• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Red Widow Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the Dutch series Penoza, Marta Walraven (Radha Mitchell) discovers she must continue her murdered husband's illegal business activities if she wants to protect their three children from a crime boss.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Mar 4, 2013
    80
    It’s entertaining and engrossing.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Mar 1, 2013
    67
    The thriller elements are mostly nonstarters, but the show does offer some genuine pleasures, thanks to the overqualified cast. [8 Mar 2013, p.73]
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 27, 2013
    58
    Red Widow isn't as compelling as Last Resort was in its early episodes. But it's appreciably better than those other two. Still, consumer confidence in Red Widow's staying power should be rightfully suspect at best. And in Sunday's second half, the premise already shows some signs of unraveling on the road to potential ridiculosity.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 26, 2013
    50
    All told, there's enough here to stick around a little while, but this is one of those premises almost designed to strain plausibility over time.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    ABC's high-aspiring but poorly executed Red Widow.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 1, 2013
    40
    If Red Widow were more psychologically twisty or more excessive and over-the-top, it could be more engaging. As it is, the show is ludicrous and not much fun.
  7. Reviewed by: Sean Higgins
    Mar 4, 2013
    0
    Red Widow feels focus-grouped and dramatically scattered. All of the show's characters, right down to Marta's Russian mob-boss father (Rade Šerbedžija) are so clichéd that the episodes begin to feel like dramatizations of TV Tropes entries.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    At first I wasn't too sure about this show but smart writing and great cast got me hooked. I can't wait to see more. Radha Mitchell was good choice for the role. everyone else too. this just seems so different for network TV and ABC did good for producing a little edgier program. I sure hope ABC doesn't cancel it should be good after revenge Collapse
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This is one of those shows I was afraid to watch, assuming it was all but canceled before even premiering, but ended up getting drawn in anyway. Compared to a lot of what networks are throwing out there these days, I really think Red Widow is a winner, and wish people would give it more of a chance. Most of the negative critical reviews had to do with the opener, which tried to do a lot and set up a lot with mixed results, but the show has been steadily getting better with each episode. We need more shows like this. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    Love this show. Please do not cancel! Really Love this show Red Widow. Red Widow is truly a winner. I too give a 10! Lots of drama, money, family superficial reality that makes a good show! Try it, promise you'll like it. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Giving this a 10 considering this is one of the best shows I've seen on ABC in years. Cable quality show with solid cast. Only thing missing is more action but looks like its building up to that. Cool show. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I love that there is now a drama that has it all! (money, drugs, family and sexual tension). I haven't been this excited for a show in year's. I can't stand all the superficial reality tv that has become the popular genre. I like watching actors do just that act. Praying ABC gives it a chance. Expand
  6. May 4, 2013
    9
    Great show!
    The pilot was boring and I decided not to watch it. Then I saw another episode and was hooked.
    Hope they don't cancel this show.

    I just got attached to the three kids.
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    While Breaking Bad excelled at portraying the precarious balancing act between the Criminal and Domestic life for it's protagonist, Red Widow fails spectacularly. With a dreadful delivery of a potentially rewarding plot, Marta continually bemoans her situation and lack of a viable means of escape while ignoring every potential way out offered to her by those who would gladly help remove her from her predicament. The only saving grace of Red Widow is the standout performances of Visnjic, Goss, Newman and Šerbedžija, who bring an air of depth to the otherwise bland and uninteresting collection of characters. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews