Legend of the Seeker : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 158

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. AngelB
    May 21, 2010
    3
    To say that the Legend of the Seeker was "adapted" from Terry Goodkind's Sword of Truth series is a lie. It would be better to say that only the characters' graphic descriptions and world settings had been excellently depicted in the television series but the same certainly couldn't be said for the novels' essence. As an avid fan of the novels, I am greatly dismayed To say that the Legend of the Seeker was "adapted" from Terry Goodkind's Sword of Truth series is a lie. It would be better to say that only the characters' graphic descriptions and world settings had been excellently depicted in the television series but the same certainly couldn't be said for the novels' essence. As an avid fan of the novels, I am greatly dismayed that tons of the original story plots and concepts had been twisted, turned upside-down and were even missed to create an altogether new storyline. It seems as if the Legend of the Seeker has only used the Sword of Truth's characters and world settings to act on an entirely different tale. Having an entirely separate storyline, those who haven't delved yet into the Sword of Truth novels would surely find the Legend of the Seeker interesting and worth watching. They would surely be entranced by its astounding visual effects and its actors who are truly visually suited for their roles. They wouldn't find it hard not to sympathize with the characters in the long run. Expand
  2. ChrisP
    Sep 2, 2009
    3
    I wanted to see everything i'd imagined from the books in technicolor glory, but so far it's been disappointing. Many of the facts from the book have been twisted, there are few surprises, the viewer is told everything at a different time than in the books, arg... so many irregularities. I'm of the opinion it could've been converted to the screen and still appeal to I wanted to see everything i'd imagined from the books in technicolor glory, but so far it's been disappointing. Many of the facts from the book have been twisted, there are few surprises, the viewer is told everything at a different time than in the books, arg... so many irregularities. I'm of the opinion it could've been converted to the screen and still appeal to the masses, this translation has been poor. Sadly i won't be continuing to watch, i'll keep up the reading though. Expand
  3. mitchD
    Mar 1, 2010
    1
    This show is a dispicable representation of its source material. If you in any way shape or form have actually read the source material (the sword of truth series by terry goodkind) The production value is cheap and acting is almost B quality. Casting was also poorly done for the show, none of the characters match their parallel personalities from the books. The only reason this show even This show is a dispicable representation of its source material. If you in any way shape or form have actually read the source material (the sword of truth series by terry goodkind) The production value is cheap and acting is almost B quality. Casting was also poorly done for the show, none of the characters match their parallel personalities from the books. The only reason this show even gets a 1 is that it shares the same (well kind of) world as an amazing epic fantasy series. RUN!...run far away and pretend that this "series" never existed. Imagine this...the chimes were let loose with the release of this show, the world in which this show resides is on its way to destruction. Expand
  4. SeanD
    Dec 8, 2008
    0
    I just watched the first 10 minutes of the premier. All I can say is what are they thinking! Dennee not dieing BEFORE Kahlans run across? Whats with the daggers Kahlan has? The barren run across the desert is NEAR explainable, but what happened to quads? Lets not forget Richards character!
  5. XeroW
    Sep 8, 2009
    0
    I understand that this isn't suppose to be taken directly from the book but Wizards First Rule is my favorite book. I am particular in a lot of things but there are other things I can overlook, such as Richard's young looking age, but other I just cannot get passed, like the Boundry being breached in the first episode and Richard the woods guide can take down multiple battle I understand that this isn't suppose to be taken directly from the book but Wizards First Rule is my favorite book. I am particular in a lot of things but there are other things I can overlook, such as Richard's young looking age, but other I just cannot get passed, like the Boundry being breached in the first episode and Richard the woods guide can take down multiple battle hardened D'haran solders. I know that the show is very very loosely. Just because I can put a BMW logo on a 70's style volks wagon van, doesn't make it a BMW. The same goes for this show. I have to admit I'm very disappointed and haven't watched it since my heart broke after the first episode Expand
  6. AndrewD
    Nov 29, 2008
    2
    As a huge fan of the books, i was looking forward to the show, but was completely disappointed with it. They don't follow the books at all, they create new creatures or powers in every book and change the ones the characters actually do have, the actors need to mature, and the new stories they create are completely childish and cheezy. I can't believe T. Goodkind would let his As a huge fan of the books, i was looking forward to the show, but was completely disappointed with it. They don't follow the books at all, they create new creatures or powers in every book and change the ones the characters actually do have, the actors need to mature, and the new stories they create are completely childish and cheezy. I can't believe T. Goodkind would let his books turn into this filth. Expand
  7. jk
    Nov 3, 2008
    4
    Bland characters, forced dialog, and bad acting turn intense, epic moments into cheesy banter. Nothing legendary about it.
