• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 23, 2013
    100
    As with "The Avengers," Whedon's ear and sensibilities match the material perfectly.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 18, 2013
    91
    The setup is slow, but the show captures shadowy Coulson, sarcastic Grant (Brett Dalton), combat vet Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), and Fitz (Iain De Caestecker) and Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), whose superpower is Britishness. Bonus points for wry dialogue by co-creator Joss Whedon. [20/27 Sep 2013, p.144]
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 23, 2013
    88
    All in all, it's a very promising start.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 23, 2013
    88
    Even though the team's first assignment—involving an ordinary guy with strange new powers (J. August Richards)--is kind of average as adventures go, the actors seem to have found a snappy groove already.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. looks to be the most fun you’ll find in an hour of prime time this fall.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 566 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 148
  2. Negative: 54 out of 148
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    2
    Watching T Avengers and then watching this is like one day eating lobster and then the next day eating a 99p microwaveable fish pie.Watching T Avengers and then watching this is like one day eating lobster and then the next day eating a 99p microwaveable fish pie. Completely let down by its Hammy dialogue and un-engaging characters. Hard to believe this was made by Joss Whedon. What a disappointment. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    The writing reminds me of a disney show. Every is bickering like teenagers. The show is just silly and all the characters are unoriginal.The writing reminds me of a disney show. Every is bickering like teenagers. The show is just silly and all the characters are unoriginal. It's not a good show. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    1
    I had high hopes for this show, but I was honestly let down. It is truly and ABC not a Marvel production, at least that's how it feels. ThisI had high hopes for this show, but I was honestly let down. It is truly and ABC not a Marvel production, at least that's how it feels. This first episode was very lackluster, and so cheesy I almost expected everyone to break out into song. The filmography felt very dated, and the script more contrived then what I've come to expect from the experienced J.W. It played out like an early episode of Buffy. I was honestly hoping for something more attuned to recent Marvel/Hollywood aesthetics but what I got was a cheesy hodgepodge of forcing a stereotypical bunch of c level actors into a contrived setting. The flying car at the end is what really made me roll my eyes. This show isn't even grounded in the same universe that Marvel is(which is pretty fantastical.) My suspense of disbelief withered within the first two minutes, much like the most recent efforts of shows like "the cape" and "hero's" I don't see this show lasting very many seasons. My advice, cut your loses now. Most people positively reviewing this show are fan-boys with high-hopes. Joss isn't untouchable, and fortunately for this show it's to high budget to continue past one season. End this charade before it ruins the franchise that Marvel/Disney have bet their marbles on. Full Review »