• Network: NBC , TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 4, 2011
    91
    Southland's cast remains one of its best selling points.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Jan 3, 2011
    91
    Every crime--murder, bank robbery, changing lanes without signaling--is a mini-masterpiece of L.A. noir. But the real draw is the cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 3, 2011
    100
    Regina King heads the solid ensemble. these folks are dutiful, proud and bonetired. [10 Jan 2011, p.40]
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 3, 2011
    100
    The characterizations are carefully nuanced in Southland, and the performances are equal to the quality of writing.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Judge
    Jan 3, 2011
    90
    The exceptional writing and pitch-perfect acting of Southland is not to be missed.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    I am very impressed with a new "good" cop show. The characters are what make the show. I usually don't care to know the personal lives ofI am very impressed with a new "good" cop show. The characters are what make the show. I usually don't care to know the personal lives of the cops and just want the crime, problem solving and resolution. But, these people are so interestingly flawed you want to see how it plays into their work lives. Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    Not the instant satisfaction I got from the shield but over time it wore off on me and now I think the show is great. Not the instantNot the instant satisfaction I got from the shield but over time it wore off on me and now I think the show is great. Not the instant satisfaction I got from the shield but over time it wore off on me and now I think the show is great. Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Such a great hit show . i **** love this show! it grabbed me right away and i cant get enough! all of the different copSuch a great hit show . i **** love this show! it grabbed me right away and i cant get enough! all of the different cop relationships work. the show is straight up real and that's what appeals to everyone that loves it. Full Review »