• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Lucky 7 Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A group of employees of a gas station in Queens share a $45 million lottery jackpot--which impacts their lives in varying ways--in an ensemble drama that's loosely based on the British series The Syndicate.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 23, 2013
    75
    For now, Lucky 7 is a grabber with strong potential for further viewer investment.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    There’s also plenty of good writing and acting in the drama Lucky 7, though to exactly what purpose is difficult to say.
  3. Reviewed by: Cody Ray Shafer
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    The concept is predictable, but not tired. The cast is relatable, and the dilemmas are thought-provoking without being heavy-handed.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    I found the characters forgettable, and the pilot as a whole--which mostly focuses on the characters' depressing, overwhelmed everyday lives pre-jackpot, along with flashforwards suggesting what a pain the money will turn out to be--weirdly stressful.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    40
    Lucky 7 is a soap opera, and it’s not a very well-crafted one.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 23, 2013
    40
    An annoyingly manipulative drama.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 24, 2013
    20
    Suffice it to say that I predict Lucky 7 will be the season's first cancellation.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    I was looking forward to getting to know the characters and finding out how the money messed with them. I thought there was a lot of potential and expected it to take a while to really get going, since there were so many characters to develop. Oh, well, guess we'll never know. Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    Looks like Lucky 7 ain't so lucky after all. I heard about it today and man, does this show sucked or what. Lucky 7 is the first new fall show to get the boot after low ratings came tumbling down with just 2 episodes and it seems like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D might be the only ones who crushed Tuesday with a mighty cast and a soon-to-be renewal that ABC didn't even noticed. I certainly don't get it on Lucky 7. The script is laggy, the cast is sorta frustrating, and even though I thought it was going to air on Sunday nights. Unfortunately, it's a big letdown. R.I.P. Lucky 7 (2013-well... 2013). Collapse