• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 307

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    2
    I kept hearing great things from my friends and after finally watching it with them I don't understand how anyone enjoys this cheap soap opera... The actors are not very talented (Biggs and the main character are the only competent ones...), the script is convoluted, and it seems like every episode is a bottle episode leading up to nothing... I liked weeds from the same creator but theyI kept hearing great things from my friends and after finally watching it with them I don't understand how anyone enjoys this cheap soap opera... The actors are not very talented (Biggs and the main character are the only competent ones...), the script is convoluted, and it seems like every episode is a bottle episode leading up to nothing... I liked weeds from the same creator but they lost me when they became a soap opera and dropped the entire premise of the show and went to mexico... I think this could be a good show if it had better writing and actors, but even if that happens I won't give it another chance. Also the fact that this is labeled as a comedy is offensive. The fact that this show might win a single emmy is appalling. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2014
    4
    Overrated. Dialogue overload. Too many characters you don't really give a damn about...Banshee is 100X more entertaining, fun and satisfying. This show is like the Leftovers in that it is persistently depressive, but with the Leftovers the high moments are a lot more compelling. Maybe women will like it more, because its 95% female cast. Watching this show was an exercise of enduranceOverrated. Dialogue overload. Too many characters you don't really give a damn about...Banshee is 100X more entertaining, fun and satisfying. This show is like the Leftovers in that it is persistently depressive, but with the Leftovers the high moments are a lot more compelling. Maybe women will like it more, because its 95% female cast. Watching this show was an exercise of endurance for me. I don't know how a show this (1) depressing (2) dialogue intense could be so universally liked. Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2014
    1
    Season 2 was a big disappointment. It never had the same emotional intensity, humor, or originality as the first season (which was excellent). Shifting the focus from Piper to the other girls in the prison was a poor choice, as the storyline felt forced and fabricated to make the other ladies appear more human/interesting. I ended up fast-forwarding and skipping episodes because I justSeason 2 was a big disappointment. It never had the same emotional intensity, humor, or originality as the first season (which was excellent). Shifting the focus from Piper to the other girls in the prison was a poor choice, as the storyline felt forced and fabricated to make the other ladies appear more human/interesting. I ended up fast-forwarding and skipping episodes because I just didn't want to waste more time on on the lackluster plots. Season 1 was electrifying with the relationship between Piper and Alex.. unfortunately, that relationship was removed from this season in episode 1, leaving the rest of the season a bland and boring slog. Even the sub-plots with Larry was dumb. My advice: watch just the first episode, and skip the rest. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2014
    0
    Has there ever been a show that has fallen so far so fast? The last 5 episodes of season 1 were awful and by episode 3 of season 2 it's a wonder how anyone could find this show either creative or intelligent. There may not be a better example of stereotypical writing on TV today.
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    1
    3 episodes down; I think this series went downhill fast. A fiasco even bigger than Girls season 2 to 3. If you like the first season, do yourself a favor and AVOID.
  6. Dec 11, 2014
    4
    i had been avoiding the show until now. the main reason i'm watching through the 2nd season is that i love seeing so many talented black actresses together. i also love natasha lyonne. hoping laura prepon comes back. love the opening sequence. it's the only part of the show that's real. basically, i have to work at suspending my disbelief and see the prison setting as just a setting fori had been avoiding the show until now. the main reason i'm watching through the 2nd season is that i love seeing so many talented black actresses together. i also love natasha lyonne. hoping laura prepon comes back. love the opening sequence. it's the only part of the show that's real. basically, i have to work at suspending my disbelief and see the prison setting as just a setting for all the characters to interact. it sure isn't like any prison in the US. Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2015
    0
    It had potential, but has been ruined by the blatant wanna-be edginess.. and by that I mean the OTT nudity, language and utterly absurd events that take place in this fantasy-land womens prison. Nothing heaps more substance and less dumbed down desensitizing nudity crap couldn't handle though.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 7, 2014
    90
    By the finale, Season 2 is stronger than Season 1, largely because it’s more uncompromising about its characters, at once more nuanced and more damning.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 19, 2014
    80
    Consider how well-crafted they are, you might want to pace yourself and savor every precious moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Orange Is the New Black remains a vibrantly hued, singular achievement. Darkly dramatic and comedically spiked, it deals in the dehumanization and restoration of both guards and inmates.