• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 20, 2010
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 19, 2011
    40
    The three couples featured on Perfect Couples take on predictable lifestyle issues such as mancaves and game night with all the spark of a wet matchbook.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 20, 2011
    50
    The more [Vance (David Walton) is] allowed to cut loose, the closer Perfect edges to real humor.
  3. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Jan 19, 2011
    75
    Perfect Couples is almost there; "Better With You" is almost there. Maybe if the shows conjoined, the chemistry would be right.
  4. Reviewed by: Archana Ram
    Jan 18, 2011
    42
    Between the formulaic nature of the show, the totally exaggerated characters, and the forgettable, mediocre one-liners, we're struggling to find many laughs.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 20, 2011
    50
    There are some likable actors here, and funny moments here and there, but the two episodes I've seen suggest a show not in the league of the established comedies NBC has on that night.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 20, 2011
    60
    Although the pilot feels somewhat made-to-order and its characters are schematically arrayed - press materials describe them as "the everyday couple" (Kyle Bornheimer and Christine Woods), "the high-passion couple" (David Walton and Mary Elizabeth Ellis) and "the couple that strives to be perfect" (Hayes MacArthur and Olivia Munn)--subsequent episodes grow looser and more natural, even as they get stranger.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 20, 2011
    50
    There's nothing really wrong with the show, at least nothing you can easily put your finger on. It just lacks that elusive but absolutely necessary spark of life that turns a stack of script pages and publicity stills into something that will stop you from clicking the remote.
  8. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 19, 2011
    58
    Its rambling storytelling starts to reveal distinct shape in these people, their relationships and the show's quirky comic perspective [in the second episode].
  9. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    50
    It's well cast but conceptually unadventurous. [31 Jan 2011, p.39]
  10. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 20, 2011
    50
    There being few original ideas in television, execution matters. And though "Couples" fields a good cast, including Kyle Bornheimer ("Worst Week") and Mary Elizabeth Ellis ("It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia"), the two episodes I screened mostly felt forced and formulaic.
  11. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 20, 2011
    25
    There isn't a single laugh line in the two episodes NBC sent out to critics, and you'd have to be nuts to want to spend five minutes, much less a half hour, with even one of the Perfect Couples, much less all three.
  12. Reviewed by: Kris King
    Jan 20, 2011
    38
    The series has a decent cast, a solid premise, and it's in the middle of the best block of comedy on television; how, then, did the show turn out to be so woefully bland?
  13. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 20, 2011
    40
    Not only do [Kyle Bornheimer and Christine Woods] try heroically to make something out of nothing, but they also have a realness you'd actually want to watch--something that is buried by the other two couples spouting unfunny dialogue and flailing desperately to find identity in their characters.
  14. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 19, 2011
    30
    Perfect Couples is so screechy, predictable and lame that I kind of despised these characters within minutes of being introduced to them.
  15. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 20, 2011
    30
    If you have the misfortune of meeting their tiresome friends, you'll sympathize with them. And I can't imagine anyone wanting to come back for more.
  16. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 20, 2011
    0
    Unfocused, unfunny and all together unbearable, Perfect Couples at least affords NBC a chance to hit rock bottom before the new owners begin their massive cleanup effort.
  17. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 19, 2011
    37
    If ill-cast, unfunny and thoroughly unoriginal are your ideas of perfection, then Perfect Couples just may be.
  18. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 20, 2010
    40
    Kyle Bornheimer's the best thing Couples has going for it, and that's hardly enough incentive for viewers to turn what amounts to a hastily scheduled speed date into a one-night stand, much less a full-blown relationship.
  19. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Jan 4, 2011
    60
    While the show is clearly still finding its footing, there looks to be enough raw material there to make Perfect Couples, if not an instantly vital cog in NBC's Thursday comedy lineup, at least a reason to stay put between "Community" and "The Office."
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Feb 3, 2011
    9
    Perfect Couples is a creative, refreshing and imaginative comedy. The laughs are not derived from gags but unique reactions to situations. The show is highly enjoyable and often hysterical. I hope it catches on with viewers. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2011
    10
    Love this show! I don't know if I would say all of it's plot lines are original , but we see recycled plot lines all the time in the sitcom world. So when plot lines give you deja-vu, you have to rely on how likable the characters are and the actors portraying them. Perfect Couples is perfect in this sense. The characters/actors make it all worth watching. I haven't been this bummed about a show that (may or may not) be canceled since Better Off Ted. It's a shame because of all the other new couples shows out right now (Traffic Light, Mad Love etc), can't hold a candle to the Perfect Couple cast. Well, Judy Greer is the only good thing about Mad Love. Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    My husband and I love this show. The characters are hilarious and play off of each other so well! It did not take us long to catch on to the personality types and even relate them to people we know. This show is easy for us to catch when we can and still appreciate it. We do not always have Thursday nights free but when we do this is the show we watch to unwind and kick off Friday. Full Review »