  8. JonC
    Feb 5, 2009
    3
    I guess I had too high expectations for the series. I know they had to omit stuff which is acceptable, but they changed things also. Stuff like Zedd saying a weird incarnation to get the thorn out of his hand, and smoke shaped like a snake popping out, give me a break. That's not how magic works in that universe, and they didn't even use magic at all to do it in the books. Or I guess I had too high expectations for the series. I know they had to omit stuff which is acceptable, but they changed things also. Stuff like Zedd saying a weird incarnation to get the thorn out of his hand, and smoke shaped like a snake popping out, give me a break. That's not how magic works in that universe, and they didn't even use magic at all to do it in the books. Or the barrier being green and glowing and definite like that, and of course they have to use magic catapult juice to bring it down. Or how there was a ring of fire around Richard when he got the sword, and suddenly a bolt of lightning comes down and touches it. Sorry but there is too much of that cheap, Saturday morning kind of fantasy in it for my taste (which I guess is the only thing Raimi is good at). I couldn't stand to see one of my favorite book series get changed (mauled really) like that. Expand
  9. GregoryH
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    If you are in anyway a fan or reader of the Sword of Truth books I cannot recommend strongly enough that you avoid this series. People who haven't read the books will probably find this show average, maybe even watchable. To fans, however this show is an appalling mess of the worst parts of the book, missed plot points, bad character development, bad acting and forced action. To sum If you are in anyway a fan or reader of the Sword of Truth books I cannot recommend strongly enough that you avoid this series. People who haven't read the books will probably find this show average, maybe even watchable. To fans, however this show is an appalling mess of the worst parts of the book, missed plot points, bad character development, bad acting and forced action. To sum up the eventual train wreck of a plot, the very first episode commits a number of fatal mistakes which brings down Goodkind's story tumbling down like a pack of cards. To name a few, Richard's farther is alive (wasn't killed by Darken Rahl), he isn't friends with Zedd, He hasn't memorised the book or even seen the book before (Confessor is now useless). The boundary is now a trivial thing that can be broken through with a few catapults. The story is so far removed its easier to say that its an entirely unrelated story where everybody inexplicably has the same names as in the book. To summarize. Forget the show, read the book. If you've already read the book, still forget the show but do something else. Expand
  10. StephenB
    Apr 3, 2010
    1
    I keep watching this series to see how bad it really is going to get. After watching half the first season it is severely lacking in anything remotely related to the books. The only things that say that it is related to the books are in the opening credits, character names, and the original plot from the first book; kill Darken Rahl. Other than that there is nothing really related to the I keep watching this series to see how bad it really is going to get. After watching half the first season it is severely lacking in anything remotely related to the books. The only things that say that it is related to the books are in the opening credits, character names, and the original plot from the first book; kill Darken Rahl. Other than that there is nothing really related to the books. The sword of truth is a piece of steal that has no real value, other than the seeker uses it. The agiel is a small leather rod that is only about a finger width wide, look more like a police baton. It could use a lot more in the story and in the plot. Maybe if the writers read the books they would have figured out that there is already an awesome plot in them. They could take all 12 books and put them in different seasons. That way it would be a decent series to watch. Well maybe a few minor changes in characters. I would recommend that if you want to really know what this show should be to read the books and forget that this series even existed. I don Expand
  11. EliasC.
    Nov 22, 2008
    3
    Although not a fan of massive fantasy series, I did appreciate the intent of Terry Goodkind's 'Sword of Truth' series. After watching the premiere episodes, I can see why his name and books are not credited on screen because the translation of this interesting fantasy series to TV is simply awful.
  12. Terry
    Nov 8, 2008
    1
    The books were so amazing but Legend of the Seeker is such a huge disappointment! It is unbelievably Cheezy! My family and I were so excited about this show but it has been a huge let down. I hope George R. R. Martin doesn't allow HBO to trash his creation like this.
  13. HendrikB
    Dec 3, 2008
    2
    The whole Sword of Truth franchise is crushed in the pilot episode. Legend of the Seeker is more of a relaunch of the Hercules/Xena setting than anything else. Just a couple of the characters from the books are used. By name. If you have read the book you will probably want to stay away from this series.
  14. MatthewH
    Jan 11, 2009
    2
    The Sword of Truth Series has been my favorite book series for years. That being said I expect that a tv adaption would require the book to be changed to fit the requirements of a screen play. What I would not expect is a butchering of character and plot development. I would also not expect the basic philosophy's found in the book to be diminished or entirely removed. I'm sad to The Sword of Truth Series has been my favorite book series for years. That being said I expect that a tv adaption would require the book to be changed to fit the requirements of a screen play. What I would not expect is a butchering of character and plot development. I would also not expect the basic philosophy's found in the book to be diminished or entirely removed. I'm sad to say that I will not be watching the rest of the series though I would have loved to see Terry Goodkin's world brought to life but unfortunately this series slanders his works and his name. Expand
  15. SamB
    Feb 16, 2009
    2
    I tried watching it under the context that it was a different story from the books. On three separate occasions I have tried watching it and was too bored. I felt like turning off the tv was a more productive thing to do. Why isn't it a 1? The sword fight was sick. But i don't think I could watch the show just for that.
