Labyrinth

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 30, 2014
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    May 22, 2014
    80
    Labyrinth is most remarkable as a curiosity: a thorny theo-historical miniseries with unusual European pacing and flavor airing on an incongruous venue the week after the TV season has ended.
  2. Reviewed by: Hillary Busis
    May 21, 2014
    50
    Labyrinth is neither absorbing enough to be good-good nor ridiculous enough to be bad-good.
  3. Reviewed by: Sydney Bucksbaum
    May 22, 2014
    40
    Labyrinth takes way too long to hit the ground running and introduce the actual story, so part 1 is confusing and fails to get viewers to care about both the past and present storylines.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    May 22, 2014
    40
    This lavishly produced and well-acted mystery-and-conspiracy drama lacks only one essential element: a payoff that makes the previous four hours feel a little more worth your time.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    May 22, 2014
    30
    The show's concept is kind of interesting: Two women (one in 1209 France, another in the present day) are connected through time but after giving the miniseries about 40 minutes, I gave up in favor of a new episode of FX's "Fargo."
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    May 21, 2014
    30
    Labyrinth is too plodding and literal to rise to the level of camp, which could have saved it.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    May 21, 2014
    25
    CW’s Labyrinth is quite possibly the worst miniseries ever made for TV.
User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Jun 11, 2015
    2
    I watched this back in 2012 (it's now 2015), so my memory's a bit vague, but I do recall finding it inane, the kind of show I would normallyI watched this back in 2012 (it's now 2015), so my memory's a bit vague, but I do recall finding it inane, the kind of show I would normally turn off after 5 minutes. Why didn't I? I'm fascinated by the Cathars: what they believed, why their ideas were so compelling to so many and so threatening to the established church. I kept hoping for a shred or two of Actual History (not a lot, just a little taste) but instead endured yet another Holy Grail pursuit. Yes, yes, I know it's in the book, which riffs on the speculations of ONE grail-obsessed Nazi historian, but surely books and films have chased around after that damn goblet for long enough that I am justified in hoping for something just a bit fresher. Nope. Watch for the scenery, but keep a copy of MONTAILLOU handy to read during the boring parts. Full Review »