Lucky Louie : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 11, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 155

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. edb
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    I'm 76 years old (wife 66). We can't remember laughing as hard since the 3 stooges and Abbot and Costello. Was hoping to find out that it is going to be renewed only to be disappointed. Next they'll get rid of Maher and Entourage and we can get rid of the HBO extra subscription cost.
  2. MichelleS
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    It's Not even a show for "grownups" This humor is appealing to many teenagers and young adults. It's a show that I (at 20 years old) Watch with my boyfriend and find amazing! (Please bring it back HBO!!!)
  3. DanR
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    The show just has that raw dark humor laughing at a guy who life seems to be getting worse everyday. If you follow the series you will see that it show the qorkyness that is human flaws in life.. sort of like a Curb Y en. Its just doesn't seem to hold anything back. I laugh because it doesn't feel real, and it feels like you are watching a play or something.
  4. BobR
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    Not a show you can sit and watch with your wife and daughter, but if your watching with the boys, you'll be rolling with laughter.
  5. JohnG
    Jun 18, 2006
    0
    Absolutely nothing redeeming in this smut.
  6. JasonT
    Aug 20, 2006
    5
    Come on. Good acting? You have to be a real idiot (and I say that truthfully) to think this has good acting. And to the guy who thinks this show is BETTER than curb your enthusiasm? You must be some kind of child. Otherwise, you should be thrown in an asylum. This show can be funny, but it has bad acting, disgusting subjects (that just are not funny at all) and the stories can be too Come on. Good acting? You have to be a real idiot (and I say that truthfully) to think this has good acting. And to the guy who thinks this show is BETTER than curb your enthusiasm? You must be some kind of child. Otherwise, you should be thrown in an asylum. This show can be funny, but it has bad acting, disgusting subjects (that just are not funny at all) and the stories can be too stupid and unrealistic. I'm sorry, but this is far away from being the best tv comedy. If you disagree with me, I would highly consider that you stop smoking crack. Expand
  7. KellieF
    Sep 27, 2006
    0
    This is the worse show on television. Some may argue that statement, but with the wealth of talent that is Louis CK, and to watch it get squandered in this drivel is depressing. I went to this show with mediocre expectations - the single-camera-no-laugh-track comedy is "in style" now because it's good, and it's fantastic when done right. I love the good old raunchy comedy and This is the worse show on television. Some may argue that statement, but with the wealth of talent that is Louis CK, and to watch it get squandered in this drivel is depressing. I went to this show with mediocre expectations - the single-camera-no-laugh-track comedy is "in style" now because it's good, and it's fantastic when done right. I love the good old raunchy comedy and Louis CK's standup is nearly the best out there, but this show sucks all the funny out of any of this situation-comedy. Collapse
  8. JayS
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    This show is freaking hilarious!! It
  9. Sweets
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    After a slow start it has been gaining all 12 cylinders and becoming what HBO intended, a show so different from the typical HBO fare that people are either horrified and appalled or are rolling in their seats Sunday after Sunday, Jim Norton is hitting his stride and the show in general is getting better and better, having the guts to show man junk out of the blue..well all I can say is After a slow start it has been gaining all 12 cylinders and becoming what HBO intended, a show so different from the typical HBO fare that people are either horrified and appalled or are rolling in their seats Sunday after Sunday, Jim Norton is hitting his stride and the show in general is getting better and better, having the guts to show man junk out of the blue..well all I can say is Lucky Louie party rock, donkey sausage, donkey sausage, donkey sausage....Lets hope HBO keeps this is around just to upset the middle America!! Expand
  10. rajeshs
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    awesome
  11. SteveD
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    picked up a promo copy and thought it was great. cant wait for more episodes... heard from people who went to the tapings they get even better! everyone should definitely check it out... VERY funny
  12. jamesl
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Great Show. Had me laughing out loud (literally, ahhahah, eh). Great to see HBO putting out a show like this.
  13. RamoneB
    Jun 14, 2006
    9
    I thought it was great. Interactions with Walter were very funny, as were Louie's friends (esp. lil' Jimmy). "Difference between a black man and a refrigerator" line had me cracking up, hoo hoo!
