• Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 20, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    A solid season with great turns from Jane Lynch, Adam Scott, and Lizzy Caplan, but the show suffered a little from clear budgetary restraints and inconsistency, making it simply a very good comedy, not a great one.
  2. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love Party Down. This show is so hilarious and I love the cast. The cast has great chemistry and are likable and fun. This show always keeps me laughing.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Excellent overlooked comedy series that should have been more successful. Witty, dry humor, and great actors. Not for everyone though, lots of mature content.
    "Are we having fun yet?"
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Love this show. Straddles the line between absurdism and reality pretty well, although the focal romance is more than a bit cliche, as well as unnecessary in my opinion. Too often Ron is swapped from being human to strictly a caricature, with mixed results, but all the other characters stay just grounded enough to be believable. Excellent cast and cameos, and think the venues were all quite interesting. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2012
    5
    This show has very intricate and intriguing story of the week that doesn't focus on the main characters. The stories that do are just bad but I have to admit not too bad the thing I can't get over is how bumbling, self-centered, and whiny these characters are. I can't believe the creators of this show expect us to feel sorry for these people for not making it in the media. These people are good looking and one is even Jewish and they expect us to believe these people have it really tough gaining success in the media and if they do then boo hoo hoo who gives a **** there are plenty of people who have it tougher than these people from minority races, to elderly people, to gay people, and average looking people. I can't give a bleeding **** for these whiny losers who cry over the fact they didn't make it there are thousands of people who don't make it my advice is get over it!!! This show if it wants to stop being mediocre and start being great should focus less on the main characters I didn't become famous sob story to the great comedic storylines each week that comes due to the catering business these people work for. If it wasn't for Ken Marino's character Ron Donald for being the everyman that just wants to make something of themselves and the acting of not just Ken Marino but also Adam Scott, Jane Lynch, and Jennifer Coolidge I would've never even given this show a 5. Although Adam's acting is GREAT his character's story is just plain bad. But I have to say the truly horrible part of this show is the acting of Lizzy Caplan and Martin Starr and their characters along with Ryan Hansen's character. Although for Ryan Hansen I have to say his acting wasn't bad thou he wasn't bad but he wasn't good either he was just mediocre in this but when it comes to Veronica Mars he was PLAIN AWESOME!!! and in Friends with Benefits he's also surprisingly Fantastic!!! I now in one final say I **** HATE LIZZY CAPLAN AND HER CHARACTER PLUS MARTIN STARR'S CHARACTER SHOULD JUST **** STICK A SOCK IN IT OR I'LL PUNCH THE **** OUT OF HIM!!!â Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    I seem to have a 'thing' for cancelled comedies and it astounds me that some managed to pass me by - thankfully I took a gamble on a recommendation from a site that said 'if you like this, you'll probably like this'. Two perfect seasons.
  7. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    Fantastic, unusual characters played hilariously by a great cast. The show seems is a bit unsure of itself in the beginning, but the season closes strong and sets up the second season well.
  8. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    An overlooked comedy. Too quirky and too unafraid of showing adult content to be a mainstream hit, it has established a cult following with its spectacular cast, cool premise, and creative writing. 8.3/10
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 80
    All of the characters are misfits, and the pleasure of Party Down is watching the actors riff off one another as they go to extremes.
  2. 88
    There is bitterness aplenty, but Party Down didn’t create these characters simply to mock them. There is also bittersweet sadness lurking behind these droll, incisive portraits of failure and self-deception.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Wallenstein
    80
    Lurking behind the surface of this raucous comedy is an astute meditation on the promise and peril of leading an unconventional life, something about which aspiring actors know a thing or two.