User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 19 out of 43

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    1
    I guess if the Hills made stars of idiots like Heidi Montag and Spencer Pratt, there's no reason this tripe shouldn't turn out to be another MTV hit. I just remember our icons being a bit cooler. Thank god, these kids are wealthy enough to attend private school. They would get the crap kicked out of them on a daily basis in most public venues.
  2. Feb 2, 2011
    8
    In comparison to the original skins, it's actually very good. It's got the same unique, artistic style and the characters are very good, especially the non-original ones, such as tea. It's only major flaw is that it keeps changing between replica episodes (Chris), jokes and plots and US original ones. Tea's episode was completely new and it was great, but the replica episodes are justIn comparison to the original skins, it's actually very good. It's got the same unique, artistic style and the characters are very good, especially the non-original ones, such as tea. It's only major flaw is that it keeps changing between replica episodes (Chris), jokes and plots and US original ones. Tea's episode was completely new and it was great, but the replica episodes are just mediocre. They probably do a good job of introducing the UK skins to a new audience, but this show would be better off if it cut all ties with the original, except for the style and mood. Cut this show some slack, it's actually very good! Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    I was lucky enough to get to see two episodes of the show before tonight's premiere. I was pleasantly surprised that the show lived up to my expectations. As a fan of the original, I was somewhat worried that I'd feel the charm of the show would be missing, even if the acting was on point (it was) and the casting was good (it was). Thankfully, I was wrong. The charm is there as well.I was lucky enough to get to see two episodes of the show before tonight's premiere. I was pleasantly surprised that the show lived up to my expectations. As a fan of the original, I was somewhat worried that I'd feel the charm of the show would be missing, even if the acting was on point (it was) and the casting was good (it was). Thankfully, I was wrong. The charm is there as well. There's still a chance that fans of the original show will hate this on principle. But really, the North American version of Skins (as they're calling it...North America in this case refers to the states and Canada) is for the plethora of teenagers in "North America" who haven't seen the show. Who haven't seen themselves represented on television in a way that is - while still very much a heightened reality - at least somewhat honest and relatable. (Being a teenager myself and having graduated high school in 2009, I can attest to that). So for all those teens who are about to be introduced to Skins for the first time, you guys are in for a wild ride. Hold on tight. And for fans of the original, such as myself, if we go into this with an open mind I am sure that we can all get some fun out of it as well. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This series is just as better as the United kingdom series. The Acting Is Good. The Story lines are really good & The series is being planned out for 10 episodes
  5. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I too had the pleasure if watching seasons 1-4 this past fall and instantly fell in love with the charm and troubles of these groups of teens from the UK. Then I had the intense displeasure of tuning to MTV tonight only to see one of the best depictions of teenage angst be transformed into something with the depth and emotion of watching paint dry. Dialog that came off as fresh and clever on the original appeared stiff and emotionless in the American version. And then there's Maxie. Apparently, Maxie is now a girl who, if the commercial for next week's episode is any indication, will only resemble Maxie in her sexual orientation. All in all, the U.S. Skins is a hollow shell of the original. If anything, this Skins only serves to increase my excitement for the return of E4's Skins series 5 at the end of this month. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2011
    1
    Unfortunately the recycling of characters, dialogue and plot hasn't worked. Transplanting these British characters into an American environment leaves me feeling confused as to their identities, as their interactions feel forced and out of place.
  7. Jan 18, 2011
    1
    I loved the UK version, but after 5mins of the American one I lost my interest. They are not creating a new show, instead they are re-doing existing scripted elements of the first season of the UK version. The actors are half rate, nobodies that have about the same skill as the highschool drama class. Rubbish.
  8. Jan 26, 2011
    5
    It's not bad. It really isn't. I'm in love with skins uk and I don't like that they copied nearly everything about British skins as if americans and Brits are the same. because the aren't. but really, that's where the problems end. the cast isn't as good looking and hasn't seemed to really come into it's element but overtime if the producers keep their promise and begin to deviate from theIt's not bad. It really isn't. I'm in love with skins uk and I don't like that they copied nearly everything about British skins as if americans and Brits are the same. because the aren't. but really, that's where the problems end. the cast isn't as good looking and hasn't seemed to really come into it's element but overtime if the producers keep their promise and begin to deviate from the original, this cast may just show themselves to possess some amount of talent and charm. Expand
  9. Jan 29, 2011
    0
    I have to say before I watched this show I thought it was going to be very unrealistic but it actually is realistic, for some people. Of course not all teens are like this but it does portray the popular kids well; otherwise besides the pop group, the majority of high schoolers are different and vary. It is relatable for some and brings up issues. In a way it does glorify bad behavior, butI have to say before I watched this show I thought it was going to be very unrealistic but it actually is realistic, for some people. Of course not all teens are like this but it does portray the popular kids well; otherwise besides the pop group, the majority of high schoolers are different and vary. It is relatable for some and brings up issues. In a way it does glorify bad behavior, but it's too early in the season to tell if it truly does. It's best traits are the dynamics between the characters and that the characters actually feel like friends. The acting and technical aspects however are horrible. The acting brings the show down so much. The actors simply don't know how to act; I don't need to explain this because you can just watch and see. Secondly, the directing and lighting are ameatur because they don't change anything! They don't know how to manipulate the audience through lighting and basic film techniques to create a mood. The mix of bad acting and bad tech is bad because after you watch an episode, about a girl who passes out from drugs and an escalade falling into a river or a girl so confused about her sexuality she hooks up with a girl and her friends boyfriend, you somehow feel as if nothing happened. This is due to the show's inability to create drama. I also have to say watching it felt like watching child porn, and I'M 19 but these kids look so young, it feels disgusting to watch those scenes lol. Expand
  10. Feb 4, 2011
    0
    I think the first season of skins US sucks ass, the actors are terrible, the dialogue is stiff and awkward, the choice of music sucks and the directing of the show is also very poor. I might be exaggerating a little bit, but obviously im comparing the US version to the original series which was great. Skins UK is one of the most bold, believable and real shows about being a teenager andI think the first season of skins US sucks ass, the actors are terrible, the dialogue is stiff and awkward, the choice of music sucks and the directing of the show is also very poor. I might be exaggerating a little bit, but obviously im comparing the US version to the original series which was great. Skins UK is one of the most bold, believable and real shows about being a teenager and the different issues and problems teenagers often have to deal with, its also a funny and charming series that makes you truly care about the characters, the american version on the other hand sucks, because of their lack of all the great things that the original had, bold and honest writing, great directing and real and original dialogue. if the US version starts being a bit more original and truly try to make an AMERICAN version of the series instead of a **** copy, it might be ok someday. but so far im just pissed off that Mtv had to partially ruin the name of this great show! Expand
  11. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    I really like this show. it has good actors plus they are all really good looking (bonus!!). I don't really care what other people say about this show, its good and not that...racey as the parents may think. Already can't wait for the second season.
