Project Runway Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Project Runway returns from a long hiatus and a move to Los Angeles to a new channel.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Health & Lifestyle, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Tim Gunn still motherhens the designers, the dramatic arcs feel familiar (one designer is a recovering addict, another gave up a career as a surgeon), and--wonders to behold--there's even a branch of the fabric store Mood in Runway's new Los Angeles home.
  2. Reviewed by: Anne Bratskeir
    91
    If you loved it before, you'll love it again. "Auf"-ully good.
  3. 88
    As usual, high-voltage drama ensues, including a big tear-down when one designer is given the completely wrong measurements for the model who will wear his gown.
  4. Did the new network screw up the show? Not that I could tell from the incomplete first episode sent for review (no judge's remarks or eliminations).
  5. 80
    Either executives did a lot of soul-searching and decided to change nothing, or they let the show go on without thinking at all. Either way, they made the right move.
  6. Reviewed by: Randee Dawn
    80
    For now, Runway is precisely what long-time fashionistas have been slavering for all these months. Best-dressed, indeed.
  7. As usual with premiere episodes, it's not until the end that we start to sense which contestants we can ignore and which ones could be around awhile. The pace will quicken once we have a better sense of the lineup.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. GrrravyX
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    As long as Tim and Heidi are involved, this show can do no wrong. Everything in the pilot episode was up to par with what we're used to As long as Tim and Heidi are involved, this show can do no wrong. Everything in the pilot episode was up to par with what we're used to enjoying. Bravo! (no pun intended) Collapse
  2. GregK
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    Doesn't quite have the captivation of last season or the one before that.
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It shows you how with a simple sketch, material from mood how they make some of the clothes.
    this past season they did teams. The concept was good except sometimes they weren't that helpful to one another.
    I was truly upset when they changed the rules at the last minute. Michelle was kicked off her outfits didn't come up to par. Everyone went to a foreign country that was about being the fashion of the world. Michelle was left to stay in New York. She was kicked off and because of this major hiccup she survived to the finials and Daniel was kicked off and wasn't allowed to go to Lincoln Center. I was truly disappointed with this show after that. No one else got a due over. Her demeanor was very ugly to other designers.
    Expand
  4. jackson
    Aug 26, 2009
    0
    What an incompetent show for the sixth season. If 5 wasn't to much already. How does this garbage make it to tv every year?
  5. MartinS
    Sep 20, 2009
    0
    Great! Another season of the vapid, self indulgent, superficial, materialistic uber-race. I guess it truly is better to look good than to Great! Another season of the vapid, self indulgent, superficial, materialistic uber-race. I guess it truly is better to look good than to feel good. Shows like this are why this country is going to hell at break neck speed. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    0
    Welcome in the selfish, materialistic world of fashion designers and other fashion dictators. I would rather watch paint dry than Heidi andWelcome in the selfish, materialistic world of fashion designers and other fashion dictators. I would rather watch paint dry than Heidi and her toe-lickers... These people smile into each others face, while stabbing each other in the back. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: TV's Best and Worst Reality Competition Shows

    Ranked: TV's Best and Worst Reality Competition Shows Image
    Published: July 27, 2010
    Reality competition shows have become a fixture of primetime television over the past decade. Our reality TV expert selects some of the best and worst examples of the genre from the past 10 years.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.