• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 212

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    After a two year absence from our screens Mad Men returned and after a slow opening couple of episodes proved itself to be just as good as ever. Now well into the second half of the 1960’s things are starting to change dramatically for the characters we have come to know over the last four seasons yet the writing, acting and directing continue to rival anything else seen on TV. Very few drama series are able to keep viewers thinking about the events that unfolded well after the final credits have rolled but Mad Men is certainly one of them, a must watch. Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    the classic is back. man best drama since forever good acting and good everything mad men needs to be on forever and ever and ever until my great crandchildren die
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Mad Men is pure genius! This show is beautiful, realistic, interesting, incredibly intelligent, and most of all ITS ADDICTING! I've been in love with this show from day one, and from the first episode of season 5 (which was amazing of course) this brilliant work by Matthew Weiner and the all-star cast is surely bound to win its 5th straight emmy. The wait is finally over and what a way to bring us back to our favorite drama and back to the 1960's. Any positive adjective you can think of describes Mad Men. This show is absolutely brilliant and i cannot wait till next sunday! Cheers to another award-winning season! Collapse
  4. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best show on TV right now, and in my top three shows ever. So any criticism I have comes with the asterisk that I'm putting it up against the best hours of TV ever. With greatness in entertainment I always like to watch it a couple of times and let it simmer for a while before I call it the best ever. With that being said I am having a hard time remembering a better season of this show. "At the Codfish ball", Far Away Places", and "The Other Women" will definitely be in my top 10 episodes ever of this show. "Commission and Fees" and "Christmas Waltz" were superb as well. The only episode that fell a little flat for me, surprisingly enough, was the finale. I felt that it covered no new ground with Don. Who didn't know that Don would have trouble being faithful the minute Megan quite the firm. On the same level the guilt he would feel after Lane's suicide would parallel the guilt he felt after his brothers. Maybe because he's my least favorite character, but I also felt that Pete's arc came up way short. This has always been the character I love to hate, but this year I just hate him. Even Roger, who is probably my favorite character, and who's storyline this year has been brilliant came up short. I could care less what happens between him and Megan's mother. Overall this season was more than worth the wait and as usual I will be counting down the days till Mad Men is back. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best show on television had yet another incredible season, perhaps its best yet. The most wonderful surprise this year was the continued development of Don Draper as a character. He's the most fascinating character on television, and he took me by surprise this year on a number of occasions. I thoroughly enjoyed each episode this year, with the writing and acting blowing me away, as usual. The season finale did a great job of bringing things full circle, with Don's guilt over Lane and the death by hanging of his brother years ago colliding in a literally haunting way. At the end of the last show, we're left to wonder whether Don is going to continue developing as a person or go back to the way he used to be when he was with Betty. I hope he doesn't go back there, but regardless of what happens in Season 6, I am confident it will be endlessly interesting and enjoyable to watch. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    This season is brilliant. I have loved every season of the show for different reasons, but season five finds the owners and employees of SCDP developing in new and interesting ways. Some characters are striving for self improvement, while others seem to aspire to new levels of debauchery. As the 60s was a decade of great change, so the plot and characters of this epic series change. I am grateful for Matthew Weiner, and the creative endeavor he has undertaken with Mad Men. Genius. Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    It's back! After seventeen months, I can get my fix again. Does it still have the wonderful atmosphere of the '60's? YES. Does it still have wonderful characters who you can really feel for? YES. Is the writing and dialogue still top-notch and intelligent? YES. It's awesome to really get back into this world. I love this show so much, and this episode proves that the show is still going strong! Leggo! :) Expand
  8. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Brilliant as always Mad Men season 5 premiere shows that the show still the best drama on tv, the first to episode set the stone on what it could be one the best seasons yet, after a brilliant season 4 this season seems even better, the rest of the season will be amazing
  9. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Another great season for, arguably, the best show on television. Some of the character arcs, Lane and Peggy's especially, are heartbreaking. Others, like Joan's, are thought-provoking. As always, the characters are beautifully written and wonderfully acted. Betty's role was diminished, which was a relief. Don's character has evolved, either permanently or temporarily, which kept his role from feeling stale and repetitive. My only complaint would be the handling of Megan's character; it never felt that the writers had as clear a vision for that character, to differentiate her from other characters, but that's a small complaint. Overall, a very satisfying season. Expand
  10. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    John hamm(Don Draper) MUST go back to his ruthless, thoughtless, machevellian character once again. This "softer side" of Don is just not going to cut it...Speaking of not going to cut it, the "Megan" character simply MUST go!!! This is such an EXCELLENT show byt after such a LONG anxious wait, I was very disappointed by this season.!!! Matt Weiner, PLEASE help me!!!
  11. May 23, 2012
    10
    Far Away Places aka The LSD episode is one of the finest hours of TV I've seen all season. Ranks with The Suitcase as among this series' best. Emmys all around.
  12. Apr 30, 2012
    7
    "Mad Men" is without a doubt the best-written show currently (perhaps ever?) on television. The story arcs, individual episodes, scenes, down to the very last details of the camera's linger on the facial expression of actors for that extra split second are all rarely less than sublime. If you consider yourself an artist, you will have many "holy **** moments thinking about this show's plots and meta-structural elements. That said, I can't help but find myself steadily separating from the source material in the 5th season. At root, the show is just too much about what I'm seeking to get away from in my entertainment choices: work. Themes such as ambition, office politics and self-actualization-via-one's-job are just way too Calvinist for this non-American. I have a hard time 1) identifying with folks so obsessed, and 2) with finding them compelling, likable and interesting. Their problems are well-written to be central in the narrative of multiple generations, but seeing them played out by ad executives is more difficult to really identify with and care about. I mean, when a New Jersey mobster experiences existential angst, I can't exactly empathize, but there's something to be said about a guy taking on, screwing and winning against a system someone of his class and background isn't supposed to do well in. The bad guys and gals of "Mad Men" aren't nearly as sympathetic.

