• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    Person of Interest separates itself from the gimmick pack, not only because of superbly nuanced characterization and writing but also because of how it engages a post-9/11 sense of paranoia in its viewers.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 22, 2011
    88
    They may not enchant you, but they and their series, the best new hour this year, are unlikely to bore you. Would that every new show could say the same.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2011
    83
    [Caviezel] and Emerson make for one of fall's most formidable odd couples.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    A gritty, almost plausible winner, and distant reflection of Stephen Spielberg's "Minority Report."
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 16, 2011
    83
    The show can simultaneously unsettle, comfort, excite, and amuse its viewers--something for everyone, if you, like Mr. Finch, like to watch.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Great, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. There are no show like this one. Basically you have "at least" one imperfect person helping others. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    I like this series better, after 8 episodes, than I did at the beginning. I'm no longer much bothered by its premise: a terror-sniffing machine so sensitive that it predicts ordinary homicides but not sensitive enough to distinguish murderers from victims. I no longer wonder how even the world's least competent security agency could be induced to throw out data that would save police, courts, and emergency services billions of dollars, not to mention saving innumerable lives. Instead, I now focus on what the machine represents: vigilance without discernment, an omniscience that becomes an end in itself, rather than a means of preserving life and liberty. In that regard, "Person of Interest" seems one of the few 21st-century series to grapple with the effects of 9/11. For that and other reasons, the series now strikes me as fresher and more interesting than others devoted to the pursuit of justice. Where CSI and its spawn celebrate forensic technology as the fastest and purest route to truth, POI takes a more complex view, one focused on the powers, the limits, and the dangers of a technology that can only gesture in the general direction of truth but cannot make crucial distinctions, such as the one between murderer and victim. The contrast is everywhere, from acting style to soundtrack to cinematography. Compared to the luminous pastels and driving rock soundtracks of the CSI's, POI appears ominous and grim: blue-grey establishing shots with faux-CCTV effects, digital framing of random heads, the subtle foreboding of an orchestral score. POI's two principal characters are not heroes but anti-heroes; they are flawed, injured, even knowingly doomed. Both Reese and Finch hide almost everything about themselves, and their tendency to conceal their feelings has alienated some viewers, who feel deprived of an emotional connection to the protagonists. Again, however, I find their formality and circumspection interesting, their oblique dialog a refreshing break from the improbable self-revelation of the average TV crime-fighter. I now hope that other viewers who were, like me, on the fence are starting to appreciate the show. Full Review »
  3. CRL
    Oct 23, 2011
    10
    Person of Interest has gotten consistently better every week, so much so that I think it deserves a 10. Michael Emerson is amazing as the software genius Finch, and though I originally thought Jim Caviezel was seriously underacting in his role, now I realize he's just playing Reese (his character) the way Reese is meant to be played: dark, brooding, and with some insane fighting skills. Even the cops have gotten a bit larger in their roles, and the character development has been stellar. This is easily the best new show of the year, and I hope CBS keeps this one going for a long time. Full Review »