• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 215 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 215

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    6
    I love this series, but, for the first time, I'm letting episodes stack up before watching them. Why? Because the kidnapped baby storyline is dull, which is bad, and sentimental, which is worse. One of the things I've always admired about SOA is its refusal to jerk tears or resort to easy platitudes, so I can't fathom why Sutter & company suddenly placed an Infant in Peril at the centerI love this series, but, for the first time, I'm letting episodes stack up before watching them. Why? Because the kidnapped baby storyline is dull, which is bad, and sentimental, which is worse. One of the things I've always admired about SOA is its refusal to jerk tears or resort to easy platitudes, so I can't fathom why Sutter & company suddenly placed an Infant in Peril at the center of events. There's no moral complexity with a Purloined Babe; there are only quivering lips, shouts of "You don't understand!" and behavior that would look shockingly selfish without the Son of Captivity to excuse it. We're promised a big payoff as the season ends, but episodes should be strong in their own right, not just set-ups for a punchline. Hope season four returns to form! Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2011
    5
    Following very strong first and second seasons, Season 3 is a meandering, drawn-out detour into an implausible plot line. The shift away from the show's strength -- the gritty, believable portrayal of MC life -- towards increasingly bombastic events simply feels forced. Moments of strange comedy are also inserted into the third season, fitting very poorly with the overarching tone that wasFollowing very strong first and second seasons, Season 3 is a meandering, drawn-out detour into an implausible plot line. The shift away from the show's strength -- the gritty, believable portrayal of MC life -- towards increasingly bombastic events simply feels forced. Moments of strange comedy are also inserted into the third season, fitting very poorly with the overarching tone that was painstakingly developed over the previous two seasons. One's suspension of disbelief is frequently challenged as Season 3's hyperbolic, overcharged atmosphere tries to outdo itself time and time again. Jax (Hunnam), who has always been the weakest actor of the bunch, continues in his mewling, self-righteous, conflicted ways, taking focus from other more interesting characters and stronger actors. A profoundly disappointing turn for an otherwise excellent series. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    6
    Anyone else getting a little bored of this whole "They have my kid!" thing? I liked it better when they were roaming around Charming doing their thing. The storyline is getting way too convoluted and complex, not that i can't handle it, but this is supposed to be a fun show about bikers not The Wire(which of course I loved).
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    4
    Season 3 heads into a very improbable 'Oirish' cul-de-sac. Which goes on. And on. Most of the Northern Irish accents (except Paula Malcomson of course) are painfully all over the place and the Irish countryside is hilariously Californian and sunny. The plot doesn't move forward much on either side of the Atlantic and the less sense it makes, the more soapy musical montages are thrown in.Season 3 heads into a very improbable 'Oirish' cul-de-sac. Which goes on. And on. Most of the Northern Irish accents (except Paula Malcomson of course) are painfully all over the place and the Irish countryside is hilariously Californian and sunny. The plot doesn't move forward much on either side of the Atlantic and the less sense it makes, the more soapy musical montages are thrown in.
    It's a shame because I really liked the first two seasons (and will check out the 4th) but this was hard work to get through.
    Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    What i felt was two strong season in season 1 and 2, season 3 kind of took a detour into unrealistic territory, episode after episode. While the series always has been morally ambiguous, this season tries to push the envelope even more in making the police and atf completely evil and incompetent, while the bikers kill more out of respect and protection of the group, the atf kill in orderWhat i felt was two strong season in season 1 and 2, season 3 kind of took a detour into unrealistic territory, episode after episode. While the series always has been morally ambiguous, this season tries to push the envelope even more in making the police and atf completely evil and incompetent, while the bikers kill more out of respect and protection of the group, the atf kill in order further career, not to pursue these dangerous criminals. Also you have situations that are completely unrealistic such as hostage situations in which outlaw bikers show up and provide intel. I have heard season 4 gets back on track so we will have to see. Plus the entire baby situation was long and drawn out. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    90
    The darker and more complicated life gets for the Sons, the better the TV show tends to be. And based on the four episodes I've seen, Sons is still at the incredible level it achieved a year ago, when it became one of the best dramas on television.
  2. 75
    It's a good show, powerfully acted--especially by Katy Segal as tough mama Gemma--and true to its convictions. [20 Sep 2010, p.52]
  3. Certainly, the show is still exciting and thoughtful in the way that it disassembles many pat notions we may have of tribe loyalty, family bonds, and the treachery of the business world.