  14. stevex
    Jun 10, 2006
    5
    It's average. Norton rules though.
  15. BobS
    Jun 15, 2006
    7
    Good news: Hilarious, gritty, pulls no punches, this is what you get premium programming for - to get away from the whitewashed, anemic garbage on network TV. I was unsure whether to stay with it until I saw Jim Norton...then I was hooked. Bad news: the scene where she's bent over and pleading "well, tap it then." What is she, a dog? Also: Looks like it was shot with a bare-bones Good news: Hilarious, gritty, pulls no punches, this is what you get premium programming for - to get away from the whitewashed, anemic garbage on network TV. I was unsure whether to stay with it until I saw Jim Norton...then I was hooked. Bad news: the scene where she's bent over and pleading "well, tap it then." What is she, a dog? Also: Looks like it was shot with a bare-bones budget at a college TV studio. Puts the show in stark contrast to the high production values you see on all other HBO series. Suggestion: Funnel large amounts of money into the show's production budget. Expand
  16. S.L.O'Robot
    Jun 19, 2006
    4
    Very, very disappointing, chiefly because I find Louis C.K.'s stand-up work to be some of the best currently available. There were a few funny moments, but damned few. I appreciate "grit" and irreverence as much as the next guy, but this seems forced and, often, awkward. "Lucky Louie" is almost as bad as C.K.'s other effort, "Pootie Tang."
  17. TucioR
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    Something fresh & different. Great comedy.
  18. pketterman
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    I love Louis!
  19. BRANDIK
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    ilove this show it is the funny est show and u can relate to all the shows so far .i pray your show never gets cut off ! or i will be one bitchy fan .
  20. VomitbagMcVomitradio
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    The show should be called 'Lucky Jimmy' because the breakout star is Jim Norton of the Opie and Anthony Po'gram! His one small scene as weed dealer Rich was the standout performance. I should add that the rest of the cast (who's names I forgot) were excellent also! I look forward to many seasons on HBO!!!!
  21. MyBySigh
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Saw a preview copy - hilarious
  22. Maggie
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    It is so funny and also shows people's real life. I love this show.
  23. jeffh
    Jul 3, 2006
    5
    I had high hopes for this show because I have always liked Louis CK's standup. However, this show has been mediocre at best. I honestly don't understand why it's soooo focused on really foul material. The foul stuff would have so much more impact if they used it sparingly--not all the time. I was dismayed to see that Louis CK wasn't even listed as a writer on the 2nd I had high hopes for this show because I have always liked Louis CK's standup. However, this show has been mediocre at best. I honestly don't understand why it's soooo focused on really foul material. The foul stuff would have so much more impact if they used it sparingly--not all the time. I was dismayed to see that Louis CK wasn't even listed as a writer on the 2nd episode. His talent is writing--not acting. Unfortunately, this show is less interesting that (for example) the latest season of South Park. Why would I devote 30 minutes of my life to a show that just isn't as good as something that's been around for many years? Louis CK should focus on standup. HBO should remember that they bankrolled a show put together by the mind behind PootyTang. Expand
  24. djpacinoello
    Jul 7, 2006
    8
    The laffs are real not laff trac and that in itself is a refreshing change from all other garbage, laff trac induced sit coms.
  25. NickL
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    I imagine the writers of "Curb Your Enthusiasm," the best comedy in TV history until now, watching this with applause and slack-jawed amazement. Perfectly cast, briskly paced, each week an hilarious new theme. Episode #9 featuring Tina's disrespectful teenager did it for me. Bring on the DVD, I need to share this memorable gem with clueless friends.
  26. EvanH
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    Bring back the best sitcom I've seen in ten years.
  27. JackC
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    Please bring this show back, I'll cancel my HBO without it!
  28. JS
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Lucky Louie is a great sitcom. Its a refreshing look at life in a more run of the mill way. NO big elaborate sets and no plots of crap that would never happen to the average person. I generally do not watch any show on a regular basis but Lucky Louie keeps me wanting to tune in week to week. I hope there will be a season 2! Keep up the good work Lucky Louie cast.
