• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 123
  2. Negative: 21 out of 123

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2012
    5
    Smash will not last. While the marketing of the show had people on the edge of their seats, it has unfortunately been a let down. A promising pilot transformed itself into quite an average series. Smash is over-dramatised, and quite poorly cast (Nick Jonas/Uma Thurman I'm talking about you). Katherine McPhee is quite amazing, and most of the acing isn't to bad, but nothing that will keepSmash will not last. While the marketing of the show had people on the edge of their seats, it has unfortunately been a let down. A promising pilot transformed itself into quite an average series. Smash is over-dramatised, and quite poorly cast (Nick Jonas/Uma Thurman I'm talking about you). Katherine McPhee is quite amazing, and most of the acing isn't to bad, but nothing that will keep you awaiting next weeks episodes with anything more than apathy. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    5
    Make no mistake, this is NBC's latest attempt to capitalize on the success of Glee by trying a similar format only with a more mature drama attached. Essentially it's Glee and Fame with a side order of A Chorus Line except the main actors gave little life to their characters, leaving the viewer with little real attachment to them, and the music is, so far, lackluster. I finished watchingMake no mistake, this is NBC's latest attempt to capitalize on the success of Glee by trying a similar format only with a more mature drama attached. Essentially it's Glee and Fame with a side order of A Chorus Line except the main actors gave little life to their characters, leaving the viewer with little real attachment to them, and the music is, so far, lackluster. I finished watching bored with the plot that droned on and wasn't convincing (they really compressed too many events over too long of a story period into a 44 minute pilot), unimpressed by the music, and with no emotional connection to the lead characters. I have zero desire to watch any further, but I'll probably be in the minority. Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    6
    After watching the first 3 episodes, I'm really enjoying this show. Some of the side stories are a bit shaky and I'm not fully sold on the actress playing the lead role (Catherine McPhee), but the overall cast is pretty strong, so it doesn't matter that much. If you like Broadway, you'll enjoy the musical numbers, which are well-executed. Also, the only thing that this show has in commonAfter watching the first 3 episodes, I'm really enjoying this show. Some of the side stories are a bit shaky and I'm not fully sold on the actress playing the lead role (Catherine McPhee), but the overall cast is pretty strong, so it doesn't matter that much. If you like Broadway, you'll enjoy the musical numbers, which are well-executed. Also, the only thing that this show has in common with Glee, is that they both have music and dance numbers. Otherwise, the plots are completely different. Personally, I prefer Smash, which has more of a believable plot. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2012
    5
    If you love American Idol/ The Voice/ The X Factor or musicals, you will like this show. Unfortunately I don't like those kind of shows/ movies but overall thought it was alright. I like shows that are able to hook for multiple seasons which I don't think Smash will be able to do. I think it will last around 2 seasons then get cancelled, unless the writers come up with some great material.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Don Aucoin
    Feb 7, 2012
    70
    The show works much better when it gives us a glimpse into its distinctive milieu.
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The cast, from Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty to Debra Messing and Angelica Huston, is superb. The subject matter is a carefully blended mix of artistic and accessible.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Smash is a triumph.