Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Jean Bentley
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    It's not exactly groundbreaking TV, but it's fun, sexy and filled with "Degrassi" alums--easy to watch and incredibly addictive.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    With a witty script by series creator Michelle Lovretta, Lost Girl mixes mystery-of-the-week plots and character stories with an overarching mythology in a way that's palatable for fans of serialized and procedural dramas.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 13, 2012
    80
    What a light, yet satisfying treat this show turned out to be.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 2, 2012
    75
    Girl has a surprisingly casual sense of humor and Anna Silk is physically just right in the lead role. [13 Feb 2012, p.45]
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 17, 2012
    75
    The mythology is intriguing and so are the characters, who are as full of witty one-liners as their closets are bursting with black leather.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 17, 2012
    75
    Give Lost Girl a try. You might be seduced.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 13, 2012
    70
    It's a respectable addition to their genre menu, if not likely to become many people's fae-vorite.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Abernethy
    Jan 17, 2012
    60
    Structural laziness detracts from what's good about Lost Girl, its witty dialogue and evolving relationships among Bo and her new friends.
  9. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 3, 2012
    58
    Lines like ""Did you feel that? It was like the Fourth of July in my mouth." help to make Lost Girl see-worthy without taking it to the level of must-see.
  10. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2012
    50
    The action and whimsy help compensate for an overall flatness in the rest of the ensemble casting and low-budget production.
  11. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 13, 2012
    50
    It offers the minor pleasures of formulaic fantasy and weekly puzzle solving, though in a cheaper-looking and less original package than usual.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    7
    I got hooked on this show after watching the pilot of season 1. In addition to having an interesting ongoing plot throughout the season, each episode has its own supernatural mystery. A big strength of the first season is the supporting cast and their chemistry with the lead character Bo. The relationship between Bo and Dyson is very compelling, and I love the friendship between Bo and Kenzi (Bo's roommate and former con-artist). Kenzi's character is hilarious, and manages to bring out the best in every character. Season 2 was a disappointment as it lacked the awesome camaraderie between Bo, Dyson and Kenzi. I'm hoping that the 3rd season brings back some of the qualities that I loved in the first season. Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    1
    Disclaimer: I only watched the first episode. It was so bad that I was unable to watch any more.

    I gave this show a shot based on the
    Metacritic plot summary; seemed interesting enough. The show turned out to be what I'd term as "very TV" meaning that the directing, acting, writing, and design are all corny and far below the level of quality that you would expect from a movie.

    The costume and scenic design are both over the top and completely unbelievable. Not "unrealistic" in a clever way that makes any type of comment, but in an empty Hollywood way where every piece looks as though worked great as a standalone sketch on the drawing board. Somehow the elements don't come together as a whole.

    The worst travesties begin with the writing. The initial concept had something going for it; the execution was more or less unimaginative beyond that point. The dialogue is full of cheesy one-liners that lack any real wit, and it is all delivered by actors who are by all means..."acting." I'm not sure there was even a director present who did anything more than tell the editor when to cut camera.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    3
    Season 2 is finishing up here in Canada. I enjoyed the earlier episodes of season 1 -- though it becomes a bit boring and uninspired towards the end of season. The downward spiral continues in season 2, and I stopped watching after the first few episodes. The glowing eyes while someone's essence-cloud is sucked out gets old quick, unfortunately it's the most often used effect.

    My favorite is Lost Girl's sidekick, with comedic timing that rises above the material -- I expect she'll become a household name in years to come :-) A fun show early on, but the writers make it easy to give up on the show as it progresses to a 2nd season.
    Full Review »