  29. D
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    yea none of you know what your talking about . Eon you can go blow a fat one... along with anybody else who doesnt like lucky louie...oh yea so can HBO and all the corporate KHOHK suckers that work there....because hbo cancelled it hbo is now the worst tv network that exists so i give LL a 10 and HBO a nice F-you
  30. andyd
    Feb 2, 2007
    6
    Extremely funny standup guy who doesn't seem to translate into sitcom laughs. Once you get beyond the cursing that adds to the comedy, the show lacks any real substance.
  31. camham
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    I can't believe this didn't get a second season. its hilarious. not like the average corperate turned cheesy crap on regular TV
  32. LanceB
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Funniest sitcom ever
  33. amyc
    May 13, 2007
    9
    my husband and I watched it for the first time on5/7/07 we thinks its the best went out looking for dvd's
  34. Eon
    Nov 1, 2006
    7
    The acting in this show sucks, so does the writing kinda often. But.. most of the time it's still very funny. And I just can't dislike something that makes me laugh.
  35. StephenG
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    Great Cast...a keeper!
  36. ChristinaV
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    This show is hilarious on so many levels. I think the people who are criticizing it are just uptight A-holes who clearly have no sense of humor. I think the actors/actresses are fantastic. If you don't like this show I dont like you. Seriously. Can't believe HBO cancelled it. Well I cancelled my HBO now so there ya go. It was the best sitcom I've ever seen because it's This show is hilarious on so many levels. I think the people who are criticizing it are just uptight A-holes who clearly have no sense of humor. I think the actors/actresses are fantastic. If you don't like this show I dont like you. Seriously. Can't believe HBO cancelled it. Well I cancelled my HBO now so there ya go. It was the best sitcom I've ever seen because it's not stupid and unbelievable; its real life, real misery, and somehow it makes me laugh until I piss myself. Expand
  37. ChadM
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    The most hilarous sitcom ever! This is what ever sitcom wished it could do but couldnt without cable!
  38. JamesM
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    This show was on course to be the new married with children...The reason it was cancelled is because of the lack of vision of the HBO Suits. BRING IT BACK!!!!!!
  39. JeromeB
    Jun 12, 2006
    1
    A total bore. Nothing to see here.
  40. JimK
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    I think I know all those people
  41. TysonS
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    I wasn't at all disappointed in the series debut. The sitcom format has been in the toilet for so long, there's no telling if this will fly or not. But it's very refreshing to see something a bit more realistic, especially when it comes to the appearance of the set. They live in a dump. It looks almost depressing...but that's real. They're not living in some I wasn't at all disappointed in the series debut. The sitcom format has been in the toilet for so long, there's no telling if this will fly or not. But it's very refreshing to see something a bit more realistic, especially when it comes to the appearance of the set. They live in a dump. It looks almost depressing...but that's real. They're not living in some snooty Manhattan apartment with his crappy salary, like most sitcoms would have placed them in. Louis CK is a funny guy...this thing will do well. I hope this is only one of many episodes I'll see. Expand
  42. JD
    Jun 14, 2006
    9
    This show starts out like a generic sitcom but seems to blossom into funniness. Sort of reminded me of "Everybody Loves Raymond" except for all the funny parts. While the plot seemd a little frail, this show is another indication of the more in-your-face realistic comedy toward which people are gravitating. Louis C. K.'s been appreciated for a while it would be good to see him get This show starts out like a generic sitcom but seems to blossom into funniness. Sort of reminded me of "Everybody Loves Raymond" except for all the funny parts. While the plot seemd a little frail, this show is another indication of the more in-your-face realistic comedy toward which people are gravitating. Louis C. K.'s been appreciated for a while it would be good to see him get some real exposure. Expand
  43. FrankieW
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    Nothing funny here - an attempt at 60s racial humor, a kid that can barely remember her one repeated line (glancing off camera), and a laugh track that must consist of an audience of 12 year old guys.