  12. Feb 10, 2011
    2
    OMG, please see the acclaimed UK versions if you want quality TV. The US version is poorly acted, horribly cast, and basically just a rip-off of Season 1 of the British series of the same name. Some of those poor kids can't act their way out of a paper bag, and the chemistry between the characters is non-existent. Another example of ruining a good UK show. And the UK version has someOMG, please see the acclaimed UK versions if you want quality TV. The US version is poorly acted, horribly cast, and basically just a rip-off of Season 1 of the British series of the same name. Some of those poor kids can't act their way out of a paper bag, and the chemistry between the characters is non-existent. Another example of ruining a good UK show. And the UK version has some great music, proving that MTV is clueless about good new music. Thank God they never made AbFab into a US version. Expand
  13. Feb 18, 2011
    5
    Cannot be compared to the genius that was the original Skins (UK), but it's getting there, well somewhere. Too bad the strict US TV laws don't let it reach its potential. Could have ben much worse though.
  14. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    While Skins is as raunchy as teen television can get, it bluntly focuses on real life problems teenagers are forced to deal with daily, that being sex and drug abuse.
  15. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I think Skins is terrific. The British versions are probably better -- the 5th series and the 1st two series are for sure -- but this is pretty good for US TV. It really reminds me of what it was like to be a teenager. I hope it gets recommissioned.
  16. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers. At first, I thought Skins was OK. But was watchable! Probably after Tea's episode I became hooked! I loved the show! It really hits sex and drugs right on the money and shows outcomes as a result of doing these things (for instance Michelle contracting an STD from Tony). I've watched the UK Version of Skins, the first 2 episodes, and honestly wasn't keeping me as hooked as the MTV version did. However, I have to add, MTV Skins isn't as bad as what most people think. The UK version, when it comes to censorship is much worse compared to its American counterpart. The "F" word is used frequently without censors compared to the American version. Full frontal nudity is included in the UK version as well. And also much more graphic scenes compared to the American version. The only "graphic" scenes that I've seen on the American version, was mostly on Chris' episode, showing his full nude back and the scene in which he wakes up with a boner. But despite the fact of allegations of child pornography, the show is a great watch for teens. Most teens like me are smart enough to know not to prance around naked in the suburbs, or have sex with a teacher, or even use drugs. Most teens over the age of 15 can relate to what is going on in the show. Unfortunately, what most parents apparently don't know (judging from the PTC's rambling) most teens are surrounded or possibly do some of the actions on the show. Drugs, alcohol, sex (Teen Mom is perfect proof of that topic). The show is great and I'm giving it an 9, crossing my fingers that the show will go on with season 2 and possibly even more season! :) Collapse
  17. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    Some episodes were alright. But if this remake is ever compared to it's British original...it will never live up to the standards American television pushes.
  18. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This was the best show on MTV until they pulled the plug. Worst move ever by MTV. Even though it didnt have good ratings what other show on mondays @ 10PM was better than SKins? NONE. I WISH IT WAS STILL ON MTV
  19. Feb 4, 2013
    0
    I haven't watched and don't plan to. This is just another example of how British shows don't always work when America waters it down. (I have to write more than 150 characters so yeah that's what I'm doing here, IGNORE THIS)
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jan 25, 2011
    50
    The show--a sporadically excellent adaption of a British teen drama--is superlative teensploitation, enabling youth to rejoice in the fantasy of their corruption, among other things.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    75
    What keeps it from being exploitative--just--is the sense that these kids know such dangerous exhilaration won't, can't, lead to the happiness they're looking for. [31 Jan 2011, p.40]
  3. Reviewed by: Paul Schrodt
    Jan 18, 2011
    50
    Skins is, alas, many types of teen drama to many types of teens--a raunchy good time and an Afterschool Special on The Way Youth Live Now rolled into one. It's a viewing experience akin to going to a coke party only to be given a lecture. Where's the fun in that?