• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Mad Men Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a long 17-month hiatus, Mad Men return for its fifth season.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 22, 2012
    100
    The premiere suggests that the only other show that belongs with it in the discussion for the best drama on television is the same one we were talking about last season. At the top level, there is "Breaking Bad," and there is also--finally, thankfully, exceptionally--Mad Men, and then there is everything else.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 22, 2012
    100
    This is such a gorgeous show to watch (at least for anyone fond of mid-'60s clothes and design) that it's easy to forget how beautifully these actors play their roles and how true-to-life they and the writers make these characters seem.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 26, 2012
    100
    The show still tends to go suddenly flat--it's hard to tell whether the party is supposed to be dead or it's just incompetently staged--but Hamm is always superb as Don. [2 Apr 2012, p.37]
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 15, 2012
    90
    Mad Men stays relevant and exciting by moving forward.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    It works because it's less about who we were then--it's a fantasy of who we were then, really--than about who we are now.
  6. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    The episode, written by series creator Matthew Weiner, is a model of efficiency and nuance.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 15, 2012
    70
    Each time-lapse introduces more wrinkles in the show's world, but the premiere offers a sketchy road map of what's to come, and won't expand Men's footprint beyond its solid arthouse niche.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Mad Men is pure genius! This show is beautiful, realistic, interesting, incredibly intelligent, and most of all ITS ADDICTING! I've been in love with this show from day one, and from the first episode of season 5 (which was amazing of course) this brilliant work by Matthew Weiner and the all-star cast is surely bound to win its 5th straight emmy. The wait is finally over and what a way to bring us back to our favorite drama and back to the 1960's. Any positive adjective you can think of describes Mad Men. This show is absolutely brilliant and i cannot wait till next sunday! Cheers to another award-winning season! Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I am so happy that Mad Men is back! This was a fantastic episode and though I agree with some other reviewers that it was not the best episode, I still feel it stands strong in the running with some of the best. I cant wait to see what this season brings! Expand
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    Far Away Places aka The LSD episode is one of the finest hours of TV I've seen all season. Ranks with The Suitcase as among this series' best. Emmys all around. Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best show on TV right now, and in my top three shows ever. So any criticism I have comes with the asterisk that I'm putting it up against the best hours of TV ever. With greatness in entertainment I always like to watch it a couple of times and let it simmer for a while before I call it the best ever. With that being said I am having a hard time remembering a better season of this show. "At the Codfish ball", Far Away Places", and "The Other Women" will definitely be in my top 10 episodes ever of this show. "Commission and Fees" and "Christmas Waltz" were superb as well. The only episode that fell a little flat for me, surprisingly enough, was the finale. I felt that it covered no new ground with Don. Who didn't know that Don would have trouble being faithful the minute Megan quite the firm. On the same level the guilt he would feel after Lane's suicide would parallel the guilt he felt after his brothers. Maybe because he's my least favorite character, but I also felt that Pete's arc came up way short. This has always been the character I love to hate, but this year I just hate him. Even Roger, who is probably my favorite character, and who's storyline this year has been brilliant came up short. I could care less what happens between him and Megan's mother. Overall this season was more than worth the wait and as usual I will be counting down the days till Mad Men is back. Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    9
    I almost declined to watch this season because the previous one was lackluster but Mad Men somehow managed to un-jump the shark. The characters were static in season IV and some of the plot lines felt forced and trite, but apparently Matthew Weiner used the long hiatus to return the show to proper form. This season is dark, too. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    Mad Men rapped its most unique season to date, and has left the door open for a darker, more repercussion-based story in its closing seasons. Season 5 focuses less on main characters Don, Peggy, and Betty, and gives its supporting characters a chance to bring more intrigue to the Mad Men cannon. We find out a lot more about Pete, Joan, Lane, and Don's new wife, Megan, as we follow their lives inside and out of SCDP. Season 5 takes a slight detour from the show's normal plot points and techniques (i.e., advertising, the duality of its characters, and subtle story telling) and tries to go for more home-run moments and soap-like plot twists. The detour proved to be a mostly-welcomed change, but ultimately lacked the fun,depth, and mystery of the preceding seasons. However, the season finale seemed to have indicated a potential return to "normalcy" within the Mad Men universe in Season 6 to which I can't wait to see.
    **(Recommended) Superb episodes: 502, 503, 506, 508, 510-13.
    Expand
  7. May 12, 2012
    2
    This is one of the most painful collapse of a series I have ever seen. Everything I loved in Mad Men has simply disappeared. It had taken four seasons to build meticulously the psychology of characters such as Betty and Pete, and in a flash all this work was swept away with grotesque and implausible solutions. Betty that becomes obese in a few months is simply meaningless. Pete, who had learned to love his wife, who had built a complicity with her and had become an adult, is now again an **** without interest. Undecided about whether to turn to soap opera or sitcom, Mad Men has lost his artistic identity, as pointed out, moreover, by a direction more and more flat and uninteresting. There remain only the jokes of Roger and the hotness of Megan, and nothing else. I am astounded by the fact that everyone seems to be excited about this series. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  2. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  3. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  4. Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: June 11, 2012
    What did TV critics think of last night's season-ending episode of "Mad Men," and of the fifth season as a whole? Find out inside.
  5. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.
  6. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  7. 2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out?

    2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out? Image
    Published: July 14, 2011
    Find out who scored nominations -- and who was snubbed -- in our look at Thursday morning's announcement of nominees for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards.
  8. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  9. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  10. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  11. The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: August 30, 2010
    Our look at last night's Emmy ceremony includes a list of winners, an analysis of the evening's surprises, and a look at what TV critics are saying about the broadcast.
  12. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  13. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.