Parenthood : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 2, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Parenthood   Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Parenthood goes for a second try at the small screen after delays caused by cast and production changes to introduce the extended Bravermans clan. It includes Zeek and Camille's (Craig T. Nelson and Bonnie Bedelia) four grown children (Lauren Graham, Peter Krause, Dax Shepard, ErikaParenthood goes for a second try at the small screen after delays caused by cast and production changes to introduce the extended Bravermans clan. It includes Zeek and Camille's (Craig T. Nelson and Bonnie Bedelia) four grown children (Lauren Graham, Peter Krause, Dax Shepard, Erika Christensen) and their offspring. Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    Parenthood shows a funny, affecting, distinctive voice that you'll want to keep listening to.
  2. Parenthood isn't better than "Modern Family," but it's different--it's its own creation, thanks to the deft touch and careful characterizations developed by executive producer Jason Katims and his writers.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    75
    Tere's real promise in Parenthood. In time, we may all genuinely care whether Crosby and Sarah find themselves, or at least grow up.
  4. 60
    Parenthood is a fairly promising ensemble dramedy that shows TV expanding beyond an emphasis on nuclear families to look at broader family systems reaching from ages 5 to 75.
  5. A decent but slightly pedestrian family drama that throws off a "Brothers & Sisters" vibe whenever its sibling characters are in the same room.
  6. I've only seen two episodes and while I'm not yet ready to move in with the Bravermans, I'm at least curious to see what they're doing next.
  7. 30
    Even though Parenthood‘s parents are all making completely misguided choices, the series doesn’t consider these as a means to education, through which the adults might reach that kind of self-awareness. That lack of consideration is the series’ most unfortunate waste of a promising storyline, one that could have imbued this second version with something refreshing or even revelatory.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best shows I've seen in a long time. It's got real life stories that make you laugh and then will have you crying 5 minsThis is one of the best shows I've seen in a long time. It's got real life stories that make you laugh and then will have you crying 5 mins later. I hope this show stays on for a long time. Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    Great show, characters, ensemble and storyline. Started watching it this year and fell in love with the charaters and appreciate theGreat show, characters, ensemble and storyline. Started watching it this year and fell in love with the charaters and appreciate the character development - can't wait until next season! Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Love it, so enjoyable and really funny, the actors are amazing and the show gives you a warm fuzzy feeling, and at times can really make youLove it, so enjoyable and really funny, the actors are amazing and the show gives you a warm fuzzy feeling, and at times can really make you feel for the characters, only a. few shows can do that.....and this is one. Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Love the show, the characters, the diiferent families.
    I like this better than Brothers and sisters; B&S is just so chaotic and they're always
    Love the show, the characters, the diiferent families.
    I like this better than Brothers and sisters; B&S is just so chaotic and they're always arguing. I like this family drama as they deal with their daily lives and how they each deal with it. Love Monica Potter adn Sam Jeiger (Spelling....(Plays Joel)!
    Their teenage kids also deal with their problems, so we have the parents problems, grandparents problems as well as the kids......parents dealing with kids sex, withdrawl, drugs, cuteness, Asbergers, a child 'do-gooder' but mostly goes unnoticed
    Expand
  5. JodyG.
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    Welcome back Lauren Graham!!! She OWNS this show! I've missed her on TV and it's wonderful to have her back.
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    After watching this show since it started, I can honestly say this is one of the best dramas on primetime television, ever created. NotAfter watching this show since it started, I can honestly say this is one of the best dramas on primetime television, ever created. Not because it is extremely deep in context, but because it deals with issues and people whoe are just so relatable. Pregnancy, cancer, boyfriends, girlfriends, and parenting are all the central conflicts and they work in every single episode. It is meant to be a show that any average family can watch and say "I know how that feels", and its so addicting to see what seems like YOUR life play out on TV. Sure its a little overly dramatic and cheesy at times but for the most part, it is just plain and simple issues we all tend to go through. Its a hell of a lot better than 90% of the terribly unrelatable shows you watch like The Big Bang Theory or NCIS. Its funny, heartbreaking, and heartwarmin all at the same time. And thats what makes this show so great. Expand
  7. Jan 30, 2015
    0
    Let me start this show is really stupid and dumb. My mother is obsessed with this show and i don't know why. All the show is a bunch ofLet me start this show is really stupid and dumb. My mother is obsessed with this show and i don't know why. All the show is a bunch of cheating ass wives and husband complain about the life. furthermore i don't care why the hell this show is on i really could care less. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.