Scandal : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 5, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Scandal Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A former White House communications director, Olivia Pope (Kerry Washington) now runs her own crisis management firm, helping clients fix potential career-ending problems.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 5, 2012
    83
    On "Grey's Anatomy," particularly in the first two years, Rhimes proved herself skilled at crafting gripping love stories. She's outdone herself here.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    Even if Scandal isn't quite as instantly addictive as "Grey's Anatomy" was back in the day, this is a well-paced, generally well-acted show with some promising elements (though there is also an occasional tendency to offer contrived redemptions that don't make a ton of sense).
  3. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Apr 6, 2012
    70
    It's still a fun, fast ride, with lots of twists and turns, murder and menace, and after only a few episodes we know enough back story about most of the main characters to care what happens to them.
  4. The cast around Washington is also quite solid, and the show looks and is refreshingly different from a typical procedural. But it also feels a little too slick and superficial, and those gaps in logic may be a problem for some viewers.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    This female-skewing drama gets points for its actors' performances and its originality.
  6. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Apr 5, 2012
    60
    The show's formula looks to be this: the silly plots swirl, the brokers scheme, and the minions toil, but in each episode, Liv finds a moment to chat with one of these wise, powerful, and inevitably troubled women. In these moments, Scandal is slightly less tabloidy and soapy, and slightly more beguiling.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 30, 2012
    30
    As usual, Rhimes' workplace characters talk very fast, but the manic visual style can't obscure a series flawed on most every level.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 50
  2. Negative: 15 out of 50
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I don't know why people keep on comparing this with Grey's anatomy. I don't know other people's standards but watching the first season, thisI don't know why people keep on comparing this with Grey's anatomy. I don't know other people's standards but watching the first season, this is one hell lot of a TV show! Good casting, incredible acting, US-TV show standard twists and entertainingly addictive. This is even better than Suits! Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    better than a demonic and violent show like game of thrones, also starring beautiful ebony that any man would drool over. first off Carriebetter than a demonic and violent show like game of thrones, also starring beautiful ebony that any man would drool over. first off Carrie Washington is to hotness what Dane cook is to comedy, she's chocolate wonder of the new age a mightier then the midas touch. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    I discovered Scandal really late. I am not a fan of Private Practice or Greys so I avoided this show but I am now hooked,. Scandal is smart,I discovered Scandal really late. I am not a fan of Private Practice or Greys so I avoided this show but I am now hooked,. Scandal is smart, fast and sexy. Its like a romance ,mystery , crime novel wrapped up in a nice package . I love it Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Decent show. Olivia's dad intriguing, cy is fun. smart writing. interesting enough to continue forward, prefer back to back episodes to getDecent show. Olivia's dad intriguing, cy is fun. smart writing. interesting enough to continue forward, prefer back to back episodes to get deeper. the photo click scene changes get annoying! love the assassin. decent tv Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    Full disclosure: I watched two episodes.

    This promises to be a lousy show. This is for people who didn't watch "Lie to Me" and many other
    Full disclosure: I watched two episodes.

    This promises to be a lousy show. This is for people who didn't watch "Lie to Me" and many other 6/10 and 7/10 shows that this one apes badly.

    I'm certain that Darby Stanchfield (Abby) can make more than two facial expressions, so I think she should have been asked to make them on this show.

    There's plenty of acting talent on the screen. This show doesn't give them the characters, lines, and direction they need to make it work.
    Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2015
    3
    I can't hack the utterly ridiculous self-righteous and overheated speeches being spouted every five seconds. They are beyond tiresome and myI can't hack the utterly ridiculous self-righteous and overheated speeches being spouted every five seconds. They are beyond tiresome and my eyes started to hurt from excessive rolling. I think they are going for a comic book, Justice League-with-lawyers-style here, but the lectures are just too long and too frequent. Superheroes take action, they don't sermonize. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    Kerry Washington totally ruins this otherwise pretty good series. I don't think I ever saw such poor acting anywhere else. Every single sceneKerry Washington totally ruins this otherwise pretty good series. I don't think I ever saw such poor acting anywhere else. Every single scene she plays is overacted and fake. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers