Lewis Black's Root of All Evil : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 49
  2. Negative: 23 out of 49

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. [Anonymous]
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    I give this show a ten only because it deserves better then the 5.3 it is currently rated. people on here either give it a 1 or a ten which is very accurate. I believe this show is a success. While some of the joke are old, they are funny. (unlike comedy centrals latest failure little bush) Lewis black is a great comedian, and this show was not a let down. Which is a good change being as I give this show a ten only because it deserves better then the 5.3 it is currently rated. people on here either give it a 1 or a ten which is very accurate. I believe this show is a success. While some of the joke are old, they are funny. (unlike comedy centrals latest failure little bush) Lewis black is a great comedian, and this show was not a let down. Which is a good change being as they haven't has a success since the Colbert report. overall i would give this show an 8. Expand
  2. RickT.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    This show is horrible. Great talent wasted on horrible and rehearsed jokes. They need to bring back Tough Crowd w/ Colin Quinn.
  3. RonnyR.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    This show is Love it or Hate it. I think it's funny
  4. Timma???
    Aug 16, 2009
    8
    No doubt Lewis Black's stand up genius is all but absent in this show, which is a true disappointed. And some of the episodes are flat out terrible. But there are also some hilarious ones. It often depends on the comedian advocates. Greg Giraldo or Patton Oswalt usually mean you can expect a good show. The performance certain others has been... lacking. As another reviewer touched No doubt Lewis Black's stand up genius is all but absent in this show, which is a true disappointed. And some of the episodes are flat out terrible. But there are also some hilarious ones. It often depends on the comedian advocates. Greg Giraldo or Patton Oswalt usually mean you can expect a good show. The performance certain others has been... lacking. As another reviewer touched on, check out the different episodes. You will get a sense very quickly as to whether or not it will be a good one. Expand
  5. AJN.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    This show is funny as hell, but if you are really sensitive to religious jokes or very rude humor you might not like it.
  6. NeeaghA
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Phuni.
  7. MsGreen
    Mar 24, 2008
    8
    I think the show is hilarious, yeah we've seem some of the material before. But what other programming is coming up with truly orignal ideas? I can't think of one.
  8. CodyW.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    What's with all the 3 or 10 votes!? I think this show is hilarious, and I don't get all the 3 votes. It combines3 funny and vulgar comedians debating on hilarious subject matter. I've watched about 3 or 4 episodes, and every one has been great.
  9. TheShade
    Apr 25, 2008
    7
    The material doesn't always work, but when it does it leaves me breathless with laughter. It's well worth checking out each new episode, though I strongly suspect that the whole conceit will wear thin before long, even if it has a decent size audience. Check it out while you can.
  10. BrianK.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    I thought the show was a riot and I'm looking forward to future shows.
  11. CrimsonwW.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    This show is funny!They make a point not scared to say the truth about crap.
  12. ArnieH.
    May 18, 2008
    10
    This show is hilarious---Black, and his two comic advocates put on a trial that is as witty, smart and fearless---thsi stuff goes into Bil Hicks territory and I can give no greater compliment.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    67
    The debaters make the most of this arbittary contretemps, but Black is a weak link. [14 Mar 2008, p.71]
  2. Black, a thinking-man's blowhard, carries the concept off with shameless aplomb, while his debating helpers are equal parts witty and wise.
  3. Depending on the subjects mocked and viewers' personal sacred cows, Root of All Evil won't appeal to everyone on a weekly basis (future episodes include Donald Trump vs. Viagra, Paris Hilton vs. Dick Cheney and Las Vegas vs. the human body), but it is a successful attempt to re-package stand-up comedy for prime time.