Skins (US) Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MTV remakes the critically acclaimed British series about a group of teenagers in their finals years of high school and sets it in Baltimore.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    75
    What keeps it from being exploitative--just--is the sense that these kids know such dangerous exhilaration won't, can't, lead to the happiness they're looking for. [31 Jan 2011, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Dalton Ross
    Jan 14, 2011
    75
    While it may lack the charm (and perfect casting) of the British show, it's still worth a gander.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jan 18, 2011
    70
    Really, though, you don't have to know anything about the British Skins to get into the remake.
  4. What's more bothersome about Skins from a critical standpoint is the thin plotting, the aimless narrative, and the generally flat and artificial feel of the production.
  5. Reviewed by: Paul Schrodt
    Jan 18, 2011
    50
    Skins is, alas, many types of teen drama to many types of teens--a raunchy good time and an Afterschool Special on The Way Youth Live Now rolled into one. It's a viewing experience akin to going to a coke party only to be given a lecture. Where's the fun in that?
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 17, 2011
    50
    Plopped down in Baltimore, the loose-living adolescents in MTV's seemingly line-for-line version don't actually feel American, no matter what their accents are, and the plots that always struck me as more teen movie than teen reality seem no more realistic than, say, "Gossip Girl."
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    What in the original incarnation was shockingly cheeky, in its graphic and profane depiction of teens indulging in sex-and-drug debauchery, has been neutered and tamed in a remake that is unconvincing, amateurishly produced and very poorly acted.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 8 out of 19
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This series is just as better as the United kingdom series. The Acting Is Good. The Story lines are really good & The series is being planned out for 10 episodes Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This was the best show on MTV until they pulled the plug. Worst move ever by MTV. Even though it didnt have good ratings what other show on mondays @ 10PM was better than SKins? NONE. I WISH IT WAS STILL ON MTV Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first, I thought Skins was OK. But was watchable! Probably after Tea's episode I became hooked! I loved the show! It really hits sex and drugs right on the money and shows outcomes as a result of doing these things (for instance Michelle contracting an STD from Tony). I've watched the UK Version of Skins, the first 2 episodes, and honestly wasn't keeping me as hooked as the MTV version did. However, I have to add, MTV Skins isn't as bad as what most people think. The UK version, when it comes to censorship is much worse compared to its American counterpart. The "F" word is used frequently without censors compared to the American version. Full frontal nudity is included in the UK version as well. And also much more graphic scenes compared to the American version. The only "graphic" scenes that I've seen on the American version, was mostly on Chris' episode, showing his full nude back and the scene in which he wakes up with a boner. But despite the fact of allegations of child pornography, the show is a great watch for teens. Most teens like me are smart enough to know not to prance around naked in the suburbs, or have sex with a teacher, or even use drugs. Most teens over the age of 15 can relate to what is going on in the show. Unfortunately, what most parents apparently don't know (judging from the PTC's rambling) most teens are surrounded or possibly do some of the actions on the show. Drugs, alcohol, sex (Teen Mom is perfect proof of that topic). The show is great and I'm giving it an 9, crossing my fingers that the show will go on with season 2 and possibly even more season! :) Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2011
    5
    Cannot be compared to the genius that was the original Skins (UK), but it's getting there, well somewhere. Too bad the strict US TV laws don't let it reach its potential. Could have ben much worse though. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers. I too had the pleasure if watching seasons 1-4 this past fall and instantly fell in love with the charm and troubles of these groups of teens from the UK. Then I had the intense displeasure of tuning to MTV tonight only to see one of the best depictions of teenage angst be transformed into something with the depth and emotion of watching paint dry. Dialog that came off as fresh and clever on the original appeared stiff and emotionless in the American version. And then there's Maxie. Apparently, Maxie is now a girl who, if the commercial for next week's episode is any indication, will only resemble Maxie in her sexual orientation. All in all, the U.S. Skins is a hollow shell of the original. If anything, this Skins only serves to increase my excitement for the return of E4's Skins series 5 at the end of this month. Collapse
  6. Jan 17, 2011
    1
    Unfortunately the recycling of characters, dialogue and plot hasn't worked. Transplanting these British characters into an American environment leaves me feeling confused as to their identities, as their interactions feel forced and out of place. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    0
    I haven't watched and don't plan to. This is just another example of how British shows don't always work when America waters it down. (I have to write more than 150 characters so yeah that's what I'm doing here, IGNORE THIS) Expand

See all 19 User Reviews