Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: John Teti
    Feb 27, 2014
    91
    It’s not that Portlandia has lost its sharp comic edge; rather, it has added a complementary sweetness that is somehow just as funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Alee Karim
    Feb 27, 2014
    90
    With several seasons under their belt, they effortlessly inhabit the hundreds of characters that populate their vision of Portland. That vision is simultaneously expanding and tightening.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Feb 26, 2014
    88
    [An] insightful sketch show.
  4. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Feb 24, 2014
    88
    Armisen, Brownstein, and Krisel are effectively crafting a multi-faceted comedy art project, the unfolding of which is both exciting and hysterical to watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Most sketch comedy shows decline with age but IFC's Portlandia continues to show signs of smart, savvy, new comic life in its fourth season.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    I don't get it! Every sketch is boring hipster trash. I love sketch shows and some of the sketches are funny until they run them into theI don't get it! Every sketch is boring hipster trash. I love sketch shows and some of the sketches are funny until they run them into the ground. I would rather watch any of the British sketch comedies. Convince me otherwise Portlandia. Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    Fred Armisen is a comedy genius and Carrie Brownstein matches him tit for tat as they send up Portland archetypes. I've never set foot inFred Armisen is a comedy genius and Carrie Brownstein matches him tit for tat as they send up Portland archetypes. I've never set foot in Portland Oregon and I find myself cracking up. Full Review »
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    If you have ever spent time in the Pacific Northwest or hipsters in general, this show is hilarious satire. "Dream of the 90s" is such truthIf you have ever spent time in the Pacific Northwest or hipsters in general, this show is hilarious satire. "Dream of the 90s" is such truth for that area. Full Review »