• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 9, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 8
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 6, 2011
    90
    [The] sentimental streak in the show is compensated by Frank's coldness and the scrappy urban realism, translated so effectively from the British original.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 6, 2011
    100
    Shameless is excellent, compelling television from the first moment. As long as it stays true to the roots of the original, it's going to be essential viewing.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 4, 2011
    100
    Abbott makes sure the quirkiness of the Gallaghers is firmly rooted in three-dimensional, credible characterization. You never feel a bit of inauthenticity here.
  4. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Jan 6, 2011
    88
    The charm of the show--and of the Gallagher family--is in its anarchy.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Jan 9, 2011
    90
    While there's a little something lost in translation, the show retains enough of the core of the original that--bolstered by strong performances from top to bottom--it's as good a remake as any import since "The Office."
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 219 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    You will love this show, every character is his own world, from crazy, spaced out kids, to troublesome teenagers, to drunk and sexually twisted adults. Highly recommended, can't wait for season 2. Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Very entertaining series that mixes drama with funny situations. I hope to continue with many more seasons, like Shemless UK, which has 11 seasons.
    William H. Macy, plays a great performance playing the drug addict and alcoholic Frank Gallagher
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    It was painful sitting through the Pilot, my friends told me it was so awesome and I feel completely let down. I kept telling myself maybe it will get better but it really didn't. I stomached maybe 20 minutes into the second episode and couldnt take anymore. Full Review »