  44. KenG
    Jun 14, 2006
    3
    Despite the use of a few choice words in the dialogue, to let us know we are watching HBO, this comes off as a bland, laugh-free 3rd-rate sitcom. Even when it deal with such juicy and taboo subjects like masterbation, it did it in a bland way. Hard to believe this unorginal and uninspired show comes from HBO, but maybe it will get better over time.
  45. StinkyMcGee
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    funny!
  46. JulesL
    Jun 18, 2006
    1
    Trash. The set is unbelievably ugly.
  47. SteveG
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    This is the best show I've ever seen. I laughed out loud straight through. This is the future of television.
  48. [Anonymous]
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    Great funny show. Its a must see.
  49. ChrisC
    Jun 20, 2006
    3
    Any other sitcom, except with X rated jokes and terrible acting.
  50. JesseR
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    I love this twisted comedy sitcom. Louie is great as a blue collar worker and Jim Norton is a creep as Rich, who could ask for more. Of course there is going to be some negative feedback from those that cant handle the dark humor. Oh and RAMONE GET USA TODAY A ROBE AND SOME BROTH.
  51. RONNIED
    Jun 26, 2006
    8
    Funny! At times...Did you know the lead actress is the same lady that plays Bobby Hill's voice on King of the Hill? The background characters are the funniest ones. Sometimes has that "Three's Company" feel to it...
  52. HaukG
    Jun 28, 2006
    0
    Unwatchable. A festival of mediocrity. If this show succeeds, the next step for HBO should be to produce a half-hour still-camera shot of a steaming pile of dog crap, just to see if people will watch it.
  53. StacyH
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I think that this is one of the better shows to come along. I have not seen Louis CK before, I happened upon the show while scrolling through HBO on demand. After watching the first episode, I called some friends and asked them if they had seen it, the response was Lucky What? So I watched another episode and can't stop watching it and I have gotten my friends to join in. It makes I think that this is one of the better shows to come along. I have not seen Louis CK before, I happened upon the show while scrolling through HBO on demand. After watching the first episode, I called some friends and asked them if they had seen it, the response was Lucky What? So I watched another episode and can't stop watching it and I have gotten my friends to join in. It makes you laugh out loud and each character is unique, funny and stupid in their own way. Expand
  54. tristanv
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    great show very funny
  55. BrandonS
    Jul 16, 2006
    0
    The first rule of any comedy: Be funny. This show is not funny. Lucky Louie would only be worth watching if Joel Hodgson and 2 robots were at the bottom of the screen cracking jokes about awful it is.
  56. KenS
    Jul 27, 2006
    9
    This show is an adventure because I beleive they are treading on new ground. I find it very funny at times and a little sophomoric at other times. I am yet to be offended by any of the show's plots or language. Louis C.K. is one of the funniest guys alive and his performance with Pamela Adlon is worth watching...however the other characters may be the weak link. Laura Kightlinger is This show is an adventure because I beleive they are treading on new ground. I find it very funny at times and a little sophomoric at other times. I am yet to be offended by any of the show's plots or language. Louis C.K. is one of the funniest guys alive and his performance with Pamela Adlon is worth watching...however the other characters may be the weak link. Laura Kightlinger is a very funny comedian but her funniness doesn't seem to translate as well to this format. Her husband (can't recall his name) is watchable, but not a strong enough character to contribute as much as he has been asked to in the early going.Jim Norton is the one exception and consistently delivers the goods. I will continue to watch this show because it is different.....thank Louis CK for that and HBO for giving him a shot!! Expand
  57. JimN
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    I love this show because I am fantageous on it. I deserve an emmy, although technically I am just playing myself. I am a silly goose and Louie is a hoot. And the guy who called it smut can go jump in a lake.
