Once Upon a Time in Wonderland : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2013
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 9, 2013
    60
    A slick effects extravaganza whose pilot episode kept me looking instead of enjoying.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 8, 2013
    60
    Wonderland is equally handsome [as "Once Upon a Time"], but behind those virtual sets lurk many potential flaws. An appealing Alice certainly helps matters, but past performance reduces the likelihood of a fairy-tale ending.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 10, 2013
    58
    As our wanderer through the rabbit hole, Lowe lacks conviction, but Socha is a true charmer as the Knave, and fans will be making wishes for Alice to dump the dreary genie for the rogue. With the mothership’s leads on a similar quest for a missing boy, Wonderland seems like an exercise in magical redundancy.
  4. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Feb 13, 2014
    50
    The grand, star-crossed romance between Alice and Cyrus is promising, and turning Alice into a willful Victorian riot grrl is a move that will resonate with many viewers. As in "Once," the computer-generated landscapes and creatures don't quite work--they look do look unworldly, but in a cheesy way.
  5. 40
    Wonderland has no nuance. It's not elegant or metaphorical at all, and many of the scenes would be at home on an episode of Mighty Morphin Power Rangers.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    Every creature and person is a threat to Alice and vice versa. Characters like the rabbit and knave are uppity and untrustworthy; they steal and lie. There are no ready-made friendships here like there are in, say, Oz. As soon as you get there, you feel like you’re ready to leave.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    Ultimately, the story doesn’t really matter because the characters are paper thin and efforts to make Alice more than a damsel in distress--she’s a skull-crushing, tree climber--don’t really add much depth.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting,Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting, unique premise with a good storyline. I am so sick and tired of generic comedies, singing shows, and the unfathomable amount of crime series. Wonderland is unique and brings to life a world we learned about during our childhood. I hope that ABC will keep this show running and not crawl back to the generic boring crap most networks put on. Full Review »
  2. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I love this show! As to be expected, this first season is slow but this is the case with most every story. Time to established a plot and showI love this show! As to be expected, this first season is slow but this is the case with most every story. Time to established a plot and show character growth and development shouldn't happen over night. If it did, then there would be no story. That being said, i hope they keep it on for a second season so we can see where the story really goes. I think it has a lot of potential, just maybe some better decisions when it comes to the writing. Full Review »
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    This show is pretty interesting. From what I saw, it seems like it could end up being a very great show. I can't wait to see more of it. LoveThis show is pretty interesting. From what I saw, it seems like it could end up being a very great show. I can't wait to see more of it. Love the fact they put another disney character from a whole different show in it! Full Review »