• Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 29, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 28, 2011
    60
    Like all mothers on TV dramas, Angela starts out annoying. That means we can probably count on her to say something wise at just the moment we least expect it. In the end, though, this is Thorne's show, and she carries the lead well. Now the writers and Dr. Donna have to find enough interesting places she can go.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 27, 2011
    60
    If plot is incidental to your enjoyment of a show--and especially if you're already a fan of Ms. Thorne's all-in acting style--then Necessary Roughness offers OK entertainment.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 29, 2011
    50
    Basic cable is known for carving out niche audiences, but it's hard to imagine this "Friday Night Lights Shrink" will score with many.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 29, 2011
    50
    My heart tells me that any show that revolves around an honest-to-goodness native of Commack deserves an A+. My head tells me this one deserves a C.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    The problem with Roughness is that the characters and their interactions ring totally, ridiculously false--which is kind of funny, because unlike those other shows [Covert Affairs or White Collar], this one was inspired by a true story.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    [Thorne's] a likable, charming actress, surrounded by a bunch of familiar, appealing performers (Cohen in particular is someone I've liked a long time, even if the business hasn't known quite what to do with him), and I think there's potential in this idea. But the execution and/or the network aren't right for the idea.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    Thorne has the right bristling, combative energy for all this commotion, but the pilot is hard to swallow. [4 Jul 2011, p.38]
  8. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 28, 2011
    42
    Thorne's performance occasionally threatens to rise above this mess. But it's tough to overcome a narrative opening line that goes like this: "My dad used to say life is like a football game. There's winners and there's losers."
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jul 9, 2011
    3
    We have to be honest with ourselves here. Yes, we all love Callie Thorne (from Homcide, The Wire, Rescue Me), but the writing on this show isWe have to be honest with ourselves here. Yes, we all love Callie Thorne (from Homcide, The Wire, Rescue Me), but the writing on this show is atrocious. And yes, I watch just about every other USA summer show, so I gave it 2 episodes before pulling the plug on this. It's really too bad. If you really need your therapist fix, go for HBO's In Treatment - start with Season 1. And if you want more light USA fare, try Covert Affairs, Suits, or Royals Pains. I know you're already watching Burn Notice, so there's no need to make that argument. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    1
    I have watched almost every show on USA the past several years, but I could not watch Necessary Roughness. Quite simply the show is horriblyI have watched almost every show on USA the past several years, but I could not watch Necessary Roughness. Quite simply the show is horribly written. The characters are shallow and contrived. The dialogue is atrocious. And, while Callie Thorne has been good in most everything else she is in, she is hardly convincing as a therapist. Of course, most of this can be blamed on the writers, whom I am not sure even understand what a therapist does! Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    Necessary Roughness is a pretty interesting show, but it doesn't seem to steer clear of usual TV and movie story lines. An example beingNecessary Roughness is a pretty interesting show, but it doesn't seem to steer clear of usual TV and movie story lines. An example being getting divorced and starting a new life. I don't know if there are any people like this, but TK seems like a larger than life character, I don't really think anyone actually acts like that... I agree with the others, Callie Thorne isn't a very good therapist, but I do like how each show has a different case come in. (I'm a huge fan of medical dramas, crime dramas, I've never seen a show where a psychologist solves cases.) Full Review »