  58. JG
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    Hands down the funniest damn thing I've seen on television in years. I cannot remember the last time I watched a sticom (or any television) and had that sort of out-of-breath-grabbing-at-the-pillows-on-the-couch laughter. I have no clue what the "real" TV critics are thinking. This show takes every working-class family sit-com cliche and turns it into something that is even more real Hands down the funniest damn thing I've seen on television in years. I cannot remember the last time I watched a sticom (or any television) and had that sort of out-of-breath-grabbing-at-the-pillows-on-the-couch laughter. I have no clue what the "real" TV critics are thinking. This show takes every working-class family sit-com cliche and turns it into something that is even more real by exaggerating it to a ridiculous degree, even the requisite "we still love each other and will get through this together" endings pay off. Not an easy thing to do on a show like this. As for the cast, all are amazing. Pamela Adlon pretty much steals the show, its about time that someone put her on an actual tv show...she is also known as Pamela Segall (guessing its her maiden name?) She's the voice of Bobby Hill on King of the Hill and does voices on animated series that are too much to mention. If you have kids and are subjected to a lot of animated DVDs and Satruday morning shows...close your eyes while watching her and you'll say "Oh yeah, she's the voice of...." Anyway, it seems like Adlon has been waiting for a show like this becuase she is shot of a f--king cannon on this show, her timing, her character, her presence in every scene is remarkable. I have not seen somoene this funny in a long time. Another inspired choice is Rick Shaprio. While living in NYC in the 90s, I used to see Shaprio's completely bizarre standup act where he'd bascially get on stage for hours at a time and just talk, he'd just say whatever came into his head, much like his character on the sho It is great that Louis C.K. found a context/format for Shaprio to do this thing where it adds something to a larger story and still be hilarious. Everyone else is great too, the neighbors, Louie's boss, the pot dealer next door. Louis C.K. is a major talent, the cast is incredible and the writing is phemomenal.. Hopefully, the reviews from the "real critics" won't deter people from watching and they'll just tune in themselves. I don't know anyone who hasnt been completely floored by it. Expand
  59. ToddW
    Jul 6, 2006
    0
    This show is awful! How anyone could compare this to the Honeymooners is beyond me! It's just vile and makes me want to vomit! I'm considering cancelling HBO!
  60. TanvirR
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    This show just seems so real. I believe in it, which is something I can't say about any sitcom I've watched in, like, 10 years. It can still be better, which is why I gave it an 8.
  61. MikeJ.
    Aug 1, 2006
    0
    Dreadful. Utterly dreadful -- acting, story, the whole thing is horrendously bad. Real people talk like that? Cursing as part of a joke or retort can be very funny. But, in this show, it is just sprewed like profane vomit -- serves no purpose and, most importantly, it's not funny.
  62. JeradH
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    I love sunday nights again! Lovin it
  63. DelmarS
    Aug 16, 2006
    5
    Good News: A great cast all the way around. Bad News: The writing mostly sucks, probably because there are too many people with pens in the soup. Even on the funniest episodes, the "adult" humor - which, let's face it, is really "adolescent" humor - is forced and awkward. This show *could* be a winner if the writers would just stop trying so hard to shock the audience at every turn, Good News: A great cast all the way around. Bad News: The writing mostly sucks, probably because there are too many people with pens in the soup. Even on the funniest episodes, the "adult" humor - which, let's face it, is really "adolescent" humor - is forced and awkward. This show *could* be a winner if the writers would just stop trying so hard to shock the audience at every turn, and abandon their burning desire to be visceral. It's getting in the way of being FUNNY. Expand
  64. BillKC
    Aug 25, 2006
    7
    It's really not that great but for some reason it's one of the funniest shows I've seen in years. I don't know why. Everything is mediocre here.
  65. reagand
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    don't listen to the critics...... the show is hilarious.....start watching now!
  66. RayT
    Aug 4, 2006
    2
    Sorry, but this is not funny. I gave it four episodes and just never got into it. The acting is bad and the vulgarity is over the top just to be vulgar not to be funny. I may watch just because it is on before Entourage, which is great
  67. DevonH
    Aug 8, 2006
    4
    This show is clearly geared towards half-witted teens, much like its forebear, Married With Children. Not much to like here.
