• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.5
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth season begins with a two-hour premiere.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    The sumptuous two-hour opener to Season 6 is a remarkable piece of work--beautiful, provocative, and deep. It's an unexpectedly exquisite distillation of the show's themes and aspirations.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 5, 2013
    100
    Unlike Season 5's two-hour premiere, which easily could have been edited to half its length, every minute of Sunday's episode feels necessary, checking in with all our favorite players and dancing with Weiner's favorite theme, death.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 5, 2013
    100
    Terrific start to the 6th.
  4. Season 6 jumps ahead in time and launches with a beautifully written, contemplative two-hour opener called "The Doorway."
  5. Reviewed by: Melody Baetens
    Apr 5, 2013
    83
    The suits are louder, the sideburns are longer; aside from that, the season-six premiere proves to be classic Mad Men with plenty of vice (maybe more than before, at least more pot), long hours at work and lots of questions.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 5, 2013
    80
    Even at its most ponderous and indulgent, Mad Men casts a mesmerizing spell, and that's true throughout this less-than-satisfying but intermittently intriguing chapter.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 5, 2013
    50
    Mad Men is that rare thing that can be as infuriating as it is perfect. I’ve gone back and forth (and hot and cold) on it as much as a critic can; I warmed to it last season but feel a familiar chill this time.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Mad Men`s heart of darkness remains as beguiling and poignant as ever!
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my eyes, the series best season. I loved seeing how the characters grew even more. Seeing the impact of MLK's assassination affected the community is one of the season most memorable moments. With more flashbacks to Don's childhood we can see deeper into his character and start to see where his actions are coming from. Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    The show is top class entertainment with great ingredients whether we are talking writing, directing, acting, music, fashion, history. YouThe show is top class entertainment with great ingredients whether we are talking writing, directing, acting, music, fashion, history. You name it.

    I love how every season brings me equal anticipation. I fear skipping a minute because I know I will miss a great line or some little detail about some fictitious character that for some strange reason is of great importance to me. It takes a great deal of genius to stretch fiction this far within one's own immigration. This is suddenly the time and place you badly long for although you are not from the Mad Men generation neither you lived in New York City.

    I enjoyed seeing how the characters grew in their roles, some to the most unexpected demeanours. I make a special mention of how a new Pete Campbell emerges from the sleaze that he wore flawlessly to this likeable character with this occasional outburst of morality and social intelligence. I admire how the writers and cast are playing with our sense of judgement and it is very difficult to have a favourite character in this show.

    It would be an impossible to say praises to the cast in few words but I can say that the choice of actors is masterful. Jon Ham has certainly fulfilled his mission on earth by bringing to life the legacy of a Don Draper. That this pure power. The list goes on and on: Peggy Olson, Betty Draper, Joan Harris, Roger Sterling, Lane Pryce, Megan Draper, Lane Pryce, Trudy Campbell, Ted Chaough, Bert Cooper, Ken Cosgrove, Harry Crane, and a very long list of unforgettable characters

    The urge to write this review is predominantly to say that it is too early to close the curtain on this show. It still has a great deal of steam and because it will leave an obvious void in the TV landscape.

    This is what I call "Bravo TV"
    Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    My wish came true & Mad Men shined in episode 10 of season 6! Good dialogue and pace. Less ambiguity. This is more like the Mad Men I fell inMy wish came true & Mad Men shined in episode 10 of season 6! Good dialogue and pace. Less ambiguity. This is more like the Mad Men I fell in love with! Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Don Draper. The man, the myth, the legend. His life is collapsing around him this season and he sees himself back in his old ways only toDon Draper. The man, the myth, the legend. His life is collapsing around him this season and he sees himself back in his old ways only to discover he's lost his touch. While it makes for a very interesting story, it also makes for a very dangerous one simply because we've seen it all before, which is why I think they shake it up. This season displays that. Very interesting and fun season to watch unfold in front of you. The finale left me disappointed and unsatisfied from a story sense as there are many doors still wide open and there's no closure or continuity. Next season is the last season, but it certainly won't feel like it. Can't wait. Collapse
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    Whatever you think about it Mad Men is deinitely changing the way we watch TV, with every episode being like a movie of itself. LookingWhatever you think about it Mad Men is deinitely changing the way we watch TV, with every episode being like a movie of itself. Looking forward to see if Don Draper dies, I think he will for sure! Expand
  7. May 24, 2013
    5
    I am probably ruining the popularity flow here but I am not feeling Mad Men as much as had in the past 5 seasons. I have been a devoted fan upI am probably ruining the popularity flow here but I am not feeling Mad Men as much as had in the past 5 seasons. I have been a devoted fan up until the start of season 6. I am getting a little tired, as someone else wrote here, "of the Mad Men formula". I think the demise of my interests also stems from the ability to feel like the story line is going somewhere. I think this is the end of Mad Men for me and I must say with great sadness, "It has been a really great ride". Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Mad Men Series Finale

    Episode Review: Mad Men Series Finale Image
    Published: May 17, 2015
    Find out what critics are saying about the final episode of AMC's "Mad Men."
  2. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  4. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  5. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  6. Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: June 11, 2012
    What did TV critics think of last night's season-ending episode of "Mad Men," and of the fifth season as a whole? Find out inside.
  7. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.
  8. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  9. 2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out?

    2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out? Image
    Published: July 14, 2011
    Find out who scored nominations -- and who was snubbed -- in our look at Thursday morning's announcement of nominees for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards.
  10. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  11. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  12. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  13. The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: August 30, 2010
    Our look at last night's Emmy ceremony includes a list of winners, an analysis of the evening's surprises, and a look at what TV critics are saying about the broadcast.
  14. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  15. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.