  16. LaceyM
    Mar 29, 2010
    3
    After about 10 minutes of the first episode, the only question on my mind was, "How did they get Terry Goodkind to agree to this?" Where to start? Kahlan is supposed to be the mother confessor from the begining, Richard wasn't rescued from Brenidon, the boundary can't be destroyed with catapults, Darken Rahl is Richard's father, he's friends with Zedd, and he memorized After about 10 minutes of the first episode, the only question on my mind was, "How did they get Terry Goodkind to agree to this?" Where to start? Kahlan is supposed to be the mother confessor from the begining, Richard wasn't rescued from Brenidon, the boundary can't be destroyed with catapults, Darken Rahl is Richard's father, he's friends with Zedd, and he memorized the book of counted shadows, which, by the way, contains the secrets of the boxes of orden, not the "secrets of power". The only reason I gave it a 3 was because Craig Horner looks fantastic without his shirt on. Expand
  17. SeanF
    Nov 29, 2008
    1
    If they wanted to do a show with their own storylines, why did they contract Terry Goodkind's series? This show is NOTHING like the book aside from names. The characters don't even act like the story characters, not to mention there is NOTHING plot wise that is similar. IN FACT if you change the names to all the characters, and put this story in front of anyone who has read the If they wanted to do a show with their own storylines, why did they contract Terry Goodkind's series? This show is NOTHING like the book aside from names. The characters don't even act like the story characters, not to mention there is NOTHING plot wise that is similar. IN FACT if you change the names to all the characters, and put this story in front of anyone who has read the books... it would be difficult for them to name the story this is based upon! Expand
  18. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Much to my pain, I have watched the entire of the first season of this show. Having read all the books and adoring the beautiful story inside, I was hugely disappointed at the amount of 'made up' parts. I found that just in the first few episodes that they had completely made up the story, it seemed the only correct things were the names of the characters. I mean nothing against the actors in this show, they in fact did a reasonable job, despite the failure in the story. I am just going to share a few of the things that ticked me off about this show: First off, Denna the Mord-Sith wasn't killed that way, she was killed by Richard, out of love, and she stayed dead. All of the Confessors that are in the show should already be dead. One episode revolved around a kid who could read minds, that never happened! Jensen Rahl only comes into the story in the eighth book, not the first, plus she is older than about twelve. The ageil, the weapon a Mord-Sith uses is supposed to be able to fit inside your ear, and it doesn't make you travel back in time. The whole part where Kahlan has Darken Rahl's child is utter **** the ending of the story does not go like that at all. What actually happens is much more fitting and actually enhances the story tenfold. Faith of the Fallen is my favorite book, and I sincerely hope that they haven't/don't make the movie ruin that book too. If anyone is reading this and thinking that I am just rambling on an complaining too much, then you may be right. But I beg anyone who is reading this to go and read the books, they are so much better than the movies. In the books you are told of dragons that play a pivotal part in the story, when they aren't even put into the movie. The books deal with romance on a whole new level compared to the movies. If you read this and think I'm rambling, go read the books. If you've read the books and still think I'm rambling, then you haven't paid attention of understood the full complexity of the story. Expand
  19. RobertF
    Dec 8, 2009
    2
    Well, after Episode Three i killed the entry in my DVD recorder timetable. Sad, because Sword & Sorcery is a genre I like a lot, from Fritz Leiber through Robert E Howard to Tanith Lee. How on earth could anyone produce an S&S show that is so horribly, excruciatingly bad? - fractured plot, unbelievable characters, absurd back-story, every incident plagiarised and then wrecked by some Well, after Episode Three i killed the entry in my DVD recorder timetable. Sad, because Sword & Sorcery is a genre I like a lot, from Fritz Leiber through Robert E Howard to Tanith Lee. How on earth could anyone produce an S&S show that is so horribly, excruciatingly bad? - fractured plot, unbelievable characters, absurd back-story, every incident plagiarised and then wrecked by some stupid trivial change. So I finally did my homework, and found out why -= it was "based" on a story by Terry Goodkind - a prolific user of word-processing tools who might become a writer if he ever learns how to write his way out of a paper bag. Nope, I'll wait for the cartoon remake with Alvin and the Chipmunks, surely far more suited to the starring roles than the present hopelessly inept human cast. Expand
  20. Sep 7, 2010
    3
    When I first saw this show, I thought I was watching a rerun of "Xena: the warrior princess". To my surprise, it was a show I had never seen before. I soon discovered this show was like a smorgasbord of different scifi/fantasy shows all mixed together with a LOTR backdrop.

    What's with the "Sisters of the Dark"? They're supposed to be these formidable sorceresses with greatly increased
    When I first saw this show, I thought I was watching a rerun of "Xena: the warrior princess". To my surprise, it was a show I had never seen before. I soon discovered this show was like a smorgasbord of different scifi/fantasy shows all mixed together with a LOTR backdrop.

    What's with the "Sisters of the Dark"? They're supposed to be these formidable sorceresses with greatly increased powers. However, in the show, they're little more than cannon fodder. Very reminiscent of stormtroopers from the SW universe.

    I would not waste your time with this show or the book.
    Expand
  21. MichaelS
    Jan 12, 2010
    1
    What an annoying show. If I hear the words "the seeker" one more time I'm going to vomit, the words must be repeated over one hundred times per episode. The series screams B-Grade. The music was obviously sourced with an inadequate budget. The acting is poor, I cringe when I hear the over-used and recycled lines used in the weakest ways possible. It is like the series has taken the What an annoying show. If I hear the words "the seeker" one more time I'm going to vomit, the words must be repeated over one hundred times per episode. The series screams B-Grade. The music was obviously sourced with an inadequate budget. The acting is poor, I cringe when I hear the over-used and recycled lines used in the weakest ways possible. It is like the series has taken the worst facets of every fantasy series and combined them to create a practical joke. Expand
  22. BobM.
    Nov 4, 2008
    4
    Not only does it deviate so far from the book that to make the association is grossly misleading, the show in it's own right is fantasy-adventure pulp little better than Xena.
