Luther Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DCI John Luther (Idris Elba) is faced with two cases to solve, an ex-colleague who wants to destroy his career, and the possibility of love in the third season of the police drama.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 28, 2013
    100
    It gets darker, scarier and more captivating with each episode as Luther matches wits with killers and cops alike.
  2. 90
    Brilliantly written, with stunning performances, this will be Luther's final year on TV.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 3, 2013
    83
    All charisma and command, [Idris Elb] blasts through the screen in every shot while his performance is a constant reminder that the craft, at its best, is a gossamer of countless little details that add up to something magical.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 3, 2013
    80
    The journey has been fascinating, and unlike in some other cop shows, the police part isn’t toss-away boilerplate. While the cases aren’t as complex as the characters, they’ve got layers.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 3, 2013
    70
    As was the case with the second season, Season 3 of Luther is only four hours long, and the drama would probably be more satisfying if it didn't try to cover so many bases in that limited running time.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 3, 2013
    70
    The first two episodes are relatively restrained by Luther standards, with an emphasis on plodding police work, while the case against Luther percolates in the background. Neil Cross still delivers the dread, though, as killers pop out of attics, closets and even closer places. The action picks up in the season’s second half.
  7. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Sep 4, 2013
    50
    When so much of the series depends on psychological nuance, the lurch into Hollywood action thriller confrontations is an outright admission of defeat. Sensationalism trumps subtlety once more. Both Luther and Idris Elba deserve so much more.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Jaw dropping. The best series of the best show ever made. My only problem is that there isn't going to be another series. With a bit of luck,Jaw dropping. The best series of the best show ever made. My only problem is that there isn't going to be another series. With a bit of luck, they'll listen to the fans and carry on making this excellent show. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Simply put, these are four of the best hours of dramatic television that I have ever watched. Idris Elba continues to gow as an actor, and ISimply put, these are four of the best hours of dramatic television that I have ever watched. Idris Elba continues to gow as an actor, and I see a great future for him on the big screen. Don't miss the final four episodes of Luther. Collapse
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Just finished the series and all I'm left with is pure joy. The finale from this season was one of the most uplifting and clever episodes iJust finished the series and all I'm left with is pure joy. The finale from this season was one of the most uplifting and clever episodes i saw in the history of TV. I'm not spoiling here but there will be the one and other surprise for the audience. The progression of this series is a huge one and fans from the first two series will not be disappointed! Go see this! Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    Not as strong as the first two seasons, with the first two episodes deviating from what made the first two seasons of Luther great by having aNot as strong as the first two seasons, with the first two episodes deviating from what made the first two seasons of Luther great by having a heavy focus on horror, which I found ineffective and at times, cheesy. However, the final two episodes, although still feeling different from the first two seasons, are still great in their own right and save this season. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    2
    Does the music and look of a show and its first season or so story and characters make up for a really weak, lazily written third season? IDoes the music and look of a show and its first season or so story and characters make up for a really weak, lazily written third season? I say no. I know Neil Cross is busy but this is lazy writing. When in doubt, kill someone. Make everything about Luther (a vigilante decides he's a serial killer who is really killing everyone Luther loves, that's the ticket) then, how farfetched can it get, have Luther arrested for having arranged for people to be in a position to be killed by someone he is chasing. Bizarre. Expand

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  2. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  3. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.