• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 29, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Louie Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After 19 months, the Emmy-winning comedy returns with a 14 episode season.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 30, 2014
    100
    Even if the radiant humor occasionally tends a bit toward the local, as in the brilliant season opening involving members of the DSNY, the point of view is so effortlessly relatable in its humble assertions.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    May 7, 2014
    100
    Its main purpose is to confront the taboo, and whether that means exploring just how far Louie will go into the "experimental" side of masturbation in the season premiere or simply digging into his ugliest prejudices about overweight women, the show can be revelatory.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    May 1, 2014
    100
    A show that ceased to be something easily identifiable and thus easily understood the very first minute it was on.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    May 5, 2014
    100
    This is a long way from a half-hour sitcom about a dysthymic guy comedian and his everyday nuisances. It’s good to see that Louie intends to keep pressing our limits.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Molloy
    May 5, 2014
    100
    Louie is television's best half-hour drama. It's also one of the best comedies, when it still wants to be, which isn't all that often.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 1, 2014
    83
    The first four episodes of Season 4 are a little weak downstairs while still remaining at or near the top of the TV comedy class.
  7. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    May 1, 2014
    75
    The fourth season’s new episodes feel as fresh--and misanthropic--as ever.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    Never watched Louie before. I was flipping through channels last night and caught this episode at the start. It was weird and really awkward but I was strangely intrigued by it. As the episode went on it got stranger and more bizarre. By the end of this episode, everything was getting out of hand and Louie is left with an ultimatum that seems to set up a really interesting plot for the rest of the season. Expand
  2. May 12, 2014
    10
    Louie is abostuley amazing listen its funny depressing and so original. Louie might be at emmy time because its so good. Watch THIS DAMN SHOW. Thanks Louie Expand
  3. May 10, 2014
    10
    Incredible, as usual, the depth and the comedy are beautifully dark and equally funny, so depressing and uplifting at the same time, it has now become my favourite show. Expand
  4. May 10, 2014
    9
    What's so amazing about Louis and this TV show is that he obliterates any possible expectations that you may have for the half hour. Sure, you were going to get the short standup bit, but beyond that he really takes you on a roller coaster ride that defies pattern or expectation. An added bonus is the fact that I love his comedian friends, including Sarah Silverman and Jim Norton. Expand
  5. May 7, 2014
    9
    Two episodes into the season and the series has clearly not lost a thing. Tasteless at times, touching at others, this is a series unlike others on TV. The depressing louie, and the depressing ambiance he creates and is enbroiled in due to his own doing is an unique dynamic that forces me ot watch again and again. Oh yeah, i didnt even mention the comedic nature of the show.......... Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2014
    7
    While more real and profund than the previous seasons i think this season lacks a lot of the humor of especially the third season, which is my favorite so far. Still a good season but just not as funny. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2014
    0
    Based upon what I've read here, I watched a few episodes of Louie.

    I view it as time in my life that i will never get back.

    I understand
    that humor can be personal. But this show bored the hell out of me. I had to force myself to watch multiple episodes.

    It Is Not Funny. There Is No Insight In This Show.

    So I sit here and wonder, why do people like this show?????? I mean, really... what is up with this show?
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  3. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  4. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  5. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  6. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  7. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  8. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  9. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.