• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 13, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 9, 2013
    80
    This HBO special, it must be noted up front, is not for all ages. Like the other best comedians, though, Louis never seems to tack on the graphic subject matter and language simply for shock. His nongraphic bits are also just as funny, like his riff on divorce and parenting.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 12, 2013
    100
    Louis C.K. shoots from the lip and keeps scoring. The beauty is the seeming ease with which he does this. And the knowledge of how hard it really is.
  3. 90
    Oh My God is animated by deep skepticism and an appreciation of joy, qualities that don’t normally mix in comedy and that might seem, in a different context, incompatible. But they aren’t incompatible--not here, anyway.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Apr 12, 2013
    90
    Oh My God, taped in February, is a crackerjack show, a polished, manifestly professional performance that couldn’t be more different in tone from “Louie.”
  5. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Apr 9, 2013
    91
    It is possible to argue that, although Louis C.K. has created a work of genius with the FX show Louie, what he's really good at is stand-up. Oh My God offers further evidence for the thesis.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    After seeing this I realized that there had not been a stand up that made me laugh so much in a very long time.
    I had not seen Louis C.K.
    before and I definitely intend to find more of his work.
    Crude facts about life presented in a manner that simply makes it impossible to not laugh.
    A must see.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    Best standup I have seen in a very long time. Louis C.K. says whats on his mind and we all know we keep some dark in our heads! His water fountain sculpture joke had me laughing for the rest of the evening. I really wish HBO would do more comedy specials. Full Review »
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    CK is a the top of his stand up game right now. Coming off the TV show a season, he is in demand and his comedy has really evolved. Subject matter varies (sometimes wildly without much warning) which makes the show even better. Sure, some instances are offensive but his delivery is the reason why fans like him. Definatly a case of: if you like him...you REALLY like him. And if you don't like him you HATE him. Full Review »