• Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 1, 2012
    80
    It's nicely crafted with a slower pace than the average police "procedural," but more than enough character intrigue to compensate.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jun 1, 2012
    80
    Longmire is the best of two worlds: a modern crime drama with dry wit and sometimes heart-wrenching emotion that's also got a glorious setting under the big sky of Wyoming.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 4, 2012
    75
    Longmire isn't a conventional show. The mystery tonight might be slight, but the pilot is a dusty little gem.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    If the show's isn't terribly ambitious to break new ground, it's a nice lull. [11 Jun 2012, p.42]
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Longmire, with spacious New Mexico standing in for Wyoming as the series' production base, makes a solid overall first impression without rising to the level of critical huzzahs.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 30, 2012
    75
    Unassuming Longmire doesn't shout "LOVE ME!" but instead works its charms subtly, quietly.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 5, 2012
    70
    As with any pilot, Longmire barely scratches the surface of the possible directions it could go but the premiere does an excellent job establishing a sense of place and character. It's enough to make a viewer want to return for more.
  8. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 4, 2012
    70
    Maybe a solid Western-ish offering like Longmire will be good enough.
  9. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    It's an old-fashioned sort of show, working unapologetically toward wisdom rather than cleverness, attempting to depict its setting as neither romantic nor dismal, the local color rising as much from silence as words.
  10. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    The pilot efficiently sets up the series. All the characters who are introduced have plenty of places they could go.
  11. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    Longmire is an entirely respectable alternative for anyone who'd rather not spend Monday morning rehashing the latest outrage on "Mad Men."
  12. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    It is satisfying in its own low-key way, a solid companion piece to the laid-back charms of The Glades
  13. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 31, 2012
    67
    I'd like to see the mysteries grow more engaging as the series moves along, but Longmire at least starts with a good foundation in Walt, his sidekicks, and the wide, open spaces they travel.
  14. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 1, 2012
    63
    The show is so slow-moving that you may find yourself fighting vainly the old ennui.
  15. Reviewed by: Maysa Hattab
    Jun 4, 2012
    60
    Despite its early dependence on Western and Gender War clich├ęs, Longmire shows potential.
  16. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 1, 2012
    40
    As it stands, to put it in Western terms, Longmire is all hat, and no cattle.
  17. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 30, 2012
    25
    Longmire has the look and feel of a show cooked up by a bunch of bored TV industry types while they were waiting for the valet to bring their car to them at the Beverly Hills Chuck E. Cheese.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Sure, Longmire is a procedural, but so what? I like procedurals, and clearly so do millions of other people (btw, CBS says thanks). But I don't like all procedurals, just ones that are interesting and well-done. And Longmire is shaping up to meet that criteria. I like that the sheriff kicks it old school and uses common sense and logic to figure things out. I don't need to see CSI-level forensics on every single cop drama I watch. I like that it is set in a rural western town, with rural western problems. I like that we have some unique and interesting characters and storylines. After just two episodes, it looks like Longmire is shaping up to become one of the shows I look forward to the most this summer. Give it a try. Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    Craig Johnson's wonderful novels and their rich characters form the basis for this great show! The way the details about the characters are uncovered in each episode - keeps me intrigued. There's something comforting about Walt Longmire - the stoicism of classic Old West lawmen as memorialized by Clint Eastwood & John Wayne - are embodied in a modern day crime solver who does things in the "old school" way. He doesn't have a squad of forensic experts to rely on, he pulls his own prints, he picks up litter when he sees it and he'll not stop until he finds justice. Some have complained about its slow pace, but to me that is precisely one of the most attractive elements of the show. It gives the viewer time to enjoy the scenery, analyze the characters & to contemplate the dilemmas and their repercussions.

    There's a diverse assortment of supporting cast surrounding Walt - including:

    The big city detective Vic (Katee Sackhoff) - not yet comfortable with the wild west of Wyoming, but she's quickly earned her kudos; The eager deputy - The Ferg (Adam Bartley) - who earnestly questions his own qualifications all the while working diligently to prove he has them;

    The overly ambitious Branch - who's literally gunning for Walt's job while criticizing his "old school" methods (which seem to be working just fine, thank you) and sleeping with his daughter;

    Walt's childhood friend Henry (Lou Diamond Phillips) - who as a Native American - helps Walt navigate the sometimes tense relations between Longmire & tribal police. Just to name a few! I am surprised how quickly I've become invested in the characters. I want to know more about Walt's past, his deceased wife, about Vic's tenuous marriage and his daughter's choices for a romantic relationship. I can't wait for each Sunday and the new episode it brings. I celebrated upon learning that Longmire was picked up for another season! I'm already so infatuated with the cast, I cannot imagine a Sunday without them in it.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    t's nicely crafted with a slower pace than the average police "procedural," but more than enough character intrigue to compensate. said David Hinkley. I absolutely agree. Good to see Katie Sackhoff again. I miss Battlestar Galactica Full Review »