That basically sums up Kristie, the new comedyMediocre and predicable, with a terribly cliché plot, yet a few good laughs here and there. That basically sums up Kristie, the new comedy vehicle created for Kirstie Alley. Why? Nobody knows. She must be doing something right in the business (or doing the right person...), since she keeps coming back without actually doing anything worthwhile.

    Of course, the show isn't just about Kirstie. The main attractions for me are co-stars Rhea Pearlman (best known as Carla from Cheers) and the apparently re-honored Michael Richards (Kramer, 'nuff said) who basically do a toned down version of their most famous roles. Personally I'm glad to see Richards back (one bad joke doesn't wipe out a legendary performance in one of the best sitcoms ever), even though he is basically a toned down and more cohered version of Kramer.

    The rest of the cast can't impress me, and the humour is a bit...lame. It's one of those sitcoms that would have made decent waves 15 years ago, but time moved on.

    I generously give this show 1 full season (depending on how good Kirstie is doing who she is doing...), but that's all it deserves.
    Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2014
    10
    I love Kirstie Alley. She's absolutely hilarious and I'm so happy she has her own show! Needs better writing. But still funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    2
    I tried to like this show because of the great actors in it.
    The writing is so bad that the acting looks bad.
    I think the whole adoption
    I tried to like this show because of the great actors in it.
    The writing is so bad that the acting looks bad.

    I think the whole adoption re union part of this show is in poor taste, as many people in America these days are reuniting with their birth families and from what I hear, it really isn't all that funny a situation and to think a 27 year old man would move in with his birth mother sounds rather ridiculous and very far fetched.

    And the way they have written this, making Kirstie a ditsy dame.... if you could call it that, kind of makes birth mothers out there look bad too. Just a bad idea in general, and not funny at all.

    Gave it two tries and the second one was worse than the first one. I don't think I even laughed once, come to think of it. There are much funnier shows out there to watch.
    Full Review »