• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 5, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. 60
    It's the new Revenge, but so much goofier and more shameless that it makes Revenge look comparatively measured.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 5, 2012
    60
    If Olivia can keep her edge, if Rhimes can keep the stories as strong as the soap, and if we start feeling we don't know exactly what to expect, "Scandal" could become a habit worth forming.
  3. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Apr 5, 2012
    60
    The show's formula looks to be this: the silly plots swirl, the brokers scheme, and the minions toil, but in each episode, Liv finds a moment to chat with one of these wise, powerful, and inevitably troubled women. In these moments, Scandal is slightly less tabloidy and soapy, and slightly more beguiling.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Apr 3, 2012
    60
    While the characters are slight and the dialog is silly, there's a story there somewhere.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 2, 2012
    60
    The show's set in Washington, where the crises that need managing are unending, so there's bound to be material, some of it all too familiar.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 5, 2012
    58
    Over the top? Yeah. Closer to the truth of the matter? That, too.
  7. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 2, 2012
    58
    At once cynical and softhearted, Scandal is a nighttime soap less believable than Private Practice. Good acting, though.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    If only what's new about Scandal was supported by something better than blah writing, ludicrous situations and cardboard characters.
  9. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    The banging-the-president plot may outdo "Grey's" and "Private Practice's" in sheer headline-grabbing, gonzo boldness, but it's still ill-advised. The chief executive needs to button up, and even Shonda Rhimes can't make a TV show escapist and over the top enough to obviate that--though, it sure should be interesting to watch her try.
  10. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 3, 2012
    50
    To enjoy the show, though, you really have to suspend disbelief at many points, just as you do with "Grey's." There are moments when the frenetic drive for cleverness prompts some rather silly decisions about plot points.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 47
  2. Negative: 14 out of 47
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    I discovered Scandal really late. I am not a fan of Private Practice or Greys so I avoided this show but I am now hooked,. Scandal is smart,I discovered Scandal really late. I am not a fan of Private Practice or Greys so I avoided this show but I am now hooked,. Scandal is smart, fast and sexy. Its like a romance ,mystery , crime novel wrapped up in a nice package . I love it Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    2
    This show had a lot of promise and decent production values but the writing and acting are simply horrible, on the caliber of high school. TheThis show had a lot of promise and decent production values but the writing and acting are simply horrible, on the caliber of high school. The characters are unimaginative stereotypes which allows you to know what's going to happen in every scene without any effort. After slogging through this premiere ep I couldn't delete it fast enough and to unschedule all future recordings of it - this show needs to be cancelled asap. Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2012
    1
    Very disappointing. Unbelievable storyline, no depth to the acting. I lasted 20 minutes and could not continue. I particularly didn't likeVery disappointing. Unbelievable storyline, no depth to the acting. I lasted 20 minutes and could not continue. I particularly didn't like the lead character who so seemed somewhat vacuous. Full Review »