Southland : Season 3

  • Network: NBC , TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 4, 2011
    91
    Southland's cast remains one of its best selling points.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Jan 3, 2011
    91
    Every crime--murder, bank robbery, changing lanes without signaling--is a mini-masterpiece of L.A. noir. But the real draw is the cast.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 3, 2011
    100
    Regina King heads the solid ensemble. these folks are dutiful, proud and bonetired. [10 Jan 2011, p.40]
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 3, 2011
    70
    It's not the best cop show ever but it's certainly an above-average effort for fans entertained by quality TV drama.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 3, 2011
    100
    The characterizations are carefully nuanced in Southland, and the performances are equal to the quality of writing.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 4, 2011
    70
    There is nothing heightened or cheapened by contrivance as the detectives and patrol cops go about their often sordid business.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Judge
    Jan 3, 2011
    90
    The exceptional writing and pitch-perfect acting of Southland is not to be missed.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    I am very impressed with a new "good" cop show. The characters are what make the show. I usually don't care to know the personal lives ofI am very impressed with a new "good" cop show. The characters are what make the show. I usually don't care to know the personal lives of the cops and just want the crime, problem solving and resolution. But, these people are so interestingly flawed you want to see how it plays into their work lives. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Such a great hit show . i **** love this show! it grabbed me right away and i cant get enough! all of the different copSuch a great hit show . i **** love this show! it grabbed me right away and i cant get enough! all of the different cop relationships work. the show is straight up real and that's what appeals to everyone that loves it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Southland is such a good show. The show is always interesting and continues to keep me tuning in for more. The characters are very interestingSouthland is such a good show. The show is always interesting and continues to keep me tuning in for more. The characters are very interesting and they have had some wild surprises. I don't know how anyone could call Southland a horrible show when its the exact opposite. I couldn't believe it when NBC cancelled but I am hoping that TNT continues to bring us more Southland. Full Review »