  68. teacherThreeTen
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    this show is addictive .... The jokes are subtle and sometimes edgy ... the visual comedy is hilarious and the interaction between Louie and his neighbors make it look like the New Age Honeymooners .... I say go for it! And the supporting actors make it "real"
  69. StephanieP
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    Hilarious!
  70. TonyC
    Sep 16, 2006
    2
    Good idea, bad execution. The second worse HBO show, K-Street was their worst. I love Jim Norton, but I hated this show and hated seeing him in such a substandard program. Louie should be mouth raped by a Dominican then have his face smashed in from a cinder block for putting Jimmy Norton in such an awful light. Ramone, please get me a sitcom that doesn't blow.
  71. WilliamL
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Finally a show for grownups that isn't talking down at you. Just pure laughs, from some very raunchy situations. It is a pleasent change from being talked down to by many comedians who want to tell you how to think or what is right and wrong. More laughs in two minutes than there were in Lewis Black's whole last special.
  72. joeyk
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    This show will be a classic!
  73. DunbarD
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    I am a comedy writer and improviser in chicago, and this is one the best show on TV. Great writing, great show. Please help keep it on the air.
  74. JayL
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    One of the best, most creative shows in a long time!
  75. stevenu
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    I really enjoyed this show and looked forward to watching it every week
  76. RobE
    Sep 28, 2006
    9
    I love the show! Roll off the chair laughing every show. Also, it's so refreshing to have a sit com where the people talk like I do!
  77. freds
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    I laughed out loud for the first time in years. I love it, but found myself surprised and shocked several times. I love the look and the feel of the show. Louis is hard to like, but everyone else is great.
  78. C.B.
    Jun 12, 2006
    9
    The only thing that makes it odd, is that there are no commercials. I think it's fantastic.
  79. ConnerG
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    I thought that the show was refreshing, and it was fun to hear the cast in conversations, speaking like people do in real life. A cast of misfits that are as one, a cohesive unit. Congrats to Louie CK & Little Jimmy...Oh...Happy Birthday Jimmy!
  80. KevinH
    Jun 12, 2006
    8
    It didn't blow me away in the first episode, but there were many really funny moments. The opening "Why" scene...the masturbation closet...the comment about his wife's privates being some kinda financial pit of despair (or however it was said)...and the two scenes with the black and white Barbie dolls. It shows such potential that it will probably follow through on, given the It didn't blow me away in the first episode, but there were many really funny moments. The opening "Why" scene...the masturbation closet...the comment about his wife's privates being some kinda financial pit of despair (or however it was said)...and the two scenes with the black and white Barbie dolls. It shows such potential that it will probably follow through on, given the people involved. Expand
  81. DudeR
    Jun 12, 2006
    0
    Annoying and unfunny, please let it be for only 1 season so HBO can move on to better shows.
  82. CurtisB
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    I loved the show. I found myself laughing out loud on a number of occasions.
  83. F.Bimmel
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    I have to say this is one funny show. I mean WOW. I just hope that lil Jimmy Nordin survives his battle with AIDS long enough to keep this series going. He carries this show and thats hard to do for a man whos arms don't move on screen.
  84. eleanorw
    Jun 18, 2006
    1
    Terrible, no wit or orgininality. There is only so far you can take one "dirty" joke. Studio laughter too loud, although I have no idea what they were laughing at. A poor following for the fabulous "Entourage."
  85. PatriceF
    Jun 19, 2006
    9
    Very funny show. I look forward to more episodes to see if they can do it over long haul!
  86. a.scott
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    Lucky Louie is making up for 50 years of neutered marital banter. "The Honeymooners" alone owe us 200 sessions of make-up sex. Louis C.K cuts through the balony and strips the marriage bare, as well as himself. Literally. The full monty. Tool Time for real. Well-done.
  87. PatrickH
    Jun 19, 2006
    8
    Glad to see a sitcom where people talk normal, hope it stays on the air so it can flesh out and become great.
  88. rajeshs
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    awesome
  89. CherylN
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Awesome show! It's about time something unique came along.