  23. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    The actors did a great job of acting out a modified version of Wizard's First Rule. For example, Craig Horner (Richard Cypher) couldn't have been more humble or witty than he was the book. Bruce Spence (Zed) also didn't disappoint. He was able to maintain a level of humor and mystery that made his role as Wizard indispensable to the plot. Still, the series would have been meaninglessThe actors did a great job of acting out a modified version of Wizard's First Rule. For example, Craig Horner (Richard Cypher) couldn't have been more humble or witty than he was the book. Bruce Spence (Zed) also didn't disappoint. He was able to maintain a level of humor and mystery that made his role as Wizard indispensable to the plot. Still, the series would have been meaningless without the stellar performances of Bridget Regan (Kahlan) and Tabrett Bethell (Cara). To be honest, I thought Tabrett was a much better actor. I always thought her reactions and emotions were much more convincing than Bridget's. In sum, it was an excellent series replete with suspense, great fantasy action, and memorable moments. Remember, don't judge it for not following the book to the t. Enjoy it while considering they had to modify the storyline to accommodate a tight budget and younger audiences. Expand
  24. Dawn
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    I am enjoying it. The script is interesting and well written. Craig Horner is a very likable Richard and Kahlan makes you forget she's acting. The episodes have story in them thats not in the books, but the general plot is rolling along same as the series. It's kind of nice to see more adventures of theirs along the road.
  25. JonathanW
    Feb 4, 2009
    8
    Although the show is very loosely based upon the Sword of Truth series of books, I really enjoy it and look forward to watching it every weekend.
  26. JasonP
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    A fun show to watch, could use a little more support in the script department. This is my new guilty pleasure show.
  27. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Slow start and the acting in the first season is sub par but the second season is where LotS really starts to take off. Plot is more intense, acting greatly improves, and the introduction of Tabrett Bethell (Cara) bring this show to a whole new level. Tabrett Bethell (Cara) quickly became my favorite character and really filled the missing piece for me that made this show as enjoyable asSlow start and the acting in the first season is sub par but the second season is where LotS really starts to take off. Plot is more intense, acting greatly improves, and the introduction of Tabrett Bethell (Cara) bring this show to a whole new level. Tabrett Bethell (Cara) quickly became my favorite character and really filled the missing piece for me that made this show as enjoyable as it was. It is really a shame that most of the critic reviews are based on the first few episodes of the show instead of watching it through. 54 is not a fair score for this wonderful and entertaining show. Just push past the first season and get ready to enjoy the second as it is far and above better than the first.

    Be sure to try and watch the show on a big screen with surround sound. This show has some great elements from other iconic movies and shows (The Matrix, 300, etc) and a nice entertainment center really helps make this show shine.

    Hope you enjoy the show as much as I did. Here's to hoping the 3rd season magically will happen!
    Expand
  28. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers. I loved this show even though I ended up watching after it was done! The characters, the actors, and the plot totally took me in. The adventures in the show are surprising and not all fluff. The relationship between Kahlan and Ricard is heart breaking, enticing and romantic. The different plot twists and turns keep you at the edge of your seat the whole time. Any scifi or fantasy fan should give the show a try! Try out this show and don't let it die out! If you become a fan help in the fight for season 3! Collapse
  29. kevinb
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    This show is great. The characters have great chemistry. It has lots of action and suspenseful moments. As the episodes go on the show gets better and better. The shows are more on the serious side but they do throw some humor in there every so often. Hopefully they can have more shows with more humor. The episode called Princess was the funniest one yet! There is nothing else on TV like it!
  30. D.San
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    If u like the story of a man chosen to destroy evil in medieval lands, facing a new evil every episode, you would like this show, the story doesn't get stretchy neither are the episodes monotonous. A good change for those of you who are bored of your current shows. Actors are pretty good, and by that I mean in looks and makeup, I wouldn't know about acting as i am not an actor, If u like the story of a man chosen to destroy evil in medieval lands, facing a new evil every episode, you would like this show, the story doesn't get stretchy neither are the episodes monotonous. A good change for those of you who are bored of your current shows. Actors are pretty good, and by that I mean in looks and makeup, I wouldn't know about acting as i am not an actor, but if you still ask me, not bad! Expand
  31. kessc
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    The season got better and darker towards the mid-season.
  32. PS
    Dec 6, 2009
    8
    Solid show, good acting/effects/storyline. Gets better as it goes along, looking forward to where the show is headed
  33. DavidPace
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    This is a great show. I hope you keep it on.
  34. MattH
    Feb 2, 2009
    8
    After having watched the first 11 episodes of the season so far, i have to admit that the characters are really beginning to develop. The philosophy that Goodkind includes throughout the story is extremely deep and really brings to life the story. I have read every book and although this might make me biased, i am extremely happy to see the chemistry that Craig and Bridget have on film. After having watched the first 11 episodes of the season so far, i have to admit that the characters are really beginning to develop. The philosophy that Goodkind includes throughout the story is extremely deep and really brings to life the story. I have read every book and although this might make me biased, i am extremely happy to see the chemistry that Craig and Bridget have on film. Both of them read the Wizards First Rule and in my opinion are bringing the story to life with their impossible love story. I agree that at first i was very tentative about liking the show because the pilot deviated so far from the books. But once you let that go and really delve into the deeper substance of the show, you can see Goodkind's work very clearly. 11 Episodes in and i can't wait for the rest. Sure it has its ups and downs, but i think that anyone who loves the books, loves a good love story, or simply enjoys a great epic fantasy will like the show. These characters will always stick with me and i'm happy that Craig, Bridget, and Bruce are bringing them to life. I also agree with Matt B that the characters will develop and mature as the show continues. Most of these posts were simply after the pilot, and i'm curious to see how people react now that the season is mid way through. I'm loving it and i hope you are too. Take Care. Expand
  35. MikkoP
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    Compared to Xena and Hercules - it have continuous background story, more realistic shades of gray consequences and moral choices - and it is not comedy show (big plus). Actors are doing good work inside story / scripts limits
  36. FishFishman
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    Somewhat disappointing that it doesn't follow the books very close, but wonderful in its own right. I'm enjoying the fact that it don't know how the episodes are going to end because they are different from the books. Props all around.
