• Network: Bravo
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 11, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 9, 2012
    60
    Shahs of Sunset doesn't have any great message except maybe that the world of money knows no geographic boundaries.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 12, 2012
    50
    While obnoxious luxury is always watchable, the show is lazily cookie-cutter. [19 Mar 2012, p.42]
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 12, 2012
    50
    Shahs of Sunset, which plays like a cross between "Jersey Shore" with an older cast and "The Real Housewives of Oblivion."
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 9, 2012
    50
    Resolutely generic.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Stack
    Mar 8, 2012
    50
    Unfortunately, it's just another reality showcase for people bragging about their wealth.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 8, 2012
    42
    Another insufferable nose-pressed-against-the-glass reality romp that says the rich are just like you and me--only rich, and exceedingly, tiresomely narcissistic.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 12, 2012
    40
    Though a stray remark of substance here and there escapes into the narrative, the six-part series, which premieres Sunday, has nothing much serious on its mind.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 12, 2012
    40
    The series keeps retreating to familiar tropes of the docu-soap genre, from a contentious dinner to a pool party that produces more finger-wagging verbal pugilism.
  9. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 8, 2012
    38
    The show, yet another "reality" show starring a bunch of rich people who supposedly spend all their time together, partying, fake arguing and creating drama out of nothing, is so dull, it makes "Russian Dolls" look exciting.
  10. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 12, 2012
    30
    Their ostentatiousness is more off-putting than aspirational and, frankly, it feels deliberately exaggerated for the camera's benefit.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I gave this show a chance, no I am giving it 1 season to terminate. Its a embarrassment to the Persian community. They're not rich, they areI gave this show a chance, no I am giving it 1 season to terminate. Its a embarrassment to the Persian community. They're not rich, they are so low class. They show off way to much and their dirty rental condos.They are more like gypsies ! lol

    a bunch of arrogant idiots, showing off. Ryan, what were you thinking producing this show?
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    At first i didn't like it that much. Now I won't miss any episode of it. It's the story of persian-americans in their thirty and forties (andAt first i didn't like it that much. Now I won't miss any episode of it. It's the story of persian-americans in their thirty and forties (and twenties) who party hard and work smart and hard as well. I have learned some stuff from it. It is a little non-american since i don't see the usage of drugs in it ! which is good. In real life in these parties across america pot is the center piece of these gathering. I like to see more shows like this. Reza born to a muslim mom and a jew dad has a lot to offer beside proving to the iranian president that "there are gay iranians indeed!" and beside the fact that some gays are smarter than the average.But pushing to help to heal the differences between muslims and jews. Life should not have any boundaries. Full Review »
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I think Shahs of Sunset is a great show, and itâ