• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 5, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Scandal Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A former White House communications director, Olivia Pope (Kerry Washington) now runs her own crisis management firm, helping clients fix potential career-ending problems.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 5, 2012
    83
    On "Grey's Anatomy," particularly in the first two years, Rhimes proved herself skilled at crafting gripping love stories. She's outdone herself here.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    Even if Scandal isn't quite as instantly addictive as "Grey's Anatomy" was back in the day, this is a well-paced, generally well-acted show with some promising elements (though there is also an occasional tendency to offer contrived redemptions that don't make a ton of sense).
  3. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Apr 6, 2012
    70
    It's still a fun, fast ride, with lots of twists and turns, murder and menace, and after only a few episodes we know enough back story about most of the main characters to care what happens to them.
  4. The cast around Washington is also quite solid, and the show looks and is refreshingly different from a typical procedural. But it also feels a little too slick and superficial, and those gaps in logic may be a problem for some viewers.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    This female-skewing drama gets points for its actors' performances and its originality.
  6. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Apr 5, 2012
    60
    The show's formula looks to be this: the silly plots swirl, the brokers scheme, and the minions toil, but in each episode, Liv finds a moment to chat with one of these wise, powerful, and inevitably troubled women. In these moments, Scandal is slightly less tabloidy and soapy, and slightly more beguiling.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 30, 2012
    30
    As usual, Rhimes' workplace characters talk very fast, but the manic visual style can't obscure a series flawed on most every level.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I don't know why people keep on comparing this with Grey's anatomy. I don't know other people's standards but watching the first season, this is one hell lot of a TV show! Good casting, incredible acting, US-TV show standard twists and entertainingly addictive. This is even better than Suits! Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Fantastic television. Fun, sexy, and smart. Reminds of how Grey's Anatomy was in the beginning. Can't wait to see more. I have seen the first two episodes already and just keeps getting better. The cast is fantastic especially Jeff Perry, who plays Cyrus. Keep watching, I promise you won't be able to stop. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    I discovered Scandal really late. I am not a fan of Private Practice or Greys so I avoided this show but I am now hooked,. Scandal is smart, fast and sexy. Its like a romance ,mystery , crime novel wrapped up in a nice package . I love it Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    Season 1 is relatively short but the acting and dialogue make this show worth watching. Kerry Washington is gold and the rest of the cast delivers as well. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    This show started with a group of highly unlikely characters, believing unlikely things uttering an unlikely dialogue. Initially we got only glimpses of characters. As the show has moved on, we start to get to know the characters much better, they have better dialogue and their actions make more sense. My primary objection initially was that the main character is described by her colleagues with awe yet she never inspires awe. She is still not an awesomely inspiring person but she does come across as highly competent at what she does. The show has improved significantly after its pilot. So I watched it some more and it has started to grow on me. Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2012
    4
    The show started out with promise, but it has been reduced to a show where everyone shouts condescending speeches at each other. There are a few just whiny and awful characters that need to go. The main characters are good if they could have better writing. I hope the show gets back to a more realistic dialogue. Collapse
  7. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    Kerry Washington totally ruins this otherwise pretty good series. I don't think I ever saw such poor acting anywhere else. Every single scene she plays is overacted and fake. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews