• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 9, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 8
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 9, 2012
    91
    Because the bond between them is so strong, all the show's disparate pieces - the filthy comedy and the desperation, the joy and the depression - hold together just as well.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 5, 2012
    88
    If you want bold activities, high drama and laughs motivated by something other than fame, tune in for Season 2 of Shameless.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 4, 2012
    88
    Almost nothing about this series is conventional. That's part of the appeal.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 13, 2012
    63
    The show is technically flawless--so is Macy strutting like a mangy Mick Jagger--but the Gallaghers' raucous, defiant pride never really engages me. [20 Feb 2012, p.46]
  5. Reviewed by: Luke De Smet
    Jan 9, 2012
    63
    The second season of Showtime's aptly titled Shameless often feels less like a new season and more like a sequel, in which the major players remain the same, but the volume is amplified and the ante doubled.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Probably one of the best shows on TV. All the actors are great, even the kids, and we can all easily connect with their characters. It's almost impossible not to like this show. I also love the comedy resulted by all those hard situations they have to go through. Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    One of my favorite television dramas. The characters are all great, and Paul Abbott does a brilliant job keeping the story fresh. Fiona, Lip, Frank and all the other Gallagher's are easy to relate to, and the actors who play them do an awesome job making this dysfunctional family come to life. By far the most realistic family on TV. Full Review »
  3. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I laughed, cried, cheered, gasped, damned, and loved the first season. This Full Package is entertaining as hell! (only for open-minded and mature Adults) Full Review »