Mom : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2013
    83
    This is dark material, yet Faris balances it with a genuine winsomeness, able to wring laughs out of the most innocuous lines.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 18, 2013
    80
    It is sharp comedy enriched by a cast led by Allison Janney as Bonnie, the mother in question, and Anna Faris as Christy, her daughter.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    [A] snarky-yet-heartfelt sitcom.... It helps that these barbs are delivered by authentically endearing pros.
  4. 80
    Mom is about shtick, and it has hired a core group of actors who know how to do it.... The whole cast is just about perfect.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 23, 2013
    80
    The writing rings true as often as not, and the actors do not wave their arms or raise their voices unduly; they play to the human moments between the rim shots.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Mom is more than what it appears. The hectoring laugh track grates, but don’t let it fool you, this show’s got brains.
  7. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 16, 2013
    80
    [Mom is] both both wittier and sweeter than the new Fox show "Dads."
  8. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2013
    75
    If Faris is the little engine that could, Janney is the caboose along for the ride. [4 Nov 2013]
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Oct 3, 2013
    75
    When the jokes work, they’re hilarious.
  10. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Mom isn’t a comedic high point, even if one or more of its principal characters falls off the wagon during a ratings “sweeps” month. But it gets this particular job done with flair, vigor, a punchy script and two leads who make it all fairly addictive.
  11. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 20, 2013
    75
    The pilot's envelope-pushing is caustic and obvious, two things Mom seems better than. Faris is both gutsy and touching as the adult trying to get her act together, while Janney's crafty adolescence extends to a third generation around Faris' two kids.
  12. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    What Mom lacks in bite, it makes up for in balance, with a dependable number of laughs and a strong ensemble that includes French Stewart and Nathan Corddry.
  13. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2013
    70
    While the show breaks little ground, it’s a fairly polished and inordinately well-cast pilot. ... Mom has the bones of a pretty durable TV show.
  14. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Heavy dysfunction gets a backup laugh track, and it can turn mean. But Lorre knows how to wring dark humor from tragic circumstances.
  15. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Sep 23, 2013
    67
    There are four or five different shows crammed into Mom. At least one of them is a potentially great show. One of the others could make for a largely enjoyable time-waster... But the others are all varying degrees of messy to distractingly awful.
  16. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 11, 2013
    67
    Faris and Janney are funnier than the material.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    Can we pass an international law that states Chuck Lorre may never ever produce another show.

    Havent laughed once in 2 episodes this show
    Can we pass an international law that states Chuck Lorre may never ever produce another show.

    Havent laughed once in 2 episodes this show is stale and expired.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    Since Chuck Lorre encouraged us in his vanity card to complain on the internet, I will. It wasn't funny. Yet another example that a well knownSince Chuck Lorre encouraged us in his vanity card to complain on the internet, I will. It wasn't funny. Yet another example that a well known actor doesn't count for jack with a bad script. Since there was a huge cheer for Jon Cryer's pointless cameo I guess hard core Lorre fans who even watch Mike and Molly will like this... if anyone. Full Review »
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I love this show. Anna faris and Allison Janey make me laugh out loud. They are such a hilarious combo. Anyway I always watch this show. SoI love this show. Anna faris and Allison Janey make me laugh out loud. They are such a hilarious combo. Anyway I always watch this show. So yeah you should watch it too. Full Review »