  37. AnthonyB.
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    Ok, the critics are comparing this to LOTR? What about comparing it to Sword of Truth? I am biased, because I love the books. A hero that stands for what is righteous and just, in a sword and sorcery setting, if you enjoy that kind of story, then you will love this show.
  38. BrettT.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    I have read every book and am a committed fan of this series. The show exceeded my expectations completely. It was amazingly written and casted. Believe me those of you who are new to the story, follow along, it is the greatest story I have ever read. For those of you who do not know, this story has is a 12 book series with about 10,000 pages of intensity, creativity, love, romance, I have read every book and am a committed fan of this series. The show exceeded my expectations completely. It was amazingly written and casted. Believe me those of you who are new to the story, follow along, it is the greatest story I have ever read. For those of you who do not know, this story has is a 12 book series with about 10,000 pages of intensity, creativity, love, romance, passion, fear, violence, hatred, devastation and redemption. Watch this series and it will be rewarding to say the least. Legend of the seeker went a bit off track from the book but kept the overall direction. Due to the length of this book, the story will have to be altered bit, but the changes were necessary and captivating. Kudos to all the creators of this show I am a huge fan. Expand
  39. CharF
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    I am a long time fan of the Sword of Truth books, and really love the series, so far.
  40. tomM
    Dec 17, 2008
    8
    I'm definately bias, the books where phenominal. The characters and messages alone were more than what is offered here in life. But the show has to many changes, not enough novel bulk. Not to mention the pace was sacraficed for anything but quality. The actors have the potential to grow into thier parts. But, without trying they may not fill those honerable, vast shoes. As far as a I'm definately bias, the books where phenominal. The characters and messages alone were more than what is offered here in life. But the show has to many changes, not enough novel bulk. Not to mention the pace was sacraficed for anything but quality. The actors have the potential to grow into thier parts. But, without trying they may not fill those honerable, vast shoes. As far as a comparison goes, LOTR was garbage by the third movie. The oppisite is true about the Sword of truth. It progressively expands to an amazing, rich story. Sure to be apart of genrations for years to come. It's a good read compared to a good movie. Lotr has already became a tabletop or vidoe game. With that being it's peek. At least with this the novels are superior to the screen value, not vice verca. It has a chance and we should give it one. Besides, what's that leave us with..? A terrible flock of reality shows. Or one of the hundred, god-aweful c.s.i.'s. How about repeats of something half way older than most of it's viewers. At the very least keep an open mind. Let's see where it goes. Expand
  41. DavidW
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    The series starts off slow, like the books - but as of episode 7 & 8 - it really has started to get into the meat of the first book and can't wait for the next episodes! This is by FAR the best fantasy series on TV right now and in my opinion quickly becoming my favorite and best fantasy TV show in the past 30 years. If you haven't seen it, watch it on HULU as all the episodes The series starts off slow, like the books - but as of episode 7 & 8 - it really has started to get into the meat of the first book and can't wait for the next episodes! This is by FAR the best fantasy series on TV right now and in my opinion quickly becoming my favorite and best fantasy TV show in the past 30 years. If you haven't seen it, watch it on HULU as all the episodes are currently available for free to watch - you owe it to yourself if you enjoyed the novels or fantasy in general. If you don't believe it follows the books closely enough or at all (then you must have also stopped watching the show), read what Terry Goodkind has to say about it as it put all my worries to rest. If this show dies, it will be seen as the next "Firefly" for us Sci-Fi lovers. Expand
  42. RobertD
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    Terry Goodkind's books are one of few series that i was always eagerly waiting for the next book...sometimes impatiently. The tv series...while not exactly to the books are very enjoyable and have tried to capture some of the philosophy Mr. Goodkind's work portrayed. If they build upon those lines i think the series has a future. Stay true to the story as written.