  90. TommyF
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    This show is off the rocker FUNNY!!! Old school fruits who call themselves critics would NOT understand good comedy if it bit them in the ASS!!! Thank god we can watch something that has LIFE in it for once. I hope it lasts!!!!
  91. JasonM
    Jul 16, 2006
    0
    Not even deserving of a zero. Undoubtably the worst show ever to be on television. The acting and writing are absolutely atrocious, and continues to be a disrace to a previously great vulgar network
  92. ginam
    Jul 31, 2006
    6
    First four were good, and the quality dropped from there. Episode 8, I didn't laugh once. I think they'd have something decent if they cut out a few side characters, especially Jim Norton, who's the least convincing stoner I've ever met. The manic tall guy is funny as hell, though.
  93. BrianS
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    The first few episodes weren't the best, but it's really become a great show. Love the characters, the writing, and especially the gigantic balls this show has. Keep it up, and give us season 2!!!
  94. AngeloE
    Aug 23, 2006
    0
    This show doesn't make me laugh at all -- First of all it stereo types poor white people as "White Trash" -- I mean it shows this couple who is dragging their daughter up in the slums with NO morals or direction whatsoever. Louie's "buzz cut" friend deals drugs to kids in the animated opening monologue -- "Yeah thats funny" -- The "poor" thing is totally stupid because they both This show doesn't make me laugh at all -- First of all it stereo types poor white people as "White Trash" -- I mean it shows this couple who is dragging their daughter up in the slums with NO morals or direction whatsoever. Louie's "buzz cut" friend deals drugs to kids in the animated opening monologue -- "Yeah thats funny" -- The "poor" thing is totally stupid because they both work - Kim being a Nurse -- I mean their apartment is disgusting , they don't even own a T.V. -- It also showcases that there are alot of black folks out there with much more SENSE than whites -- Which is the only good point. White people who seem to think that they are superior should watch this show. The black couple have it ALL OVER Louie & Kim- The folks on this page who gave this a 10 are simply juvenile and immature because if for one moment - You would like to be like Louie & Kim than you have SUPER Low expectations of yourself. -- All this show is - Is a parody of Cursing , Filth & Disfunction at its finest. If any of you think that is funny , well then something's wrong with you. Laughing at people who are portrayed to be MUCH LESS fortunate than you is just sad......HBO -- Cancel this GARBAGE already & Put something worthwhile back on Sunday nights.... Expand
  95. BillH
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    it is fuckin hilarious
  96. LarryL
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    Real life adult programing,
  97. MelodyH.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    This was one of the best shows on HBO. I think it was a mistake to cancel it.
  98. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Dirty, dirty, dirty, but absolutely hilarious. Of course Louis C.K. is hilarious, but the whole cast is as well. Pamela Adlon, Jim Norton, etc, everyone was very fun to watch. Shame only 13 episodes happened since this was a definite winner.
  99. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Fairly unique sitcom, although not as good as Louie's more surreal and Woody Allen-influenced later show. I enjoyed the stripped-down look and that it didn't focus on a rich family, and that the problems were often not solved in a standard sitcom way; sometimes the episodes just end. Pretty fun and easy to binge through. Shame it got cancelled early, but then we got an even better show out of it.
  100. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    This show takes and idea and develops it over the course of the episode, rewarding the viewer for paying attention. What it doesn't do is spoon-feed gags made by human cartoon characters to an audience with a thirty second attention span. 'Friends' it is not. The crumby set design and live studio audience are intentionally retro alternative to modern sitcom styles. Some don't like it, IThis show takes and idea and develops it over the course of the episode, rewarding the viewer for paying attention. What it doesn't do is spoon-feed gags made by human cartoon characters to an audience with a thirty second attention span. 'Friends' it is not. The crumby set design and live studio audience are intentionally retro alternative to modern sitcom styles. Some don't like it, I love it. Moreover this is a comedy for people who appreciate a well written sitcom. Reviewers who complain about the writing in 'Lucky Louie' must have been watching some other show. Expand
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    50
    Wildly uneven.
  2. It feels as if you've happened across a British sitcom or a rerun of "MADtv."