Sherlock Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 495 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two years have passed since the end of The Reichenbach Fall and Sherlock returns to London to find not everything is the same in the first episode, which was loosely based on Conan Doyle's The Adventure of the Empty House.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 14, 2014
    100
    The performances are even better than in previous years, with brand new but fully credible sides of Holmes’ and Watson’s characters. And the writing, by Moffat and Gatiss, is in a league by itself.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 16, 2014
    100
    The PBS series is more marvelous, and thrilling, than ever.
  3. 100
    Sherlock (and Sherlock [the show]) is that good, we do forgive his callousness, and yeah, we'll wait for two years for his return and never let our fervor flag. In exchange, when the miracle happens and he (and the show) come back, he's as good or maybe better than ever.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Mostly, the show deserves to do well because it’s so bloody good--smart, whimsical and occasionally laugh-out-loud funny, finding fresh, distinctive avenues into this venerable character, even with multiple incarnations currently in circulation.
  5. Reviewed by: Ted Pigeon
    Jan 15, 2014
    88
    [Sherlock's third season] at last settles into its own assured rhythm, simultaneously honoring the swift escapist roots of Doyle's writing while also mounting a heady meditation on friendship and brotherhood.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Jan 10, 2014
    83
    Watching these two friends bond anew--and meeting a more empathetic. vulnerable Holmes--makes for warm and witty fun. [17 Jan 2014, p.61]
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 17, 2014
    70
    Sherlock moves swiftly and intelligently but also a little too coldly, like a long commercial for better WiFi..... Cumberbatch’s take on Holmes’s narcissism can come off as skeevishly robotic. If not for Freeman’s deeper, more human work as Watson, the style would soon go sterile.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 53
  2. Negative: 10 out of 53
  1. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Just finishing up series 2 and I can seriously rate this as one of the best TV shows to date. I would rate this as high as Breaking bad, if you've seen this then you'll know how high of a praise that is.

    Stop reading reviews and watch it!
    Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    Another outstanding season and well worth the wait mind you, it's truly a treat to get to start the year with some new sherlock episode's. Granted each season ends after three episodes so you aren't watching sherlock episodes for very long, but the sheer length of each episode you'll hardly care. And if by any chance you haven't seen this fallen in love with sherlock and watson get to it and watch it !!!! to those of you who have seen the entire series thus far will know what i'm talking about.... but to those who haven't seen this season and are fans i'll say this episode sherlock has you attention, episode 2 your curiosity and episode 3 the show will have your allegiance(like it didn't already) Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    After a year and a half hiatus, the greatest British television phenomenon since Doctor Who proves that, going into its third season, it's not planning on slowing down or falling for third season slump. BBC's Sherlock, which features electrifying writing, high-end production, and absolutely phenomenal acting, hits the ground running in its first episode, resolving the cliffhanger of the decade from season two while warmly inviting its viewers back into its slick crime-solving, ego-busting milieu.
    If there is one thing in this first episode that stands out as particularly laudable, it is Martin Freeman's dazzling portrayal of John Watson. After spending more than a year coping with the traumatic suicide of his closest friend (the feelings run so deep, some will speculate it goes beyond platonic), he reacts to the untimely and jocular return of Sherlock with such passion and credibility that he uncompromisingly validates - no, reifies - no, objectifies the character he has been able to establish with only nine hours of television. If Freeman (and to a lesser extent, Cumberbatch) are not showered with nominations by around this time of the year in 2015, you can be rest assured I will throw a fit.
    Glossy visual effects create more elaborated manifestations of Sherlock's enigmatic thought processes (more words are floating in mid-air, more images and memories whoosh by the screen to the sound of beeping technology and murmuring voices), but it's always for the better. Although some may consider the crime the duo solve in the first episode to be a little underdeveloped and convoluted, any returning fan (I included) will proudly proclaim how blown away they were by what is arguably the most impressive season premiere in Sherlock history. Unsurprisingly, the Brits at BBC have done it again.

    FINAL SCORE: 97.5 (almost perfect ---------------o----- perfect)
    Collapse
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    This is still a brilliantly entertaining series but the introduction of Mary has made things go down hill somewhat. She's such a boring character, even when you find out more about her. Really bland and lifeless. Reminds me of David Brent's girlfriend in the office. I don't see the point of even making John's wife such a central character.

    The first two episodes are superb but the third takes a serious nose dive in terms of where they've decided to go with the plot, It looks like they're running out of ideas and are just content to keep rehashing old ones. But it's only one episode out of 9 that's let me down a bit. Still an amazing programme and keeps me laughing and entertained throughout
    Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    Overall, the episode is well done. We meet Watson soon to be Fiance Mary Morstan, Sherlocks brother Mycroft (played by Gatiss) and a small scene where we meet Sherlock's parents (played by Cumberbatch's real parents, Timothy Carlton and Wanda Ventham). In this episode it seems we have seen all of the plot and action in other movies, all be it from the 2010. Hopefully it gets better Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    Oh lord, where to start. When this series had just started, I sat there thinking "Finally, a show without the 'emotional interpersonal drama' that so plagues just about every single series in every TV show ever." [I'm not talking about basic human interaction, I mean the whole 'you lied to me' I'm sorry' 'I can't believe you anymore, I'm leaving' 'baby come back blah blah' that even Breaking Bad cannot shake] Previous seasons were case-oriented, character building, to the point. And then there's this season...It's so...melodramatic? Disconnected? Soap Opera-y? Overly stylistic? I feel like the Sherlock and John we knew from seasons 1 and 2 are no longer with us, especially Sherlock. He's grown so emotional and, although I suppose this is more personal than anything, no longer relatable. God I am disappointed. Also if the gay fan-service wagon is not in your interests, watch out, the whole season's peppered with it. I don't mind but it made a few of my friends stop watching because of such. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2014
    0
    Dis they just changed the whole writers team? That would be the only thing that could explain that insane drop in watchability from the first to seasons to the third.
    Seriously. I can't watch this, and especially when compared to the other seasons. It's like a new series. Bad puns are coming in in uncount numbers, absolutely no feeling of any seriousness, total change in characters. I moan a good TV series.
    Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: August 25, 2014
    Find a list of this year's Emmy winners, see how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be, and read reviews of the broadcast (including an assessment of Seth Meyers as host).
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  3. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  4. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.