• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 29, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Louie Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dane Cook, Ricky Gervais, Joan Rivers, Jerry Seinfeld guest star in the third season of the Louie C.K. comedy series.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 18, 2012
    100
    These are almost closer to short stories than sitcom episodes--and yes, they're fantastic. [23 Jul 2012, p.38]
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 27, 2012
    100
    FX sent the first five half-hours for review, and they're all gems.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 25, 2012
    100
    C.K. is writing, directing, and starring up a storm here, and his usual opening-segment stand-up routine, involving nearsightedness, is funnier than most sitcoms are in an entire season.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 28, 2012
    100
    Louie viewers don't know exactly what they're getting in any given week, but the show is so elastic that nothing it tries feels like something it shouldn't.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 27, 2012
    90
    At the outset, this show aimed for hilarity and hit the mark, consistently and cathartically, while also trafficking in provocative sidewalk philosophy, achieving moral seriousness amid masturbation jokes.
  6. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 28, 2012
    88
    There's quite a bit going on underneath the show's deceptively raw, on-the-fly simplicity. It's also often a hilarious, exhilaratingly dangerous mixture of the broad, macabre, and political.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 26, 2012
    80
    The series remains smart and thought-provoking but it's also quite funny.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Who could have thought a comedy could provide this massive an insight into the human psyche. You can't get comfortable with this show because you never know what to expect. Hope he never sells out because he's on fire right now. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Louie is a phenomenal show. It's hilarious and just so witty. I think he has some of the funniest jokes I've heard been told in a while. Louie is one of the funniest and overall great shows I've seen in a while. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Louie continues to be, along with Breaking Bad, the best show on television. Season 3 has been fantastic so far and I bet it\'s just the beginning. If you're not watching it yet, well... Go. Do it. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Louis C.K. somehow, some way keeps getting better. Season 3 of Louie is my favorite of the seasons and I loved the first two. What I think like most about Louis C.K.'s humor is that the jokes aren't a hold your hand, laugh track, rim shot, 1-2 punchline types. He's not above raunchy, offensive, toilet humor but it's some how sophisticated with its fearless look at the truly terrible realities of existence. The show is basically one long metaphorical kick in Louie's balls, but with the subtlety and honesty that raises it above lesser comedies.
    I laugh from a position of superiority to Louie's angsty, suffering character and from continual surprise that horrible things can happen to Louie and when we'd normally expect a happy or lucky turn to finally come about, he gets knocked down again. I feel sick and twisted, but somehow he's got me laughing at death and misery many would weep at. Somehow it's thought provoking, deep, dark, and I was crying from laughing so hard. If you're the kind of person that says "Awwwww" multiple times a day while looking at cat pictures or because you can't help empathizing, even with fictional characters, this may be too much for you. It can be rude, offensive to liberal sensibilities, un-PC, and unapologetic, but if you keep your mind as truly open as the easily offended often claim to be, this show will make you a better and happier person.
    Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    First episode started with a bang (not literally) but I enjoyed every minute of it. Loved the parking sign! Louie does an amazing job acting and turning his comedy into a story that someone can follow. As each enw season comes along, it doesn't get worse, it stays the same, which is very good. Great show, watch it! Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    Although at first glance, Louie seems like a low-key comedy about a comedian's normal life, the show is consistently funny and often ridiculously hilarious. Normal daily situations are made comedic by just the most subtle of turns. The show is semi-relatable in the fashion, "this has never happened to me before, but I could totally see it happening." Also, the stand-up portions are superb - Louis C.K. is currently one of the best comedians out there. Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2012
    5
    I loved seasons 1& 2 and was looking forward to season 3. Although still watchable , it is no where near as funny as the previous seasons,instead Louie has become a little too dramatic.If only he stuck to being funny. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  3. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  4. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  5. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  6. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  7. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  8. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  9. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.