• Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 29, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Sins of fathers and mothers not only visit each of the characters, but infest them; the show shimmers with an inner core of volcanic anger that makes it far more interesting than your average family soap.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 23, 2011
    80
    Only Julianna Margulies on "The Good Wife" is carrying a comparable load, and though Roughness is a more fanciful construction than that CBS show, with more obvious emotional victories, it feels just as honest. It worked on me as intended.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Thomas
    Jun 29, 2011
    75
    Despite some cliched dialogue and scenes (she tosses her lecherous husband's designer duds and pricey suitcase out their bedroom window--fresh!), her presence is reason enough to watch--and reason enough to hope this series turns out to be something worth watching week after week.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 28, 2011
    75
    USA's newest series, Necessary Roughness is a charming and clever dramedy.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    Jun 24, 2011
    75
    Thankfully, Thorne's feisty charm mostly overcomes the show's familiar-feeling concept. [1 Jul 2011, p.68]
  6. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 30, 2011
    70
    A fine summer show is launched, slick but with feeling, and all the orange-and-red football-season foliage on-screen contributes to a diverting brisk breeziness.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 29, 2011
    70
    The Necessary Roughness pilot was enjoyable enough, but half the fun may have come from seeing Dani's adjustment to the big money, high-stakes world of professional sports. Can this show go the distance? It isn't clear yet, but at this admittedly early stage, the latest addition to the USA roster appears to be a promising rookie.
  8. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 29, 2011
    70
    As USA dramas go, Necessary Roughness is about halfway between "In Plain Sight" and "White Collar" on the believability scale, but it's summer and I like Thorne, whose character is feisty and funny and shrill only when shrillness is absolutely justified.
  9. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jun 28, 2011
    70
    Over all, Necessary Roughness is enjoyable, a lighthearted look at football that takes a therapist in suburban Long Island seriously.
  10. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 28, 2011
    70
    The show is just an undemanding, entertaining, and sometimes whimsical ride. Yup, it's likable.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 27, 2011
    70
    Written by Liz Kruger and Craig Shapiro and directed by Kevin Dowling, Roughness smoothly exploits the winning combination of Thorne--who practically oozes sex appeal, while still conveying an approachable vulnerability--with the macho NFL setting.
  12. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    63
    Necessary Roughness hasn't scored a touchdown yet, but it's early in the game.
  13. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 28, 2011
    60
    Like all mothers on TV dramas, Angela starts out annoying. That means we can probably count on her to say something wise at just the moment we least expect it. In the end, though, this is Thorne's show, and she carries the lead well. Now the writers and Dr. Donna have to find enough interesting places she can go.
  14. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 27, 2011
    60
    If plot is incidental to your enjoyment of a show--and especially if you're already a fan of Ms. Thorne's all-in acting style--then Necessary Roughness offers OK entertainment.
  15. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 29, 2011
    50
    My heart tells me that any show that revolves around an honest-to-goodness native of Commack deserves an A+. My head tells me this one deserves a C.
  16. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 29, 2011
    50
    Basic cable is known for carving out niche audiences, but it's hard to imagine this "Friday Night Lights Shrink" will score with many.
  17. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    The problem with Roughness is that the characters and their interactions ring totally, ridiculously false--which is kind of funny, because unlike those other shows [Covert Affairs or White Collar], this one was inspired by a true story.
  18. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    [Thorne's] a likable, charming actress, surrounded by a bunch of familiar, appealing performers (Cohen in particular is someone I've liked a long time, even if the business hasn't known quite what to do with him), and I think there's potential in this idea. But the execution and/or the network aren't right for the idea.
  19. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    Thorne has the right bristling, combative energy for all this commotion, but the pilot is hard to swallow. [4 Jul 2011, p.38]
  20. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 28, 2011
    42
    Thorne's performance occasionally threatens to rise above this mess. But it's tough to overcome a narrative opening line that goes like this: "My dad used to say life is like a football game. There's winners and there's losers."
  21. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 28, 2011
    25
    Created by Liz Kruger and Craig Shapiro ("Miami Medical"), the writing is amateurish, the premise as thin as watery gruel, the emotions generally inauthentic, and the cast only minimally engaging.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jul 9, 2011
    3
    We have to be honest with ourselves here. Yes, we all love Callie Thorne (from Homcide, The Wire, Rescue Me), but the writing on this show isWe have to be honest with ourselves here. Yes, we all love Callie Thorne (from Homcide, The Wire, Rescue Me), but the writing on this show is atrocious. And yes, I watch just about every other USA summer show, so I gave it 2 episodes before pulling the plug on this. It's really too bad. If you really need your therapist fix, go for HBO's In Treatment - start with Season 1. And if you want more light USA fare, try Covert Affairs, Suits, or Royals Pains. I know you're already watching Burn Notice, so there's no need to make that argument. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    1
    I have watched almost every show on USA the past several years, but I could not watch Necessary Roughness. Quite simply the show is horriblyI have watched almost every show on USA the past several years, but I could not watch Necessary Roughness. Quite simply the show is horribly written. The characters are shallow and contrived. The dialogue is atrocious. And, while Callie Thorne has been good in most everything else she is in, she is hardly convincing as a therapist. Of course, most of this can be blamed on the writers, whom I am not sure even understand what a therapist does! Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    Necessary Roughness is a pretty interesting show, but it doesn't seem to steer clear of usual TV and movie story lines. An example beingNecessary Roughness is a pretty interesting show, but it doesn't seem to steer clear of usual TV and movie story lines. An example being getting divorced and starting a new life. I don't know if there are any people like this, but TK seems like a larger than life character, I don't really think anyone actually acts like that... I agree with the others, Callie Thorne isn't a very good therapist, but I do like how each show has a different case come in. (I'm a huge fan of medical dramas, crime dramas, I've never seen a show where a psychologist solves cases.) Full Review »