Major Crimes : Season 1

  • Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 13, 2012
    60
    With most of The Closer's original crew staying on, it's almost business as usual--though with Sedgwick no longer at the center, replaced by Mary McDonnell's inscrutably smug and unsympathetic Capt. Sharon Raydor, the franchise can't help but be diminished.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    The first two cases, involving a gang of murderous thieves and the death of a personal trainer, are ho-hum. McDonnell, a fine actress, finally has a chance to inject some dry wit into her stoic investigator.
  3. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    Like The Closer, Major Crimes offers utterly predictable crime-solving.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 10, 2012
    50
    Those who enjoyed "The Closer" will still find something, if probably not as much, to like about this closer, too. Or really, "Closer 2."
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    Cases piddle away as everyone hashes out deals at a conference table. Realistic, perhaps, but quite the buzzkill. [20 Aug 2012, p.41]
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    Raydor is cut from different cloth that her predecessor and that's going to take some getting used to.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Aug 13, 2012
    40
    Pleasant in its details but hollow at its center, Major Crimes could argue in favor of a much-derided TV practice: the traditional network development process. It could have benefited from a year or two spent working on a pilot.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    3
    Major Crimes was a major disappointment for me. By retaining almost the entire cast of The Closer the show invites a comparison in which, inMajor Crimes was a major disappointment for me. By retaining almost the entire cast of The Closer the show invites a comparison in which, in my opinion, it comes off as a pale imitation of the original. While Mary McDonnell is a fine actress her character is not likable and the manner in which she is installed as the head of Major Crimes made that situation even worse for me.

    That same situation and the events that it causes also made me dislike Assistant Chief Taylor even more that I did in the first few seasons of The Closer. The same was true of Chief Pope even though he did not appear on screen. While their actions can be attributed to political realities that fact does not make any of them more sympathetic to the audience.

    Added to this is the addition of another cast member whose character is also made to be rather unlikable by the manner in which she gets her promotion to the squad.

    For me all that Major Crimes accomplished was to make me miss The Closer. I will watch the second episode to give it a chance to change my mind but if it is more of the same I won't be watching the third. I do not enjoy watching shows when this many cast members are not likable.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    1
    Slow and boring. The old characters have been diluted and the new lead is weak. The Rusty story is improbable and irrelevant. Very littleSlow and boring. The old characters have been diluted and the new lead is weak. The Rusty story is improbable and irrelevant. Very little to hold my attention. I watched my last episode tonight. Full Review »
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    This show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming aThis show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming a monotonous tv series, can't wait for Full Review »