• Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 7, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 10, 2010
    88
    It's very entertaining in its low-key, waist-widening ways. [20 Dec 2010, p.44]
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Even if you've never seen 'Terriers,' or indeed the first season of Men of a Certain Age, you're likely to find something to enjoy in the second season of MOACA, which expertly mines both comedy and drama from life's awkward transitional passages.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    90
    It's so small and spare and simple, and yet it can be incredibly effective at what it does. Nice to have it back.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The reason the show feels so real at every turn is that it is a perfect balance of dramatic realism and gentle humor.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Dec 7, 2010
    91
    This dark-tinged show is frequently very funny, never more so than when the pals gather for a diner meal, to whine and tease one another. The dialogue has a cutting crispness; the hour zips along, no matter how logy its antiheroes may become.
  6. Reviewed by: Renee Scolaro Mora
    Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Its layered and nuanced analysis of male identity makes Men of a Certain Age worth watching.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    Funny, smart, entertaining, excellent acting and writing. What's not to like?
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    Ray Romano sucks
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Thumbs up from Sweden!
    Even though i'm a woman who just turned 25 i can still appreciate this clever show and it's brilliant cast. Ray Romano
    has been making me laugh since the beginning of ELR, which in my opinion is the best sitcom ever made. I wish this show a lot of success for many years to come. Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    9
    It is an excellent show and I was shocked when I read that TNT cancelled it. It's a witty, bitter-sweet comedy with an amazing cast. The camraderie between the three main characters is really believable. Scripting is first-class too. Overall, it's an intelligent show for an intelligent audience - it's not laugh-out-loud-sitcom funny, but it's funny AND touching at the same time. You really care about Joe, Owen and Terry and that's the highest praise. Full Review »