  43. JayB
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    i have read majority of the books, and c'mon, this series is awesome. so what if it doesnt stay true with the books, if it did it would have become very predictable in every episode and very dry in creativity. If your a fan of the scifi/fantasy genre, and you are somewhat intrested in watching it, go for it....i would personally recommend watching the entire season within a time span i have read majority of the books, and c'mon, this series is awesome. so what if it doesnt stay true with the books, if it did it would have become very predictable in every episode and very dry in creativity. If your a fan of the scifi/fantasy genre, and you are somewhat intrested in watching it, go for it....i would personally recommend watching the entire season within a time span of no longer then one week though, since only watching one show per week would have been like eating only one cheese it out of the cheese it box...hehe Expand
  44. ZH
    May 24, 2009
    9
    Very entertaining show. Although it is different than the books in MANY ways, I feel the show is a good watch. The only 3 things I would even attempt to watch besides this are Fox Saturday Afternoon Baseball or Iron Chef America. This show is much more entertaining than either of them. I will admit that the show started off extremely weak. But after watching more episodes it picked up Very entertaining show. Although it is different than the books in MANY ways, I feel the show is a good watch. The only 3 things I would even attempt to watch besides this are Fox Saturday Afternoon Baseball or Iron Chef America. This show is much more entertaining than either of them. I will admit that the show started off extremely weak. But after watching more episodes it picked up speed. It ended on a high point, and the entire season as a whole was quite good. Expand
  45. ElginW.
    Nov 12, 2008
    7
    I'm a fan of Xena and Hercules, this show doesn't live up to them yet, but it's still a pretty good show.
  46. MattB.
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    I for one am a huge fan of the series Sword of Truth and "truth" be told I appreciate the written work right next to Tokien and G. Martin. The show has GREAT production value and the acting is a little amateurish at parts but so was this first book "Wizards First Rule" in the series. I know that the actors will mature into their parts since the writing did, besides there is no indication I for one am a huge fan of the series Sword of Truth and "truth" be told I appreciate the written work right next to Tokien and G. Martin. The show has GREAT production value and the acting is a little amateurish at parts but so was this first book "Wizards First Rule" in the series. I know that the actors will mature into their parts since the writing did, besides there is no indication that they are incompetent just unpracticed. The jump between the first book and the second, "The Stone of Tears" was enormous as far as emotional ties and entertainment go. Goodkind puts in most cases, the philosophy first in his books. That is probably by far why I find them so valuable. This first season is based entirely upon a screen adaptation of the first book Goodkind wrote but it is far from his best. I truly hope this show gets the credit and attention it deserves later on because I already know the material and Im sure most critics haven't read deeper into the storyline than I have. Its a beautiful tale with REAL characters who make decisions based on thought out and meaningful philosophy. There are messages littered all over Goodkinds work and they are the best parts of it. The object/name "Sword of Truth" itself screams placement for purpose. I just hope that the screen adaptation carries that philosophy far enough to matter and make an impact. There is nothing in it that someone who is paying attention shouldn't find valuable. Wait for the story and characters to mature people don't just blatantly give a show a 5 out of 10 especially if you watch one episode and don't even read the material its based on... lol I just cant help but laugh at that, I have no respect for those people. Expand
  47. BrandonS.
    Nov 3, 2008
    7
    I thought this was pretty good, actually. I'm a fan of Hercules and Xena, and even more so of Raime's Evil Dead movies. Being very much a "fantasy genre" show, it does fall into a lot of goofy fantasy cliches, but I think we're in for a pretty cool adventure show.
  48. dawnw
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I have read all the books and love them, (read them several times). And yes I love the show, as the, powers that be, put it the show is based on the books and was meant to go in a slightly different direction. Which makes the I wonder what would happen if Richard, Kalan, or Zedd followed this fork. The start of season 2 was great!
  49. KS
    Jan 13, 2009
    9
    Extremely entertaining, and fun. Good action scenes.
  50. SethG
    Jan 16, 2009
    8
    I was actually disgusted when I watched the pilot because I said "how could they mess up such a great story", but once I told myself that this a TV show BASED on the books, and let me self relax into the characters, I found the experience to be very enjoying. Being broadcast in HD and great production definitely doesn't hurt either. Is it what I envisioned when I read the Sword of I was actually disgusted when I watched the pilot because I said "how could they mess up such a great story", but once I told myself that this a TV show BASED on the books, and let me self relax into the characters, I found the experience to be very enjoying. Being broadcast in HD and great production definitely doesn't hurt either. Is it what I envisioned when I read the Sword of Truth, no. Is it a fun show to watch, you bet! Besides, I can always go read the books for a 3rd or fourth time! Expand
  51. Warlok
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Great show in the producers version which most people donot seem to understand here. As for you critics... DUH! Quit watching something yo donot like. I find the so-called professional critics to be dumber than what they are criticizing. Anyways, a very entertaining show. Beats the heck out of Harry Potter that so many like. The only misclassed wizard that flies on a broom. Thats a kids Great show in the producers version which most people donot seem to understand here. As for you critics... DUH! Quit watching something yo donot like. I find the so-called professional critics to be dumber than what they are criticizing. Anyways, a very entertaining show. Beats the heck out of Harry Potter that so many like. The only misclassed wizard that flies on a broom. Thats a kids show anyways. Highly recommend Legend of the Seekr and its great entertainment for those that understand these types of films. ~Warlok~ Expand
  52. RichS
    Jan 31, 2009
    9
    I think the series is underrated by both critics and people. I personally feel this series is great, and that people must surpass their rigid feelings of how it should be exactly like the book and realize that it's never the case. The series from what I have seen, has a good story and although is not like the book, it still has its own quality to it. The scenery is fitting and I think the series is underrated by both critics and people. I personally feel this series is great, and that people must surpass their rigid feelings of how it should be exactly like the book and realize that it's never the case. The series from what I have seen, has a good story and although is not like the book, it still has its own quality to it. The scenery is fitting and beautiful, the cast seems to be getting better every episode, and fleshing out their characters more as time goes on. When something is supposed to follow a story, the beginning of the series is basically the underlying concept of what to expect things in the future, therefore it's hard to rate a show by the first couple of episodes. I will say that you should keep watching the show before judging it from the first couple of episodes and see how it comes along, you may be in for a surprise, I know that it's very enjoyable, and since the turn of the century there hasn't been a show similar to it. Expand
  53. RC
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Having not read the books on which the series is based, I can't say whether the show is faithful/not faithful to the characters, plot, etc. That said, this is probably my new favorite show. Yes, the pilot and the first few episodes were a little rough, but as the series progressed, the character interactions and plot deepened. I'm on episode 12 right now (watching online), but I Having not read the books on which the series is based, I can't say whether the show is faithful/not faithful to the characters, plot, etc. That said, this is probably my new favorite show. Yes, the pilot and the first few episodes were a little rough, but as the series progressed, the character interactions and plot deepened. I'm on episode 12 right now (watching online), but I can't wait to see the rest of season 1 (and start season 2 this November!!). Expand
  54. Bill
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    I saw this show for the first time on hulu about a week ago. After the first episode I became addicted. Ive always loved this genre of books and tv shows and so was very into this show. At times the show can be cheesy and annoying but overall Id say give it a try. I love it.
