Lost Girl : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 64
  2. Negative: 5 out of 64

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I cant stand the starting of the show, for the pilot it was ok, not for the second season anymore. And the cheesy one-liners just do not work, they should give it up already. I did like the 1 season a lot, but im getting more and more annoyed with the show. Yes, we know the wolf-boy doesn't want the succubus anymore. Everybody knows that, besides the succubus. I never felt so neutral about a main character before. She is supposed to ge so important, with prophecies and all that, but when she actually does something in the show, she always gets her ass kicked first, while acting like a bad ass. Also this dragged out lesbian thing going on with the blond doctor? Never though seeing two women kiss could be so boring. The main character never uses her powers for anything, besides calming people down, which has to be the cheapest of all the tricks a succubus can do. I would like to just keep watching the show without her in it. Love the sidekick and the dwarf/bar owner/blood king though. I hope they start focusing more on all the creatures and magic. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2015
    4
    What started out as a fun, humorous and oftentimes cool show with mythology and lore as gotten worse and worse to the point where you watch it thinking, "Why......" Just ... why?!

    The show has a budget of 500 dollars and throws lame jokes at you every second they can. The plots get less and less innovative each week until its nauseating. The First Season was pretty decent, and the
    What started out as a fun, humorous and oftentimes cool show with mythology and lore as gotten worse and worse to the point where you watch it thinking, "Why......" Just ... why?!

    The show has a budget of 500 dollars and throws lame jokes at you every second they can. The plots get less and less innovative each week until its nauseating. The First Season was pretty decent, and the second alright. But don't bother watching it after then.
    Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2014
    4
    I have made it all the way to season 3, but is still a bit of a struggle, I find myself losing interest or skipping through scene's and when I do, I can see I haven't missed much.
    It is very same same, dark fae, light fae, I don't really see the difference. I found the only episode to be any different was when Bo was in Prison for a short time, because it felt like they were doing
    I have made it all the way to season 3, but is still a bit of a struggle, I find myself losing interest or skipping through scene's and when I do, I can see I haven't missed much.
    It is very same same, dark fae, light fae, I don't really see the difference. I found the only episode to be any different was when Bo was in Prison for a short time, because it felt like they were doing something different as the series was progressing outside the bar and the shack, but within the same episode, it was back to fighting the dark fae, her back in her shack and me losing interest again.
    Dyson, a boring mundane character, Hale who really is a pointless character in the whole series with whistling skills (whoop) that he barely ever uses (because they are pointless) Trick who just is an encyclopedia of fae's and pulls the odd pint. Kenzi is the only one of the characters who makes the show a little more entertaining with her craic and obviously Bo, well she is the eye candy that makes it worth watching.
    The only good thing they did mange with this show is to get good looking characters...all besides Lauren, who basically is just a block of wood that does not excud any sexual attraction whatsoever who should be fae...the robot fae.
    I don't know how this managed to pull off 5 seasons, but hopefully it will get better, but so far, it's pretty stuck in its ways and has no imagination for a good plot.
    Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2015
    5
    The nickname for this show in my house is BOOBs with knives. If you want soft core cable porn with action scenes look no further. Past that its a great world and a great idea that suffers from mediocre writing and the requirement that all the main characters be so pretty they couldn't get ones that could act well. When I do watch this show I find myself enjoying the sidekicks far moreThe nickname for this show in my house is BOOBs with knives. If you want soft core cable porn with action scenes look no further. Past that its a great world and a great idea that suffers from mediocre writing and the requirement that all the main characters be so pretty they couldn't get ones that could act well. When I do watch this show I find myself enjoying the sidekicks far more then the main characters. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 2, 2012
    75
    Girl has a surprisingly casual sense of humor and Anna Silk is physically just right in the lead role. [13 Feb 2012, p.45]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    With a witty script by series creator Michelle Lovretta, Lost Girl mixes mystery-of-the-week plots and character stories with an overarching mythology in a way that's palatable for fans of serialized and procedural dramas.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2012
    50
    The action and whimsy help compensate for an overall flatness in the rest of the ensemble casting and low-budget production.