Sarah Palin's Alaska : Season 1

  • Network: TLC
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 14, 2010
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    Every scene, no matter where it's filmed, inevitably seems to become some kind of Palin political dispatch.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Dec 8, 2010
    58
    Sarah Palin's Alaska turns out to be a tepid travelogue of the former governor's home state's tourist attractions interspersed with homespun homilies and family downtime.
  3. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    It's essentially "John & Kate Plus Eight." Minus the divorce. Plus cavorting grizzly bears.
  4. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    It's the fabulous shamelessness, the awful and yet admirable brilliance of the thing. Whether Palin will ever run for office or not, Sarah Palin's Alaska sets a new standard for political ads.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    Palin is a decent, likable guide to the wonders of Alaska, when we get to them. But the real agenda of this show more often seems to be the wonders of Sarah Palin.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    If "Survivor" and "Gene Simmons Family Jewels" had a love child, it would be called "Sarah Palin's Alaska.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 9, 2010
    58
    Sarah Palin's Alaska is part-travelogue, part-"Todd and Sarah Plus Eight," part-slick political infomercial, and part Mark Burnett hokum - and oddly fascinating for all those reasons.
  8. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    It delivers only a couple of brown bears and virtually no entertainment, but plenty of Palin, Palin, and more Palin.
  9. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    If not for the polarizing nature of its star--people who love her and hate her will tune in to revel in her Palin-ness or mock her for it--no one would be talking about this dull, derivative TV show.
  10. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Chuck Barney
    Dec 9, 2010
    58
    Surely it will have Palin lovers rushing to plant wet smooches on the screen and all the haters citing it as proof that TV is, indeed, full of dreck.
  11. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    Judged by the standards of the form, it is totally OK. There is a soothing mundanity to it, and voyeurs will come away gratified. Though this is hardly an intimate portrait.
  12. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    If you loathe Palin, well, Sarah Palin's Alaska will not change that. If you love Palin, there's probably plenty here to solidify your beliefs.
  13. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    The snowcapped mountains, pine forests and shimmering lakes are majestic, the Palin children are adorable, and the series looks like a travelogue--wholesome, visually breathtaking and a little dull.
  14. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    The Palin's in Sarah Palin's Alaska is a possessive. But you could be forgiven for suspecting it's really a contraction--Sarah Palin Is Alaska--or for wondering if someone is hoping for a spin-off: Sarah Palin's America.
  15. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    So boring? You betcha--perhaps even for many who otherwise admire Palin.
  16. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    It's still pretty blah and rarely rises above a relative's chatty slide show of vacation pictures.
User Score
1.5

Overwhelming dislike- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 6 out of 9
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    0
    While I don't mind a nature show set in Alaska, I do not want a Sarah Palin nature show! It would be no different then the right-wing biased Fox News!
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    0
    nobody cares, why is this on T.V.? i fell asleep watching this boring ass show, and when i wasn't sleeping i was stunned at the stupid crapnobody cares, why is this on T.V.? i fell asleep watching this boring ass show, and when i wasn't sleeping i was stunned at the stupid crap flowing out of Palins mouth. to sum it up, there were better shows then this garbage that got canceled after the first episode. Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    A truly awful show presented by a truly boring woman. I thought the political ads had finished for now but this is a really low-brow grab forA truly awful show presented by a truly boring woman. I thought the political ads had finished for now but this is a really low-brow grab for attention. Make it your New Year's resolution to avoid this show at all costs. Full Review »