Mr. Sunshine : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 9, 2011
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Feb 8, 2011
    88
    There's some smart slapstick, and I believe that Perry could be the one sane man in an arena that holds 17,505 people.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 9, 2011
    83
    As a man struggling to find where he misplaced his heart, Perry makes angst seem easy. His sense of timing isn't rusty. The sitcom has a few clouds: Alonzo needs an edge and the show should make Jorge Garcia's ("Lost") facilities manager a permanent regular. But Mr. Sunshine could be midseason's brightest ray of mirth.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 8, 2011
    75
    What more could you ask? Sharper scripts, for a start, and a better sense that Perry's unhappy central character is strong enough to hold the center of the show. But there's enough promise here, and enough room to grow, that you can't help hoping Sunshine will follow the midterm-correction path set by the show it's replacing, Cougar Town.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    It's a busy opening, including brief but satisfying guest appearances by Jorge "Hurley" Garcia and an elephant. The show is well played down to the smallest parts.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    Watching Crystal fire off demands to Ben while working out on a treadmill wearing high heels and a business suit is wondrously, bizarrely funny. If Mr. Sunshine can relocate moments like that from the show's periphery to its center, it may stick around for a while.
  6. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Mr. Sunshine looks promising, with former Friend Matthew Perry playing straight man in a swirl of kooks, including an especially amusing Allison Janney, who deliver consistent laughs.
  7. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Mr. Sunshine isn't nearly as polished or original as "Modern Family," which precedes it on Wednesday night, but it has the talent and the potential to improve.
  8. Unfortunately, things just never really gel in a pilot episode that falls flat and is only intermittently funny....In fact, only Janney, whose gleefully oblivious character spews un-PC zingers and keeps a huge self-portrait in her office, makes a truly fresh impression.
  9. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 27, 2011
    67
    [Perry] needs to put on a smilier face without losing his sharp edge: sunshine with the ability to inflict a burn.
  10. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 18, 2011
    63
    For now, Sunshine is a bit busy and unfocused. [28 Feb 2011, p.43]
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    8
    I usually agree with the critic aggregation, but here the metascore is way off. The premiere was consistently funny, fast, ironic and slightlyI usually agree with the critic aggregation, but here the metascore is way off. The premiere was consistently funny, fast, ironic and slightly weird and with no canned laughter. Tonally, it reminds me of the late and great "Better Off Ted" - human crises in an almost absurd, non-human world. The cast is uniformly excellent, the writing is crisp and everything looks great. I just hope they don't abandon the out-of-left-field humour in order to pander to a broader and duller audience. Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is my new favourite show. Sure it's weird seeing Matthew Perry play a character other than Chandler, but give it a couple of episodesThis is my new favourite show. Sure it's weird seeing Matthew Perry play a character other than Chandler, but give it a couple of episodes and his character really starts to come out. The humour is well written and different, with just the right amount of randomness. Also there's no laugh track over the top making the show seem a little more intelligent than most sitcoms these days. Also don't let the name throw you off, it is fitting after seeing an episode. Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    7
    It sort of reminds me of a male oriented "30 Rock". I like it. Matthew Perry never seems to get the credit he deserves, and this proves thatIt sort of reminds me of a male oriented "30 Rock". I like it. Matthew Perry never seems to get the credit he deserves, and this proves that he is more than just a one-note tv star. While it might not be for everyone - it has a light hearted flair that gives all the characters a place in his bizarre little world behind the scenes style. There is enough to keep me watching and hoping that it stays on the air, in hopes this kind of tv show will survive in a world of Dancing with the Stars. Full Review »