    P.S. I'm also tempted to take an extra point off because "Mad Men" siphons off funds from AMC's far more popular fare, such as "Breaking Bad" and "The Walking Dead," but I'll put the fault with that squarely on AMC's executives.
    Expand
  13. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    Season 5 episode 4: "Mystery Date"
    As most episodes of Mad Men start off, thereâ
  14. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The most fascinating thing about Mad Men is that we can't exactly pinpoint why it is so appealing. Every time we think we know what makes Don Draper tick, something shifts. We know he's flawed--and sometimes in major ways--but he makes you admire him in his stoic directness and inate capability. And the panorama of the 60s is a backdrop that makes today's audience peer into less complicated and more complex, post World War 2 times. The Mad Men advertising was as fundamental as the times: it's all about possibilities. Expand
  15. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Superb, superb superb !! You just cant fault this show. Both the script and actors are believable and the props / set support this. YOU JUST HAVE TO WATCH
  16. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    This is an amazing show. It's nice to finally see a show with real actors on tv that play such great characters.

    Andy www.funnyordie.com/andy_knuth
  17. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    It's still toasted.

    The only other episodes of "Mad Men" that I have watched was the first 4 episodes. They weren't interesting enough that I wanted to continue watching the series. "Mad Men" have alot of great qualities. Those qualities have been mentioned plenty of times before. So, there is no use repeating them. The big flaw of series is the lack of story. Instead of making us
    care about the characters or to be interested in what's going on, the writers seem more interested in pointing out how different things are in sixties than they are now. The comparison that I've came up with is "Masterpiece Theatre." It is also a high quality television show with period pieces starring great actors. Yet, it is so aloof that it's hard to care about the story.

    Earlier, I made a reference from the first episode to sum up my feelings about the show. Like toast, the show is sturdy, but dry & not that filling.
    Expand
  18. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    A great season premiere. Love the characters, adore the time period this season is in, and it is just fun to catch up with this world again. Only Breaking Bad surpasses it in quality when it comes to current television. Can't wait for the rest of the season.
  19. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I am so happy that Mad Men is back! This was a fantastic episode and though I agree with some other reviewers that it was not the best episode, I still feel it stands strong in the running with some of the best. I cant wait to see what this season brings!
  20. Apr 9, 2012
    2
    Episode 4 of season 5 qualifies as the worst "Mad Men" episode ever. I give the episode a D. Sally may have been slipped a Seconal but I felt sleepy throughout most of the show. And Don's hallucinations from a slight fever should have given the story editor nightmares. Read my full review (what worked/what didnt') here: www.madmenreview.blogspot.com
  21. May 12, 2012
    2
    This is one of the most painful collapse of a series I have ever seen. Everything I loved in Mad Men has simply disappeared. It had taken four seasons to build meticulously the psychology of characters such as Betty and Pete, and in a flash all this work was swept away with grotesque and implausible solutions. Betty that becomes obese in a few months is simply meaningless. Pete, who had learned to love his wife, who had built a complicity with her and had become an adult, is now again an **** without interest. Undecided about whether to turn to soap opera or sitcom, Mad Men has lost his artistic identity, as pointed out, moreover, by a direction more and more flat and uninteresting. There remain only the jokes of Roger and the hotness of Megan, and nothing else. I am astounded by the fact that everyone seems to be excited about this series. Expand
  22. May 15, 2012
    9
    I almost declined to watch this season because the previous one was lackluster but Mad Men somehow managed to un-jump the shark. The characters were static in season IV and some of the plot lines felt forced and trite, but apparently Matthew Weiner used the long hiatus to return the show to proper form. This season is dark, too.
  23. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow, just wow. The best show on tv without exception. Everyone is excellent on it, main characters background characters. Details are incredible. Joan basically prostituting herself for Jaguar, and Lane killing himself at the end of Sunday's episode. It's a wild ride, and when next week's season finale comes, I will be waiting for the blu rays to come out (which I already pre-ordered) and then waiting for season 6. Expand
  24. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    Mad Men rapped its most unique season to date, and has left the door open for a darker, more repercussion-based story in its closing seasons. Season 5 focuses less on main characters Don, Peggy, and Betty, and gives its supporting characters a chance to bring more intrigue to the Mad Men cannon. We find out a lot more about Pete, Joan, Lane, and Don's new wife, Megan, as we follow their lives inside and out of SCDP. Season 5 takes a slight detour from the show's normal plot points and techniques (i.e., advertising, the duality of its characters, and subtle story telling) and tries to go for more home-run moments and soap-like plot twists. The detour proved to be a mostly-welcomed change, but ultimately lacked the fun,depth, and mystery of the preceding seasons. However, the season finale seemed to have indicated a potential return to "normalcy" within the Mad Men universe in Season 6 to which I can't wait to see.
    **(Recommended) Superb episodes: 502, 503, 506, 508, 510-13.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 26, 2012
    100
    The show still tends to go suddenly flat--it's hard to tell whether the party is supposed to be dead or it's just incompetently staged--but Hamm is always superb as Don. [2 Apr 2012, p.37]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    It works because it's less about who we were then--it's a fantasy of who we were then, really--than about who we are now.
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    Doors are opening. Mind the gap.