  55. anonymous
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    The books were a new take on fantasy with smart social commentary thrown in. The show is the complete opposite, with a bunch of cliches thrown in, bad acting, and campy dialogue. Still, it's pure Sam Raimi. If you're a Raimi fan you'll love it, even if they completely butchered the books.
  56. Aug 21, 2010
    8
    One of the best fantasy series I've seen so far. It even influenced me to read the "Sword of Truth" series of books by Terry Goodkind from which the series is based! The storyline makes up for any shortcomings in the production values (props, cast, special effects, etc). This series should be given another season.
  57. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    A series with the quality and style of Xena and Hercules today seems outdated and for that alone it gets an 8! Especially after watching series such as the game of thrones, mad men, walking dead, dexter, breaking bad etc. If i were a very strict critic, i would have given it even less for that , BUT i enjoyed the story. However the series manages to deliver! Especially the second seasonA series with the quality and style of Xena and Hercules today seems outdated and for that alone it gets an 8! Especially after watching series such as the game of thrones, mad men, walking dead, dexter, breaking bad etc. If i were a very strict critic, i would have given it even less for that , BUT i enjoyed the story. However the series manages to deliver! Especially the second season does great job! The story is great and although av oiding romanve and "virginity" theme gets annoying at parts, overall the series manages to immerse you in this fantasy world. For sure it made me want to read the books! Expand
  58. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    READ THE BOOKS BEFORE YOU WATCH THIS OR YOU WILL THINK ITS A COPY OF DIFFERENT THINGS. Truthfully I read half of the book series before I watched this. Some of it does not happen in the book and that is totally understandable. But if you read the books everything would become more clear and all of it is Terry Goodkind's original work, not a copy of Lord of the Rings or Xena. I still likeREAD THE BOOKS BEFORE YOU WATCH THIS OR YOU WILL THINK ITS A COPY OF DIFFERENT THINGS. Truthfully I read half of the book series before I watched this. Some of it does not happen in the book and that is totally understandable. But if you read the books everything would become more clear and all of it is Terry Goodkind's original work, not a copy of Lord of the Rings or Xena. I still like the books more but the TV show is very pleasing as well. The characters do a great job of acting out their parts and the plot follows the book which I like. Honestly they could of done a better job at explaining the plot and what was going on but if you read the series first everything is crystal clear, well of course some things are changed but most are the same. Expand
  59. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    I love this show! If you are into great story line and magic and sword and shield style entertainment, this show is for you. If you are into special affects and high budget films, perhaps not. In my opinion it is very entertaining and I have to keep watching
  60. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Possibly the most fun series I have ever watched, something for the whole family and everyone can enjoy it.
    It may seem a bit cheese to some at first, but it really grows on you especially when you get to know all of the characters
  61. May 9, 2012
    10
    How long are we going to be burdened with critics that only care for mainstream material devoid of imagination! This is an absolute outrage! Because of them good shows that so so many people love get cancelled! We allow them to stuff us very neatly into little mainstream boxes! Enough of this!
    Legend of the Seeker was a great adventurous romp through the gorgeous countryside of New
    How long are we going to be burdened with critics that only care for mainstream material devoid of imagination! This is an absolute outrage! Because of them good shows that so so many people love get cancelled! We allow them to stuff us very neatly into little mainstream boxes! Enough of this!
    Legend of the Seeker was a great adventurous romp through the gorgeous countryside of New Zealand. It had EVERY aspect which should have led it to great success, a quest, an adventure, a forbidden romance, a common man turned unlikely hero, and oh my gosh good strong morals and a system of honor ( remember those?). There were several things that ultimately led to the show's cancellation. The Syfy channel (shame on you Syfy!!!) aired it in the U.S. at a very late time that made it difficult for the average working person to watch. Critics who gave CSI and Desperate Housewives glowing reviews also reviewed LotS. Clearly the Science fiction/ fantasy genre was not their thing and they were more suited to assessing mainstream material, which is still either cops and robbers or insipid comedy (though Desperate housewives and Weeds were a little more intellectually stimulating than the common slap stick garbage that we usually have to deal with) Problem is though is that there really is room for it all, there really is room enough to make everyone happy and if you like Family Guy and American Dad and Futurama then you should get to enjoy that too. BUT the people who like fantasy and Sci fi should also be able to enjoy their shows. Time and again this is not the case and we find that scifi/fantasy is shipped for yet another cops and robbers. It's been done people! We have more than enough crime dramas! It is time for a different system! Critics who like specific genres should comment on their own and shows shouldn't be pulled from scifi-ers!
