Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 22, 2013
    90
    It's not easy viewing, but this series offers smart, challenging, character-driven drama at its finest.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 22, 2013
    90
    Rectify is touching in so many ways, and the only drawback is that six hours is not nearly enough to tell this story, with an open-ended conclusion that's more disturbing than satisfying.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 19, 2013
    90
    What makes Rectify so rich and compelling are the choices it makes to avoid predictability--not just in its bold choice of immersive pacing, but because it puts characters (and complicated ones) into what feels like a familiar story and makes it seem new.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 19, 2013
    83
    Takes time to get into, but once in, you're in.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 22, 2013
    91
    For some, the six hours of Rectify will feel like a very slow sentence indeed. For others, the performances, the very clear sense of time and place, the beautiful images and the thoughtful things the series has to say about life, death and spirituality will feel like no time at all.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 22, 2013
    100
    There's not a bad performance to be had in Rectify, which even features Hal Holbrook as Holden's former lawyer. But it's Young, whose character veers from a deceptive lethargy to moments of dry humor, who carries every scene he's in as he finds ways to allow us glimpses of the man still imprisoned behind the mask.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 22, 2013
    100
    Although its principal supporting players are first-rate, Rectify would be lost in transition without Young’s stellar work in the lead role. It’s a fearless, fully immersed, Emmy caliber performance tinged with sadness, searching, primitive pleasures and even a little comedy.
  8. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Apr 22, 2013
    100
    It isn't just good TV, it's revelatory TV. The genre's biggest potential game changer since AMC debuted the one-two punch of "Mad Men" and "Breaking Bad."
  9. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Apr 22, 2013
    90
    By the standards of most TV crime stories, the meditative Rectify may instead seem like too little. But it’s entrancing at showing how, in some circumstances, just getting through a day is drama enough.
  10. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 15, 2013
    88
    The series has a cinematic feel, with plenty of stand-alone, poignant moments punctuating each episode.
  11. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Apr 19, 2013
    90
    Moody, dark yet at times poetic, this is TV made in the indie-film style, without pretense. Adult, premium-cable caliber without the visual excess.
  12. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 22, 2013
    100
    It's a powerful, emotionally engaging character study.
  13. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Apr 25, 2013
    90
    The good news is that this contemplative, utterly engrossing and frequently gorgeous character study achieves and then surpasses both of those goals [justify the network's foray into the field while living up to the Sundance brand] over the course of its initial six episode season.
  14. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    100
    It’s a breathtaking work of immense beauty and a thought-provoking meditation on the nature of crime and punishment, of identity and solitude, of guilt and absolution. It is, quite simply, the best new show of 2013.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This is a mesmerizing and engrossing story that captured me right from the first episode. It raises all kinds of questions and thoughts about someone missing 20 years on the outside. Very thought provoking; we need more of this kind of programming. Have seen 3 can't wait for the next 3. Bravo to the writers, producers, directors and fine cast. Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2013
    10
    While Sundance Festival may discover fragile intelligent independent movies, it also sometimes expose badly filmed,casted and written cheap ones. So I was curious to see what Mr Redford channel would offer for its first series. The first scene gave me an early hint,it is magnificent, this man in the check out room, in between the world he knows, obscure and the frightening sunny world outside, limited dialog. This series will be cinematic, base on directing more than scenario a good one though). This is not a judiciary story but the story of a man, mysterious, profoundly changed by its jailed time, who was still teenage when the movie of its life took a brutal stop. It add to the subtlety to ignore whether he did it or not and his silence about it. The dysfunctional recomposed family is source of lot of deep moment. Few examples When Ted junior asks his wife to get naked, the humiliation he impose her, like an object. Then, when he is about to leave for a seminar, she turn on the hairdryer and next image, we see what we guess, her hair are already dry,she just doesn't want to listen to him. Ted, the villain so far, manipulative with his stepmother but way too idiot to manipulate Daniel (golf scene). I stop here,so many great moments in this show. The atmosphere,idiosyncratic a bit remind me of the cult Twin Peaks, the country people, closed community who buries their secrets. The quality of the dialog remind me of Six feet under. This is really the type of series I love and so far, along with House of cards, my favorite this season Full Review »
  3. May 4, 2013
    10
    I have watched only one episode and I am already hooked. This is exactly the type of show I love. One that has a very compelling story with deep history of the characters that will be revealed as time passes. I was engrossed and moved. What more can anyone ask for........ Full Review »