Parks and Recreation : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Parks and Recreation Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The mockumentary comedy follows the life of Leslie Knope (Amy Poehler), a Parks and Recreation employee.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. To act as if Parks has to be measured against that show's [The Office] standard gives short shrift to a genuinely funny and engaging comedy that bears stylistic similarities to "Office" but has a heart and mind all its own.
  2. There's more than enough absurd charm in the show, meanwhile, to make the wait worthwhile.
  3. It has a kind of sunny charm, a premise fit for a novel, and is built upon a pair of strong female leads, a rare enough thing in sitcoms. Poehler and Jones have a nice, contrapuntal rhythm. I stamp this show: approved.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    60
    This is a civil servant who has yet to be jaded, and the show is just good enough to keep you turning back in to see her unwarranted optimism curdle.
  5. The pilot is not especially funny. But it has potential.
  6. 50
    The problem with the pilot is in tone. Self-important and silly but optimistic and sweet is a hard mark to hit week after week.
  7. Parks and Recreation emerges a miscast mess.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 58
  2. Negative: 9 out of 58
  1. May 22, 2011
    10
    I started out watching this show thinking it was an Office rip-off, and in the first few episodes it definitely feels like that. I mean, manyI started out watching this show thinking it was an Office rip-off, and in the first few episodes it definitely feels like that. I mean, many of the people who worked for The Office migrated to this show, and it's got the same talking head format. So of course I made that immediate comparison, which turned me off to it initially. But the places they have taken all of the characters, and the stories they've woven around them are just fantastic, engrossing and entertaining. After a while you feel like these people are your good friends and you're peeking in on drama in their lives. That's how it was with The Office at first, but ever since about the end of the 4th season it all started feeling really contrived and I stopped caring about the characters, and they haven't been developing them with the kind of depth that they are developing the characters in Parks and Rec. I love everyone in this cast! Ron and April really stand out to me. Also, while we're making Office/Parks comparisons, one thing that stands out about Parks is that they don't focus on just one central character like in The Office with Michael. I mean, Leslie is the central character but she does not dominate like Michael does. It really feels like an ensemble cast, rather than a lead actor and supporting actors. SO! If you were put off by the first few episodes, or even just the first season, give it another chance, you will NOT regret it. Expand
  2. greg
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    absolutely hilarious, gets better each ep. this show needs to stay right where it is!
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely love this show. It is always so funny and I love the cast. Amy Poehler is so cute and hilarious. The show is always fun and isAbsolutely love this show. It is always so funny and I love the cast. Amy Poehler is so cute and hilarious. The show is always fun and is great on the NBC Thursday night lineup. I hope we continue to see this show on for along time to come. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    My wife and I started the show early on. I quit for awhile but the current material is so much better. The quirky ongoing inside jokes such asMy wife and I started the show early on. I quit for awhile but the current material is so much better. The quirky ongoing inside jokes such as 'little sebastian' the horse, Ron Swanson's ex wife Tammy 2 and Ron's fear of the Government make she show very funny for followers. The dark humor of April is a special jewel for the show. Definitely check this out. Expand
  5. JohnH
    Jun 1, 2009
    6
    Only really watchable because of the shows surrounding it.
  6. Apr 27, 2014
    5
    Taking into consideration the short, dorky first season, Parks and Recreation is a dumber, toned down version of The Office. Amy Poehler onTaking into consideration the short, dorky first season, Parks and Recreation is a dumber, toned down version of The Office. Amy Poehler on the lead tries everything she can but in the end, the result is a mixed bag of childish jokes, political innuendo that comes out rather flat and an extremely short range of characters that have lots of screen time but little background knowledge.
    The first season is not entirely bad. The pilot, unfortunately, gives a bad first impression. Is silly, way too mild, with no sharp Poehler humour to be found. Chapter 2 is also something of an abomination. Then the show starts to picks up, finding more love in the characters and taking advantage of the Mockumentary formula. It is a skippable season, due to length and quality, and to say its the worst of the 6 its an undeniable truth.
    Expand
  7. SheckyJ
    Dec 18, 2009
    0
    Amy Poehler proves without a doubt that she lacks any true acting or comedic skills. One must conclude that the staying power of this show Amy Poehler proves without a doubt that she lacks any true acting or comedic skills. One must conclude that the staying power of this show thus far has more to do with her network of NBC brass than with talent or viewership. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Parks and Recreation Series Finale

    Episode Review: Parks and Recreation Series Finale Image
    Published: February 25, 2015
    Find out what critics are saying about last night's series finale for NBC's Parks & Recreation.
  2. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  3. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  4. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  5. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.