    Honestly the acting was good. I think about how many Star Trek series I have watched and how the first few episodes the acting was actually weak and it took a while for the actors to get into their roles. Really you only see that during the first episode of LotS. The scenery is amazing! This series if given another chance by a responsible carrier instead of Syfy, in this world today where we all certainly feel the need for a hero would likely be a brilliant success. It should also be noted that part of the failure involved, was actually because of the stalwart fans of Terry Goodkind's series, The Sword of Truth. Fans of the series were disappointed that the tv series was not an exact replica of the novels, and apparently didn't read the fine print that said "BASED ON" Terry Goodkind's The Sword of Truth series. It is sad that this series was cancelled and there are still millions of hardcore fans that would like it to come back!
    Expand
  62. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    honestly i have always watch tv series and when i watched this i completely fell in love with it. i just heard about this show 4 months ago so that shows how poorly advertized it was and when i found out it was canceled, i could not believe it. i was devastated. i still watch it everyday praying they will make new seasons. this show is amaaing. if you watch atleast the first 5 episodeshonestly i have always watch tv series and when i watched this i completely fell in love with it. i just heard about this show 4 months ago so that shows how poorly advertized it was and when i found out it was canceled, i could not believe it. i was devastated. i still watch it everyday praying they will make new seasons. this show is amaaing. if you watch atleast the first 5 episodes you'll see for yourself. they did so good improving the effects and making the show great in every way. i really hope people take my advice and watch it for awhile. i can garented you will love it and please give this inspiring show the rating it deserves!!!!! Expand
  63. Feb 6, 2016
    6
    I am new to the show (as in I have seen the pilot), but I think it might be helpful to write a review of my initial impressions. You can tell that the show is restrictive in budget because the graphics are not the greatest quality. I however am spoiled with shows of a higher quality on a regular basis.
    I will not rate the show yet though. I can see some promise with the characters, and
    I am new to the show (as in I have seen the pilot), but I think it might be helpful to write a review of my initial impressions. You can tell that the show is restrictive in budget because the graphics are not the greatest quality. I however am spoiled with shows of a higher quality on a regular basis.
    I will not rate the show yet though. I can see some promise with the characters, and the acting is good enough. I think with some development that I can get to really enjoy the show. Like I said, it is low budget. Maybe that will change with future episodes/seasons? I have not read the books it is said to be based on, but reading the reviews of those who are expecting the show to be about that, the fans of them are highly disappointed. If you have read the books I suggest you look at this as a separate series.
    I may rate this show later on and write a new review when I have watched it enough to decide on character development, plot line, plot twists, ect.
    Expand
  64. Nov 4, 2014
    8
    I found this show to be really entertaining and being that I like Wizard stuff and medieval times it was only a bonus. I enjoyed this show from start to finish and am rather annoyed that they didn't make a season three. It's just an interesting TV show and it has action as well as some suspense and of course romance. This is quite off subject, but one thing I'm glad I watched this show forI found this show to be really entertaining and being that I like Wizard stuff and medieval times it was only a bonus. I enjoyed this show from start to finish and am rather annoyed that they didn't make a season three. It's just an interesting TV show and it has action as well as some suspense and of course romance. This is quite off subject, but one thing I'm glad I watched this show for was for Bridget Regan. I would say with her being so beautiful I would of likely finished watching the show just for her being in it. With that being said though it wasn't the case because I enjoyed the show. So if you like wizard and medieval times then this is definitely a show you should watch as I'm sure you won't be disappointed. Expand
  65. Sep 28, 2015
    1
    Being a fan of the Sword and Sorcery genre and having heard good things about this series I decided to see for myself. I was bitterly disappointed. The acting is appalling and to call the storyline cheesy is being far too kind. The writers seem to think that if the cast keep repeating buzz words like 'Seeker' and 'Prophecy' it will somehow add weight to the storyline - it doesn't, it justBeing a fan of the Sword and Sorcery genre and having heard good things about this series I decided to see for myself. I was bitterly disappointed. The acting is appalling and to call the storyline cheesy is being far too kind. The writers seem to think that if the cast keep repeating buzz words like 'Seeker' and 'Prophecy' it will somehow add weight to the storyline - it doesn't, it just serves to make an already tacky series even less compelling. It doesn't even have the saving grace of being so bad it's good. Avoid this dismal series at all costs unless you enjoy disappointment. Expand
  66. Jul 10, 2016
    7
    The first season is watchable, if nothing really special. Let's not judge the show by how well it lived up to your expectations from the books. Let's judge it by what's there, and it's entertaining.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Big on style but more challenged in terms of substance, Seeker demonstrates much production savvy but at the same time too little provocative/evocative interaction aside from the ultra-violent kind.
  2. 50
    A new syndicated series that is like the illegitimate love child of "Lord of the Rings" and a weekend role player.
  3. The premise is pretty standard Joseph Campbell, journey of the hero stuff, but the execution is poor.