• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 20, 2010
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Kris King
    Jan 20, 2011
    38
    The series has a decent cast, a solid premise, and it's in the middle of the best block of comedy on television; how, then, did the show turn out to be so woefully bland?
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 19, 2011
    37
    If ill-cast, unfunny and thoroughly unoriginal are your ideas of perfection, then Perfect Couples just may be.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 20, 2011
    30
    If you have the misfortune of meeting their tiresome friends, you'll sympathize with them. And I can't imagine anyone wanting to come back for more.
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 19, 2011
    30
    Perfect Couples is so screechy, predictable and lame that I kind of despised these characters within minutes of being introduced to them.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 20, 2011
    25
    There isn't a single laugh line in the two episodes NBC sent out to critics, and you'd have to be nuts to want to spend five minutes, much less a half hour, with even one of the Perfect Couples, much less all three.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 20, 2011
    0
    Unfocused, unfunny and all together unbearable, Perfect Couples at least affords NBC a chance to hit rock bottom before the new owners begin their massive cleanup effort.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Feb 3, 2011
    9
    Perfect Couples is a creative, refreshing and imaginative comedy. The laughs are not derived from gags but unique reactions to situations. The show is highly enjoyable and often hysterical. I hope it catches on with viewers. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2011
    10
    Love this show! I don't know if I would say all of it's plot lines are original , but we see recycled plot lines all the time in the sitcom world. So when plot lines give you deja-vu, you have to rely on how likable the characters are and the actors portraying them. Perfect Couples is perfect in this sense. The characters/actors make it all worth watching. I haven't been this bummed about a show that (may or may not) be canceled since Better Off Ted. It's a shame because of all the other new couples shows out right now (Traffic Light, Mad Love etc), can't hold a candle to the Perfect Couple cast. Well, Judy Greer is the only good thing about Mad Love. Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    My husband and I love this show. The characters are hilarious and play off of each other so well! It did not take us long to catch on to the personality types and even relate them to people we know. This show is easy for us to catch when we can and still appreciate it. We do not always have Thursday nights free but when we do this is the show we watch to unwind and kick off Friday. Full Review »